Skip to content

Toasted marshmallow milkshake

May 15, 2010

Toasted Marshmallow Milkshake

I’ve been daydreaming about making this shake ever since making marshmallows with pals Ingrid and Monica.  Ingrid mentioned in her post that she used some of her leftover marshmallows to make a milkshake, and it’s driven me to distraction ever since.  Well, I didn’t have any homemade marshmallows, but we did have a bag in the pantry all the same and I decided they would have to do.  Ooooh.  Can I tell you how yummy this was?  Big thumbs up all the way around.

(By the way, those are chocolate chunks on top of my milkshake, not tootsie rolls!  teehee)

{one year ago:  blackberry brownies}

Recipe:  Toasted Marshmallow Milkshake

(slightly adapted from Bobby Flay’s Burgers, Fries & Shakes)

nonstick cooking spray  (or a campfire!)

marshmallows, 9-10 for milkshake + more for garnishing (optional)

1/4 c. milk, any fat content

1 3/4 c. vanilla ice cream or frozen yogurt

chocolate shavings or candy bar pieces, for garnish

If you have a campfire to toast your marshmallow over, then you’re in luck.  Otherwise, heat your broiler and spray a parchment-lined baking sheet with nonstick cooking spray.  Place marshmallows on tray and broil, watching carefully, until they are golden brown.  Turn marshmallows until they are evenly toasted all over.  Remove from oven and cool slightly.

Combine marshmallows and milk in blender for about 5 seconds.  Add ice cream and blend until smooth.  Top with toasted marshmallows and chocolate shavings.

Serves 2.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Heather R. permalink
    May 15, 2010 12:44 pm

    :::Drool::: Makes me wish I had a blender!!

  2. May 15, 2010 10:31 pm

    would tootsie rolls be so wrong? :)
    i’ve been smitten with these since i tried one a dairy queen a few weeks ago. i’ve made my own in several ways, but i can’t quite get it right. i’ll certainly give your recipe a go!

  3. May 16, 2010 4:26 am

    Oh, I love this! I love the fact that you can do the marshmallows in the broiler. What a great idea for milkshakes.

  4. May 16, 2010 6:04 am

    Your shake looks good Michelle. I need to give this another go. I have some ‘mallows in the pantry and it’s perfect shake weather here.

    Thanks for the shout out.
    ~ingrid

  5. May 17, 2010 6:11 pm

    yummy! I wanted this when Ingrid posted it and I want it now too! I’m gonna have to get some marshamallows!

  6. May 20, 2010 2:42 am

    What a great idea! I’ll be toasting marshmallows in the broiler this weekend.

  7. May 25, 2010 1:44 am

    This sounds amazing! I can’t wait to try it!

  8. May 31, 2010 11:12 pm

    Oooh, I LOVE toasted marshmallows! Can you really taste them well in this? I wanna make it!

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    June 1, 2010 5:28 am

    Hi, Michelle. Thanks for the comment on the toasted marshmallow milkshake. Yes! You can definitely taste the marshmallows and it’s delicious!!
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Toasted marshmallow milkshake « The Recipe Testers
  2. Father’s Day Food | giverslog.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers