Skip to content

Buttermilk onion rings

July 15, 2010

Buttermilk Onion Rings

After you get a look at that burger, I probably don’t need to tell you anything else about these onion rings, but I’m going to anyway.  They are a-ma-zing.  I know there’s really nothing to them and the recipe certainly doesn’t contain a secret ingredient or anything, but for some reason these onion rings are just incredibly delicious.  And you know what?  Until now, I can’t say I even liked onion rings.  I’ve definitely been converted.  Especially when it comes to topping a juicy burger with a nice golden pile of these lovelies.  (In case you’re curious, that burger is tucked between two pieces of cheesy garlic Texas toast.)

{one year ago:  chocolate chip cookie dough brownies}

Recipe:  Buttermilk Onion Rings

(from Every Day Food, Martha Stewart)

2 medium white onions, sliced into thin rings

3/4 c. buttermilk

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/2 tsp. coarse salt

1/4 tsp. ground black pepper

4 c. vegetable oil

In a large bowl, toss onions with buttermilk.  In another shallow container, whisk together flour, cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper.

Heat oil in a large, heavy-bottom saucepan, until a thermometer registers between 325-350 degrees.

Lift onion rings out of buttermilk and toss in flour mixture to coat.  Shake off excess flour and transfer rings to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper.

Working in small batches, carefully place coated onion rings into hot oil.  Cook until golden, gently turning with tongs, 2-3 minutes.  Transfer rings to another baking sheet lined with a paper towel.  Repeat with remaining onion rings.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 12:21 pm

    These look amazing! Now Im craving onion rings for lunch!

  2. July 15, 2010 3:27 pm

    Makes me wish I liked onions and burgers. Oh, well I’ll take the cheesy garlic toast! :)
    ~ingrid

  3. July 15, 2010 9:32 pm

    These look just like the onion rings we got at this little local restaurant in my hometown. They’re definitely going in the “to make” file! Thanks for sharing!

  4. July 15, 2010 9:39 pm

    You’re right, it was hard to get past that fab looking burger, but I did–and now I want those onion rings!!

  5. July 15, 2010 11:25 pm

    Nomnomnom…I usually don’t eat deep-fried foods very often but I can never resist a good onion ring!

  6. July 16, 2010 1:21 am

    My mom went berserk after seeing your onion rings! She and I love the fact that they call for buttermilk. I’m bookmarking this recipe now.

  7. July 16, 2010 2:12 am

    I love onion rings and these look wonderfully crisp and golden. Would never have thought of using buttermilk

  8. July 16, 2010 12:33 pm

    That burger sounds so lovely–a ripe tomato, onion rings, and sandwiched inside some garlic bread. Absolutely tasty. There’s something so satisfying about deep fried foodstuffs, eh? Ahah, it sounds extra decadent with buttermilk.

  9. July 16, 2010 3:28 pm

    OMG – they look SO yummy! I’m definitely trying this one.

  10. July 16, 2010 5:02 pm

    there are a lot of good things about that burger, but those gorgeous onion rings are the highlight. bravo!

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 18, 2010 5:59 pm

    Krystle – Just thinking about them makes me want more. They were soooo good!

    Ingrid – Are you kidding me?? You don’t like burgers either? This is preposterous!

    Tessa – Oh good – I hope you comment after you’ve made them. They were so easy to do that I was really surprised at how much we loved them.

    Hungry Dog – : ) Thank you!

    Xiaolu – You clearly have more self-control than I do. I have a hard time resisting fried stuff, which is why I rarely cook them.

    Memoria – haha Thank your mom for me! I hope you both like them too.

    Katie – Leave it to Martha’s peeps to come up with it, eh? They sure knew what they were doing.

    Fattydumpling – Definitely a very good version of summer comfort food…

    Laura T. – Great! Hope you enjoy them as much as we did.

    Grace – Thank you!

    ~ Michelle

  12. July 19, 2010 8:06 pm

    Not really a fan of onions but I do like onion rings IF they’re fresh and just fried. This burger looks incredible Michelle! between Texas Toast? You’re killing me! I bet your hands were nice and greasy after this one :-)

  13. July 22, 2010 2:55 pm

    Oh those look SO good. In North Carolina, there’s a thing called a “Carolina Burger” which has an onion ring filled with chili and topped with slaw. Oh and there’s cheese on it too! This reminded me a little of that.

  14. August 2, 2010 9:23 pm

    I’m fighting the urge to go make these as an after dinner snack right now. Dang it.

  15. August 30, 2010 4:20 pm

    Thanks for sharing this. I’ve always been too intimidated to try making onion rings. Usually if I am craving them, I’ll just go out to a restaurant. I thought you might like this recipe to go with the onion rings: Burger King Onion Ring Sauce – http://www.recipe4living.com/recipes/burger_king_onion_ring_sauce.htm – Keep up the good work!

  16. November 5, 2010 11:44 pm

    These were very good. Thanks for the recipe.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers