Skip to content

Spicy pineapple pork

August 5, 2010

Spicy Pineapple Pork

I found this recipe in a Good Housekeeping magazine when I was visiting my parents a few weeks ago.  The original was for a pork taco, which we’ve also tried and enjoyed, but I didn’t want to spend the extra effort dicing everything up this time.  It’s the combination of the sweet pineapple and the kick of the spices that appeal to Jim and me.  They really go great together.  You could turn this into some excellent kabobs too, by alternating chunks of pork, pineapple, and onion along the skewer, then serving it with some extra dipping sauce.

Recipe:  Spicy Pineapple Pork

(adapted from Good Housekeeping)

1 chipotle chile plus 2 Tbsp. sauce (from 1 can chilis in adobo)

3 Tbsp. honey

2 cloves garlic, crushed

1/4 c. chopped fresh cilantro

1 small fresh pineapple, peeled and cut into 1/2″ slices

1 lb. 3/4″-thick boneless pork chops

1 small onion, sliced

tortillas, for serving as tacos

In blender, puree chili, sauce, honey, garlic, half of the pineapple slices, cilantro, and salt and black pepper to taste.  Pour 1/3 c. of sauce into a pie plate; pour remaining sauce into a bowl for serving.

Add pork to sauce on plate and turn to coat.  Let stand while grill preheats.

Over medium heat, grill pork (thinly coated with sauce) until meat loses its pink color, turning once.  Add remaining pineapple slices and onion slices to the grill and cook 4-6 minutes, until tender; turning for nice grill marks.

If making tacos, remove pork, pineapple, and onions from grill and chop.  Warm tortillas.  Fill tortillas and serve with the leftover sauce.

47 Comments leave one →
  1. Raul permalink
    August 5, 2010 10:16 am

    I am not a big fan of Pork but that actually looks really good! :-)

    http://www.wutevs.wordpress.com

  2. August 5, 2010 10:17 am

    Yum! This sounds delicious and something out of the ‘norm’ (for us). I will definately have to try this, thanks for sharing & congrats on making ‘freshly pressed’.

  3. August 5, 2010 10:19 am

    Looks wonderful!

  4. August 5, 2010 10:21 am

    This sounds and looks delicious. I’m printing it out for my boyfriend now!

  5. lenanozizwe permalink
    August 5, 2010 10:28 am

    I don’t eat pork. Wonder if I can do this with tofu!

    http://lenanozizwe.wordpress.com

  6. August 5, 2010 10:29 am

    I’m not a fan of pork, but the thought of spicy pineapple sauce slathered all over it makes me want to make this.

  7. August 5, 2010 11:16 am

    I love a good pork chop!

  8. August 5, 2010 11:31 am

    Congrats on being featured! Feel’s great huh?

    Wonderful recipe.

  9. August 5, 2010 11:38 am

    I’m going for your kabob suggestion! I love the sweet and spicy combo as well. YUM.

  10. August 5, 2010 11:44 am

    Love pork chops, and will certainly be trying this recipe

    http://palmettopalate.wordpress.com

  11. My third eye permalink
    August 5, 2010 11:49 am

    It looks interesting , I will try cook this for my hubby tonite, thanks the receip

  12. August 5, 2010 12:16 pm

    Congratulations on freshly pressed!A great recipe!

  13. August 5, 2010 12:33 pm

    Holy smokes, I am salivating. Pork and pineapple are pretty much two of my most favorite flavors.

  14. August 5, 2010 12:48 pm

    My goodness … Im starving … give me a slice out of it ;)

  15. August 5, 2010 12:56 pm

    I’m glad you were featured on Freshly Pressed so I could find your blog! This recipe looks good, I’m going to check out your other ones too. Love your “I’m Reading” page, I was thinking of adding one and now you’ve inspired me to do so…… and to check out some of your book recommendations, as well!

  16. sara permalink
    August 5, 2010 1:12 pm

    Found you on the WP main site…that dish sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing :)

  17. August 5, 2010 1:50 pm

    Yum! This looks and sounds amazing. Sadly, The Hubble doesn’t like cooked pineapple…but he doesn’t have to eat that part right?? Thanks for sharing!

  18. August 5, 2010 3:19 pm

    YUM YUM…love the variety of colors!

    The perfect summertime meal eh?

    Thanks for the recipe.

  19. August 5, 2010 3:43 pm

    Oh my gosh.. Yum. Perfect summer bbq meal. I can’t wait to make it!

  20. hannah1433 permalink
    August 5, 2010 3:43 pm

    This sounds amazing! I think I’m running to the store right now to make this!

  21. August 5, 2010 5:11 pm

    This looks delicious. I’m not a fan of pork, but this looks great. I just made Green chili pork but I’ll try this one next week.

  22. August 5, 2010 6:01 pm

    Yum Yum Yum!

  23. August 5, 2010 6:56 pm

    YUM. :)

  24. August 5, 2010 8:37 pm

    I will definitely try this out!

  25. August 5, 2010 10:16 pm

    OOh you gotta lot of comments on this one and I see why! I be this sauce would be great on chicken too. yum!

  26. MrsHutch permalink
    August 6, 2010 4:22 am

    The recipe looks great, I’ll have to try it. Also, as a total grammar nerd, I have to say that I appreciate your correct use of “Jim and me.” Thank you for both. :)

  27. August 6, 2010 4:30 am

    i’m all for skimping on effort–great alternative to the tacos! the finished flavor must be spectacular.

  28. August 6, 2010 8:28 am

    yummy…will surely try…thanks a lot

  29. August 6, 2010 8:45 am

    WOW! after a long day work, i finally saw a real good food to prepare once i go home! thanks for this blog! yummy!

  30. August 6, 2010 8:46 am

    Cooking—- not just a way to a man’s heart. it should be good food for you to be loved!

  31. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 6, 2010 8:57 am

    I can’t answer all of your comments, but want to say thanks very much for taking the time to jot a note!
    ~ Michelle

  32. buytupperwarebangalore permalink
    August 6, 2010 9:20 am

    your pork looks yummy, it looks tender on the inside and not overdone on the outside, pretty difficult to always get it perfect for me. I dare not show this to my hubby cause he”ll promptly ask me to make it for me too ! I have a recipe blog too ..feel free to visit it

    http://rodas-recipes.blogspot.com

  33. August 6, 2010 9:29 am

    Look so delicious!!!

  34. People permalink
    August 6, 2010 10:10 am

    Looks wonderful!

  35. August 6, 2010 12:19 pm

    You really spiced pork up!

  36. August 6, 2010 1:24 pm

    It looks delicious, my husband would love this and I cant wait to give this a try this weekend.If you won’t mind I’d love to guide Foodista readers to this post.Just add the foodista widget to the end of this post and it’s all set, Thanks!

  37. August 6, 2010 1:58 pm

    looks lovely!

    http://hcfashion.wordpress.com/

  38. August 6, 2010 2:08 pm

    This sounds amazing. Pork goes so well with most fruits, but pineapple sounds especially great…that perfect sweet/tart accent.

  39. August 6, 2010 2:52 pm

    Pork is my favorite white meat.

    I love your about page. I appreciate how honest you are. I enjoy that you post recipes and other things about your life as well.

  40. August 8, 2010 4:29 pm

    That looks & sounds great…will have to try it before long…Thanks for letting us know…Jason

  41. August 8, 2010 4:31 pm

    Pretty cool blog you have here…I will include it in my blogroll!

  42. August 8, 2010 5:55 pm

    Yum! I just bought some pork chops, might have to try this!

  43. August 8, 2010 7:57 pm

    I´m very hungry, now I want to make this picture come true and eat it!

  44. August 9, 2010 5:54 am

    This looks absolutely sensational! Thanks for the recipe!


    Trindaz on fedang

  45. August 10, 2010 3:31 pm

    In browsing through your post I saw people mention you being featured on Freshly Pressed. WEEEEEEEEEEELLLLLLLLLLL, share!! You are NOT allowed to have blogging secrets, Michelle!

    Btw, this looks absolutely delicious! Love the kabob idea, too!
    ~ingrid

  46. The Perfectly Imperfect One permalink
    August 21, 2010 8:03 pm

    This looks so tasty! I will be trying this recipe in the future. Thanks :)

  47. September 13, 2010 11:19 am

    Tasty,Tasty, We want some.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 852 other followers