Skip to content

Blueberry bread pudding

May 30, 2010

Blueberry Bread Pudding

I’ve had some croissants in the freezer for a little while now and I’ve been dreaming about turning them into bread pudding.  Not just any bread pudding though.  How about bread pudding with wild blueberries?  Oh, yes.  That sounds just about right.

Since this is made with croissants, I have no problem calling it breakfast, which I did just this morning.  I think it could have benefited from a little almond extract, which the original recipe called for but I was out of.  And also some cinnamon.  This pudding was good, because you can’t really go wrong with custard and croissants, right?  But I have to be honest that if I really want a bread pudding to knock my socks off, I’d have to go back to this one instead.

{one year ago:  cherry sorbet}

Recipe:  Blueberry Bread Pudding

(adapted from Bed & Breakfast Inns)

5-6 day-old croissants  (or 4 cups of day-old bread, torn into pieces)

2 1/2 c. whole milk

3/4 c. granulated sugar

2 eggs

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

2 c. frozen or fresh blueberries

Whisk eggs in a large bowl. Stir in milk, sugar and extract. Add bread crumbs and stir to absorb mixture. Set aside for 15 minutes.  Lightly toss mixture and gently stir in berries.  (If using frozen berries, leave them frozen.)  Spoon into a lightly greased 8-inch baking dish and bake uncovered at 350 degrees for 40-45 minutes.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2010 7:36 am

    Sweet yumminess! This looks very satisfying. And I am in love with blueberries!

  2. May 30, 2010 8:21 am

    I have family (sort of) in New Orleans, and it seems everyone down there has a definitive way of making bread pudding. Seems to me that anything that comes out how you like should be okay. Love the idea of blueberries and croissants. Thanks!

  3. Ingrid permalink
    May 30, 2010 8:49 am

    Well, you know how I feel about bread pudding so it won’t surprise you to hear that when I read your post title I got a little excited. :)

    I have to tell you, that other bread pudding is my fave after the brioche one. :)
    ~Ingrid

  4. May 30, 2010 3:18 pm

    I love bread pudding. It’s an ideal dessert for me because it’s not too sweet, you know? Wayne makes a mean one. My sis in law also does a yummy savoury bread pudding.
    Great, now I want to eat some bread pudding.
    Michelle!

  5. May 30, 2010 10:59 pm

    croissants make the best bread pudding, and i think blueberries are a great addition. cinnamon certainly wouldn’t hurt… :)

  6. May 31, 2010 9:13 am

    ooh yummy! I’m generally not a fan of bread pudding but throw in some croissants and wild blueberries- I’m in!

    I’m also loving the look of your favorite bread pudding. so pretty I might have to give it a try.

    Hope you’re having a great weekend!

  7. May 31, 2010 1:23 pm

    Looks amazing. I’ll have to remember this one while blueberries are still in season. And I agree, almond extract would be divine in it!

  8. May 31, 2010 2:03 pm

    I love the idea of crossiants bread pudding. Right back at you, about wishing I was your neighbor. The food that comes out of your kitchen sounds amazing!

  9. February 5, 2011 12:50 am

    Lovely recipe…Hits all the right spots. We dont get blueberries here…I have a can….Do they fall under the fresh or frozen category?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers