Skip to content

S’mores ice cream

May 20, 2010

S’mores Ice Cream Sandwich

I seem to have summer on the brain.  Whenever we finally have a rain-free day and actually get to enjoy the sun, I want summer foods.  Today, it was this s’mores ice cream.  Unfortunately, I didn’t follow my own instincts to adapt this recipe and I ended up with a really mediocre ice cream.

I don’t usually share recipes that I didn’t enjoy and I hope the original poster realizes that I don’t mean any harm in my critique of her recipe.  I think this could be really good, and that’s why I’m sharing my experience.   It has potential, and I’m planning to try it again with a couple changes.  First, I would use an entire bag of marshmallows next time, in addition to 2 Tbsp. of vanilla extract.  I think that would provide the flavor I was hoping for.

The other big change would be NOT following the directions to add a hot liquid to my ice cream machine.  I knew that wasn’t going to work, but I guess I was so bewildered by the whole idea that I went ahead and tried it anyway.  Naturally, it didn’t turn into ice cream, and now my ice cream canister wasn’t frozen anymore.  I poured the now chilled liquid into a bowl, covered it, and popped it into the fridge overnight.

Once the canister was frozen again, I poured the mixture back into my ice cream maker and actually got ice cream this time.  Like I said, it was quite bland, but I think it could become a delicious treat with very few tweaks, so I’ll try it again.  There are definitely gonna be some s’mores ice cream sandwiches in my future.

{one year ago:  three bean salad}

Recipe:  S’mores Ice Cream

(found at Tasty Kitchen)

*I’ve provided the original recipe, but made my future changes in italics.*

1/2 bag of marshmallows   *a full bag of marshmallows (10.5 oz.)

1 1/2 c. heavy cream

1 c. whole milk

*2 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract

1 (4.4 oz.) Hershey milk chocolate bar

3 whole graham crackers, plus more if you want to make ice cream sandwiches later  : )

Place marshmallows, cream, and milk into a large saucepan over medium heat.  Stir constantly until the marshmallows are melted and blended.  Remove from heat.  (*I will add vanilla extract now.)

Cool for only one minute.  Pour the mixture into an ice cream maker and freeze according to manufacturer’s directions.  (*I will definitely CHILL the mixture in the fridge or an ice bath before adding to my ice cream machine next time.)

While mixture is churning, cut chocolate bar into chunks and break up graham crackers.  Fold bits of candy and crackers into ice cream during the last minute of churning or once you transfer the ice cream to a freezer-safe container.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2010 6:49 am

    OH YUM! I adore smores and this is soooo genius in icecream form!

  2. May 20, 2010 7:48 am

    I must must MUST feature this on my blog. It is about the most perfect dessert ever! I want to use your picture, but can’t find an email address for you!

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 20, 2010 8:24 am

    Lorie – You can certainly use the photo, but did you read the post? It wasn’t quite as good as I was hoping! I’ve included my suggestions in my post and hopefully they’ll perk it up some.
    Thanks for the interest!!
    ~ Michelle

  4. May 20, 2010 5:22 pm

    I’m sorry it was bland tasting, but it looks fabulous! I love the idea of smores ice cream in a graham cracker sandwich. I hope you’re able to perfect it…then invite me over :-)

  5. May 20, 2010 9:49 pm

    well, the idea is certainly sound–a marshmallowy ice cream with hunks of chocolate and graham crackers (i think i’d prefer crumbs) would be amazing, assuming you tweak it to perfection. and i assume you will. :)

  6. May 21, 2010 3:42 am

    Sorry its been so long since I have visited…but I am back now :)

    This looks like it would have been amazing, sorry it didnt turn out how you had planned. But I am sure with your tweaks its going to be amazing! I have never made homemade ice cream but now as the summer is coming and the recipes are poping up I might have to try it out!

  7. May 21, 2010 7:20 am

    I love that you posted something that didn’t work out. I just recently did that myself where I went against my instinct and followed the directions as written. And, wow, monumental failure. But like this recipe it provides a good basis for tweaking

    Hey, baking is one big science experiment(at least to me).

    FYI- I really love your blog and recipes. Are you on Twitter? If you are, I can’t find you. Let me know your handle I would love to follow.

  8. May 21, 2010 11:14 am

    Oh wow. I think I just salivated on my key board… -Sanitizer anyone?-

  9. May 22, 2010 4:57 am

    Bummer about it not neing up to snuff but it does look mighty tasty!Love s’more-ish desserts, so I’m gonna give it a try with your tweaks.
    ~ingrid

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    May 22, 2010 5:44 am

    Jennifer – I love s’mores too, and I have high hopes that I can make this ice cream sandwich taste like I’m camping!

    Monica – I’ll call ya when they’re in the freezer. : )

    Grace – I agree that a swirl of crumbs would offer a better texture. Exactly what I had in mind!

    Krystle – My parents gave me my ice cream machine and I use it ALL the time. I love browsing through ice cream recipes and I know you will too!

    Naomi – New to twitter, but you can find me by clicking on the link to the right.

    Rad Runner – : ) Thanks!

    Ingrid – If you try it before me, let me know what you think!

    ~ Michelle

  11. May 27, 2010 4:09 am

    Well, it LOOKS delicious! Let us know when you perfect the recipe!

  12. September 16, 2010 9:38 am

    My mouth was watering just reading this blog!
    If it is okay with you I would like to share how I make my own ice cream without an ice cream maker:

Trackbacks

  1. Decorating and Organizing Tips for an Easy Summer | Christmas Tree Market Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 856 other followers