Skip to content

Chocolate chip cookie dough fudge

April 26, 2010

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Fudge

My poor, baked-good-deprived, book-loving friends meet tonight for our monthly book club.  I was just getting over a virus when I last met with them, so I didn’t provide my usual baked treat.  I feel like I owe them something good and chocolaty tonight.  How about chocolate chip cookie dough fudge?  Yep.  That’ll do.  (By the way, our book is Colum McCann’s Let the Great World Spin and it was a good one!)

This is a very creamy fudge that kind of reminds me of a super thick chocolate frosting with chunks of cookie dough inside.  Not too rich, but with a nice chocolate flavor.  And I’ve never met a bit of raw chocolate chip cookie dough I didn’t like, so that’s a pretty nice addition.  Sound good?

{one year ago:  strawberry sorbet}

Recipe:  Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Fudge

(adapted from Recipe Goldmine)

1/3 c. melted butter

1/3 c. light brown sugar

3/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. kosher salt, divided

1 1/3 c. mini semi-sweet chocolate chips, divided

2 c. powdered sugar

8 oz. package softened cream cheese

1 tsp. vanilla

Line an 8- or 9-inch square pan with aluminum foil.  Spray with nonstick spray.

Combine butter and brown sugar in a small bowl.  Add flour and 1/4 teaspoon salt.  Stir in 1/3 cup semisweet chips.  Roll into a ball, wrap in plastic wrap, and refrigerate or freeze until firmed up slightly.

Unwrap dough and cut into 1/2 inch pieces.  Refrigerate on a cookie sheet if cookie dough pieces start to soften up.

Melt remaining chips and pour over confectioners’ sugar, cream cheese, remaining 1/4 tsp. salt, and vanilla extract.  Beat until smooth.  Scrape down and combine until smooth.  Fold in cookie dough pieces with a wooden spoon.  Spoon into pan, smooth out with back of rubber spatula lightly sprayed with cooking spray, and chill until firm.

Lift fudge out of the pan with foil and cut into pieces. Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 26, 2010 10:21 am

    I love Choc chip cookie dough ice cream and I love fudge, so I’m sure I’d love this!

  2. April 26, 2010 1:53 pm

    Familiar and different at the same time — tres cool.

  3. April 26, 2010 10:59 pm

    oh my, this is a loaded treat! what decadence. this is one of those times when i’d say that one little bite would do me, but i’d be lying through my chocolate-coated teeth. :)

  4. April 27, 2010 2:12 am

    Cookie dough and fudge…I don’t think it can get better than that!

  5. April 27, 2010 6:50 pm

    I was just thinking this looked like super thick chocolate frosting. My teeth are hurting just thinking of eating this!

  6. April 28, 2010 3:46 am

    I’ll take the cookie dough hold the fudge! :)

    How’s the pie coming along? Sorta like mine, huh?! LOL
    ~ingrid

  7. May 6, 2010 12:11 pm

    I am in no way a fan of chocolate… but I had to try this. LOVED it. Thanks so much for sharing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers