Skip to content

Salted caramel peanut butter ice cream

May 7, 2010

Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Ice Cream

Oh. My. Gosh.

I have to say right off that this ice cream was so much better than the dinner I made last night.  Jim completely agreed.  Dinner was really just the precursor to getting to this ice cream.  Truly.  It is one of those desserts that forces you to make yummy noises while you eat it.  Oh, it’s good, people!

You get the creamy peanut butter flavor, then the caramel, and along with that comes a bit of salt on your tongue.  Love it!  This would also be wonderful with mini chocolate chips or pieces of peanut butter cups.  Or a drizzle of chocolate sauce on top.  The biggest problem is that it only makes about one quart.  {teehee}  It’ll leave you wanting more.  I guess that can be a good thing.

So if you’ve made that caramel sauce I posted the other day, and you have any left, here’s what you wanna do with it.  Enjoy!

{67 years ago:  my dad was born!  Happy Birthday, Charlie!  I love you!}

{one year ago:  snickerdoodle bars}

Recipe:  Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Ice Cream

(adapted from My Recipes)

1/2  cup  homemade caramel sauce (using this easy recipe) or good-quality jarred caramel sauce

1/2 tsp. sea salt

3/4 c. smooth or crunchy peanut butter, at room temperature

3/4 c. granulated sugar

1 1/4 c. heavy whipping cream

1 c. whole milk

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

In a small saucepan or microwave-safe container, heat caramel sauce until warm but not boiling, about 1 minute over medium heat or 20 seconds in the microwave on full power (100%). Add salt and stir to combine and dissolve the salt. Set aside.

In a medium bowl, whisk together peanut butter, sugar, cream, milk, and vanilla until peanut butter is mostly dissolved. Let sit 5 minutes, or until sugar is dissolved, then whisk again.  Chill in the refrigerator or in an ice bath for 20-30 minutes.  (For the ice bath, place your medium bowl inside a larger bowl that has some water and ice in it.)  Pour into an ice cream maker and churn according to manufacturer’s directions. Add salted caramel for the last 10 seconds of churning or spoon half of your finished ice cream into a freezer container, add the caramel and top with the rest of your ice cream.  Swirl with a knife or spoon.  Transfer to an airtight, freezer-safe container and freeze at least 8 hours and up to 24, depending on how firm you would like the ice cream to be.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. Shanna permalink
    May 7, 2010 4:12 am

    After reading the post for the caramel…I was anxiously waiting (hoping) for the ice cream recipe! : ) I love salty & sweet…can’t wait to try this one!

  2. Simone permalink
    May 7, 2010 6:23 am

    I sooo have to get my icemachine up and running so I can make this gorgeous icecream!!

  3. May 7, 2010 7:38 am

    Is it ok to drool on your keyboard? Because that’s what’s happening right now. This looks amazing.

  4. May 7, 2010 9:32 am

    so what i’m hearing you say is skip dinner, eat ice cream. done and done. :)

  5. May 7, 2010 10:05 am

    I really need to invest in an ice cream maker just for this recipe alone! Omg, it looks amazing! And that caramel sauce? Hello, lover!

  6. May 7, 2010 3:13 pm

    This ice cream sounds fantastic!! YUM!

  7. May 7, 2010 4:38 pm

    A little drizzle of that lovely caramel on top and maybe a few frsh banan slices- this would be heaven!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:32 pm

    Shanna – You’re sweet. Thanks!!

    Simone – This one’s definitely a keeper. Get that ice cream maker out!

    Hungry Dog – Should I pass you a napkin? You’re very kind. The photo really didn’t do the ice cream justice though.

    Grace – Why didn’t we think of that?? Problem solved.

    Lizzy – It really is worth buying an ice cream maker for!

    Memoria – Thanks! : )

    ~ Michelle

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 7, 2010 11:34 pm

    Monica – See, this is why your photos knock my socks off. I never even thought about drizzling or adding anything to my humble bowl of ice cream. You are a foodie genius. : ) If I had any ice cream left, I might just give your ideas a try cause I betcha it would taste fantastic.
    ~ Michelle

  10. May 8, 2010 8:12 am

    “Creamy peanut butter flavor, then the caramel, and along with that comes a bit of salt on your tongue.” WOW!! It’s all there girl, nice work!! xo

  11. May 9, 2010 4:06 pm

    Oh holy ice-cream, this sounds awesome. You actually have two salivating fans in this house. My husband has requested that I make this.

  12. May 10, 2010 2:56 am

    Oh, yeah baby this is me! Love ice cream and caramel? Uh, huh! Can I be a brat and say though that I’d like to flavor mine with bananas instead PB? Whadaya think, will it work? Okay, you twisted my arm…I’ll try both ways! You’re so smart!
    ~ingrid

  13. January 10, 2013 9:32 pm

    Just about to make this ice-cream – can’t wait it looks so delicious!!!! Thanks for the post xx AlexSky

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers