Skip to content

Curried chicken and rice with pineapple

May 24, 2010

Curried Chicken and Rice with Pineapple

Sam loves trying Korean food when he visits his friend, and he’s forever asking me to make something with curry.  He’s such a funny thing though.  Apparently, my curried dish didn’t measure up to his friend’s mom’s.  That’s okay though.  I love that he’s always so eager to try foods from her kitchen, even if he isn’t always so happy go along on my cooking adventures.

I liked the pineapple in this because I liked that little hit of juice in the middle of the curry’s spiciness, but that’s the part that turned Sam off.  Fruit in the middle of his dinner?  {gasp!}  I guess I’ll have to keep looking for something that suits us both.  Any suggestions?

Recipe:  Curried Chicken and Rice with Pineapple

(adapted from allrecipes.com)

1 1/2 cups uncooked brown rice

1 1/2 cups water

1 tablespoon curry powder

2 tablespoons pineapple juice

1 tablespoon canola or vegetable oil

1 pound boneless chicken tenderloins, cubed

1 onion, sliced

1 (20 ounce) can pineapple chunks or tidbits, drained

Mix together the pineapple juice and curry powder in a small bowl.  Set aside.

Bring the rice and water to a boil in a saucepan over high heat.  Reduce heat to medium/low, cover, and simmer until rice is tender.  The liquid should be absorbed in about 20-25 minutes.  Set the cooked rice aside.

Heat oil in a large skillet over medium/high heat.  Cook and stir chicken pieces and onion until chicken is no longer pink, about 5 minutes.  Stir in cooked rice, pineapple pieces, and curry mixture.  Cook and stir until rice is hot, 5-10 more minutes.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 8:00 am

    Sounds interesting. I’ve only used curry powder once. I’ll have to take a closer look at your recipe and give it a whirl if I have everything.
    ~ingrid

  2. May 24, 2010 11:35 am

    My mouth is watering… it must be supper time! Seriously, I eat a lot of (mild) curry and the pineapple with it sounds just right. I must try this some time… .

  3. May 25, 2010 12:42 am

    That looks delish. Hearty but still light enough for summer dining. Yum!

  4. May 25, 2010 12:46 am

    oh, i would love the pineapple! a jolt of sweet juice is just what i would want to cut the spicy curry. :)

  5. May 25, 2010 1:08 pm

    Yum. Love chicken curry and pineapple…that’s genius. Nice colors on the final dish!

  6. tesserewhon permalink
    July 12, 2010 10:20 pm

    Hi. Kind of late to the commenting party but if Sam’s getting curry in a Korean household, I was wondering if you knew that the Korean version of curry is very different from traditional curry? If you go to a Korean market, you’ll find Korean brands of curry powder in boxes. The taste is much milder and a bit more like gravy.

    I gotta say, though, I was raised with Korean curry, and your recipe looks really good.:D

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 18, 2010 6:02 pm

    Tesserewhon – I’m so glad you commented on the curried chicken. I had no idea that Korean curry is different from the curry I was using, so I’m very happy for the information. That explains a lot about Sam’s reaction to this dish, actually. Thank you!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers