Skip to content

Buttermilk waffles

August 2, 2010

Buttermilk Waffles with Blackberry Sauce

My pancake-making husband has broadened his breakfast repertoire to include waffles.  I’m not talking about just any waffles either.  I’m talking about moist, wonderful buttermilk waffles topped off with homemade blackberry syrup, whipped cream, and fresh-picked blackberries.  Delicious.  We’re kissing those eggo waffles goodbye and are determined to get Claudia on board with the homemade version before school starts.

The waffle recipe comes from Alton Brown, affectionately known around my house as “my boyfriend.”  And just like AB, it’s a keeper.  {teehee}  I used the same blackberry syrup that I use to sweeten the blackberry iced tea I make, so we actually got blackberry-topped waffles in the morning and blackberry iced tea that afternoon.  Very nice, indeed.  And all with berries we picked ourselves at a pick-your-own farm.

Jim made a huge stack of these beauties and froze them so the kids can pop one into the microwave or toaster for breakfast.  We’ve always found that works great with pancakes too, and the kids start their day off with a healthy, filling breakfast.  Not that it’s all about eating only what’s good for us though.  I’ve got my heart set on making waffle ice cream sandwiches too.

{playing around with cross-processing on the pics… like?}

Recipe:  Buttermilk Waffles

(Thank you, Alton Brown!)

1 c. all-purpose flour

1 c. whole wheat flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

3 Tbsp. sugar

3 eggs, beaten

2 oz. unsalted butter, melted

16 oz. buttermilk, room temperature

Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions; spray with nonstick cooking spray.

In medium bowl, whisk together the flours, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  In another bowl, beat together eggs and melted butter; then add the buttermilk.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir until combined.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the iron.  Close waffle iron and cook until waffle is golden on both sides and is easy to remove.  Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree oven until ready to serve.

To Make Blackberry Syrup:

Combine 1 lb. berries, 1 – 1  1/2 cup of sugar, and water in a 2-quart pot over moderately high heat.  When mixture begins to boil and sugar has dissolved, lower heat to a simmer.  Cook berries for 30 minutes.  Add mint leaves to syrup so it can steep as the mixture cools.  Drain with a fine mesh sieve to remove solids.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. August 2, 2010 3:42 pm

    YUM! I love blackberries and I REALLY like fresh waffles! Okay, I guess I’m gonna cave and by myself a waffle maker. Any brand suggestion? Btw, Devon is gonna be thrilled he’s been bugging me since last fall to buy one and make waffles for him. Be on the lookout for an email full of questions for you and Jim. :)
    ~ingrid

  2. August 2, 2010 6:05 pm

    Um…blackberry buttermilk waffles AND blackberry iced tea?!? You’re a genius :) Those both sound superb. Hard to go wrong with an AB recipe. Love your “pet name” for him! Thanks for the recipes!

  3. August 2, 2010 7:14 pm

    If only I had a waffle maker, I would make these with all the topping your husband likes haha. This looks so good!

  4. August 2, 2010 8:33 pm

    These waffles are gorgeous, especially with the blackberry topping. You can’t go wrong with an Alton Brown recipe! Good idea to freeze them- much better than eggos!

  5. August 2, 2010 9:25 pm

    One of these days I’m going to buy a waffle maker. Those look amazing!

    Oh, and I love Alton…but I’ll let you keep him if I can have Bobby. ;)

  6. August 3, 2010 2:46 am

    I wish I could get my husband to start making waffles. yeah right! Actuall he did help once and I have a picture to prove it but that was a long time ago.

    These look delicious!

  7. August 3, 2010 5:00 am

    hooray for alton! i love me some waffles, and your blackberry syrup is just the perfect topper. waffle ice cream sandwiches? yes please!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink*
    August 3, 2010 8:29 am

    Betty – Glad to hear from you! The waffles are great and we’re keeping fingers crossed that they’ll get our daughter to snub the eggos. : )
    ~ Michelle

  9. August 3, 2010 8:41 am

    I’ve become a huge fan of making large batches of things and freezing half or more. Didn’t realize how many doughs will freeze — have been pulling out single-servings of naan dough, frozen in sandwich sized zip-locks, for dinner every so many nights after making a huge batch last month. And breakfast foods, like waffles or banana bread, freeze like champs. Cheers!

  10. August 3, 2010 10:47 am

    I need to make waffles. Like now. Yum!

  11. August 3, 2010 1:26 pm

    I miss owning a waffle maker and I can only imagine what it tastes like with the blackberry sauce. Beautiful food blog you have here!

  12. oneordinaryday permalink*
    August 3, 2010 2:24 pm

    Alice, thanks for the kind comment!
    ~ Michelle

  13. August 3, 2010 9:43 pm

    I have two requestst to make of you.

    Would you consider linking up your husband’s waffles at My Meatless Mondays. http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/p/source-of-week.html

    Please check this out. It makes me very happy. I hope you like it.

    http://sweetsav.blogspot.com/p/blog-of-week.html

  14. August 3, 2010 10:13 pm

    Wow. I’m not always a fan of waffles but these are gorgeous!! And blackberry syrup…good grief. Love the photos too.

  15. oneordinaryday permalink*
    August 4, 2010 8:21 am

    Comfy Cook – Thank you so much for the nice comments and for the great shout-out on your blog! You made my day, and yes, please add the waffles to your Meatless Mondays link. That’d be great. : )
    ~ Michelle

  16. oneordinaryday permalink*
    August 4, 2010 9:18 am

    Ingrid – We just got the waffle maker. This was its maiden voyage.

    Sweet Pea Chef – August just screams blackberries to me. : )

    Memoria – Thanks. Sorry you can’t make them cause they are really good.

    Karly – LOL Ok, you can have Bobby. haha

    Monica – Jim’s my breakfast guy. Mostly cause he says I make too big a mess first thing in the morning, but whatever works, right? : )

    Grace – The ice cream sandwiches WILL happen before summer’s over!

    ~ Michelle

  17. oneordinaryday permalink*
    August 4, 2010 9:19 am

    Amy – I’ll send Jim right over. haha

    Hungry Dog – Thank you!

    ~ Michelle

  18. Lynn permalink
    August 20, 2010 9:59 am

    So, if you love waffles and food blogging, you really should check out the Waffleizer at http://www.waffleizer.com/

    Be sure to check out his FAQ’s and the First time visitor tab on the top. I’ve had so much fun trying his recipes this summer. It’s been a fun and neat alternative to heating up the oven. We really like the chocolate chip cookies. I mix up a batch and then just make two or three cookies per person. The rest of the dough stays in the fridge until the next day when we want a few more cookies. YUMMMMY!

  19. November 24, 2010 2:08 pm

    breakfast foods should always be high in protein and also in carbohydrates, we need food energy during the early morning :-*

  20. Mothers permalink
    December 8, 2010 2:56 am

    Delicious. I am thinking of adding my own little twist to it.

  21. jenx permalink
    December 8, 2010 3:43 am

    I was doing good I found your blog. Damn you :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers