Skip to content

I can’t wait to get my hands on this book

August 20, 2010
tags:

I often find my favorite or most interesting reads on NPR, whether it’s by listening to the radio or perusing their website.  I have a hunch that this one is no exception.  I can’t wait to get my hands on this book.

I talk about my kids all the time, but I don’t really mention that they were both adopted.  It just doesn’t come up.  Can you imagine me saying, “my adopted son” or “my adopted daughter?”  That would be completely absurd.  They’re just my kids.  Period.  Forever and always and no matter what.  {That saying’s on a sign that hangs over the doorway in our kitchen.  I love it.} Anyway, because we’ve been blessed by this incredible gift, I’m naturally drawn to books that trace the journeys other people took in creating their own families.

Here’s an excerpt from Baby, We Were Meant for Each Other by Scott Simon:

“Adoption is a miracle. I don’t mean just that it’s amazing, terrific, and a wonderful thing to do. I mean that it is, as the dictionary says, “a surprising and welcome event that is not explicable by natural or scientific laws and is therefore considered to be the work of divine agency.”

My wife and I, not having had children in the traditional, Abraham-and-Sarah-begat manner, have learned to make jokes about the way we’ve had our family. (“Pregnant! Why would you do that? Those clothes! And you can’t drink for months!”) Jokes are sometimes the only sensible answer to some of the astoundingly impertinent questions people can ask, right in your children’s faces. “How much did they cost? Are they healthy? You know, you hear stories. So why did you go overseas? Not enough kids here?” But we cannot imagine anything more remarkable and marvelous than having a stranger put into your arms who becomes, in minutes, your flesh, your blood: your life. There are times when the adoption process is exhausting and painful and makes you want to scream. But, I am told, so does childbirth.”

And as long as I’m sharing books on the topic that’s near and dear to me, here are a few more that I loved:

Love in the Driest Season:  A Family Memoir by Neely Tucker
Meeting Sophie:  A Memoir of Adoption by Nancy McCabe
Weaving a Family:  Untangling Race and Adoption by Barbara Katz Rothman

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers