Skip to content

Blackberry iced tea

June 2, 2010

Blackberry Iced Tea

If you look through my blog, you’ll find a lot of refreshing summer drinks, but as much as I enjoy making my favorites again and again, I can’t stop myself from trying out new ones too.  I like this one because you can use any kind of fresh or frozen berries you happen to have.  I had a bag of frozen blackberries in the freezer, so I used them to make a blackberry simple syrup and added it to my usual iced green tea.

I tested this tea out when a friend stopped by yesterday.  Our verdict at first was that it really wasn’t sweet enough.  That could have been for two reasons:  first, I didn’t add all the sugar right away because I wasn’t sure how sweet the berries were; and second, we’d been snacking on what was left of Claudia’s birthday cake.  Maybe blackberry tea just doesn’t go with chocolate cake.  Anyway, I ended up adding more sugar and I’d recommend that you just use the full 1 1/2 cups from the start.  And maybe avoid drinking it while you’re eating cake.

** This really is a delicious tea that we’ve had many times since the original posting.  You won’t be disappointed!**

{one year ago:  a new look at macaroni salad}

Recipe:  Blackberry Iced Tea

(adapted from Tasty Kitchen)

4 green or black tea bags*

1/4 c. torn mint leaves

1 lb. of berries, fresh or frozen

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. water + more for brewing the tea

First, make blackberry simple syrup.  Combine berries, 1 1/2 cup of sugar, and water in a 2-quart pot over moderately high heat.  When mixture begins to boil and sugar has dissolved, lower heat to a simmer.  Cook berries for 30 minutes.  Add mint leaves to syrup so it can steep as the mixture cools.  Drain with a fine mesh sieve to remove solids.

To make tea, place 4 green tea bags in glass pitcher.  Pour 1 cup of barely simmering water over tea bags and steep for 3 minutes.  Remove tea bags.  Add 1 cup of cold water and the blackberry simple syrup mixture to pitcher.  Add whole mint leaves for garnish.  Serve over ice.

*A note on tea…
It’s very easy to find tea and coffee that is Fair Trade or Ethical Trade certified.  Just look for the logo on the box and you’ll know that you’re supporting ethical principals, human rights, and the environment.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. June 2, 2010 4:10 am

    Simple blackberry syrup … might have to make that a priority for this weekend. Thanks!

  2. June 2, 2010 8:39 am

    I wanna know how come Monica and I aren’t the friends sampling your yummy drinks and food!

    Btw, I bought some challah yesterday for that bread pudding recipe you sent me. LOL, Devon’s very excited.
    ~ingrid

  3. oneordinaryday permalink*
    June 2, 2010 8:43 am

    Ingrid – You and Monica have a standing invite to come visit any time! When are those boys of yours coming to PA to play ball anyway?? : )
    ~ Michelle

  4. June 2, 2010 1:22 pm

    What a nice idea–and so pretty too!

  5. June 2, 2010 8:36 pm

    That tea looks so pretty and I love your little note at the end of the post :-) Now I’m off to search your blog for other wonderful summertime drinks…

  6. June 2, 2010 11:28 pm

    what a gorgeous drink. clearly, chocolate cake should be washed down with milk, but this would be lovely with a light lunch! :)

  7. June 3, 2010 6:31 am

    You’re so honest about your food/beverage reviews. You’re right… The other things your eating or drinking can affect how something tastes, so that’s important to think of. It looks delicious, and I don’t like things all that sweet, so maybe it will be just right for me.

  8. June 3, 2010 1:54 pm

    This is wonderful. I’m making this on the weekend. Beautiful job!

  9. June 7, 2010 3:36 pm

    this looks and sounds really refreshing :)

  10. June 8, 2010 2:50 am

    Definitely a Fourth of July recipe I must try. It’ll cool everyone off! Thanks so much for trying. So far, I’m going to be making this and
    Red, White & Blue Shooters
    for the holiday. Thank you for sharing and giving me another great beverage recipe to try out!

    ~Sophia

  11. Cindy permalink
    July 17, 2011 12:45 pm

    How many people did this serve? I just made it and it was super sweet and didn’t make very much. I am going to make more green tea and just add it. I was just wondering how much it made for you?

  12. oneordinaryday permalink*
    July 17, 2011 12:59 pm

    Cindy – You’re right that the tea is very sweet. It’s really like drinking blackberry pie! When I brew regular green tea, I use 4 cups of water in all. If you’d like this tea to be less on the sweet side, you can simply add additional water to make a total of 4 cups of water, or cut back on the sugar in the simple syrup. I hope you find a combination that suits your taste. : )
    ~ Michelle

  13. July 18, 2012 11:26 pm

    Hi, just letting you know your tea was featured on The Inspired Dish – we thought it was drool worthy! Visit us and grab a badge if you like!
    http://theinspireddish.com/10-fruity-ice-tea-recipes-to-beat-the-summer-heat/

  14. July 18, 2012 11:30 pm

    Regrettably, I only just noticed that you prefer to be asked prior to using your pictures. I apologize for not noticing this before. I hope I have not upset you. I have of course, included a link back to your site.

  15. oneordinaryday permalink*
    July 19, 2012 7:46 am

    Cathy, no problem, and thanks for featuring my blackberry iced tea. :)
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Blackberry Raspberry Iced Tea | My Real Food Life
  2. Blackberry Mint Iced Tea | Art of Natural Living
  3. Blackberry Iced Tea - Freshpak | Freshpak

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers