Skip to content

Strawberry butter

June 22, 2010

Strawberry Butter

We went berry picking over the weekend and came home with red raspberries, black raspberries, and the sweetest strawberries we’ve had this year.  I’d seen this recipe for strawberry butter quite a while ago and have been waiting for the perfect berries to go in it.  I had most definitely hit the jackpot.  I also knew that the strawberry butter was going to be paired with these buttermilk biscuits, though this butter would be excellent on just about anything.  Maybe some English muffin bread?  Oh, yes!

To get a smoother consistency, I should have whipped my butter a little bit more, but I erred on the side of caution so as not to end up with pink butter.  It’d be prettier if it was smoother, but it sure didn’t hurt the flavor any, nor did it keep us from eating it.

Recipe:  Strawberry Butter

(from Martha Stewart)

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature

1/4 cup confectioners’ sugar

1/4 teaspoon salt

1/2 cup hulled and coarsely chopped fresh strawberries

Using an electric mixer, beat butter, sugar, and salt until light, about 1 minute.  Add strawberries and beat until combined, but not totally uniform.

Transfer to small ramekins or serving dishes.  Chill until ready to serve.  Serve at room temperature.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Michelle Geraghty permalink
    June 22, 2010 9:20 am

    you ROCK! thank you thank you thank you.

  2. June 22, 2010 9:20 am

    Mmmmmmmmmm. I LOVE strawberry cream cheese, but strawberry BUTTER? When I find the berries, I’m making this!

  3. June 22, 2010 3:03 pm

    Can we say Yum?! Yes, we can! I love compound butters. Just yesterday I made some brown sugar cinnamon butter for a certain bread that I might have cheesily made. Hee-hee.
    ~ingrid

  4. June 22, 2010 7:21 pm

    chunky or smooth, I’d definitely eat this without complaint. mmm!

  5. June 22, 2010 11:41 pm

    luscious. a pink butter wouldn’t have been too terrible, would it? this is a great and delicious use for berries–bravo. :)

  6. June 23, 2010 1:51 am

    That’s awesome! I want it smothered on one of your homemade bagels!!!

  7. June 23, 2010 5:23 pm

    Ooooh yummy – what a great idea! Drooooollll!

  8. June 24, 2010 5:41 am

    Okay, I’ve never heard of this before, but I’m loving it! Great pairing with biscuits.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers