Skip to content

BLT pancakes with basil cream

August 25, 2010

BLT Pancakes with Basil Cream

I don’t know where I get my ideas sometimes.  Neither does anyone else apparently.  I had a very large bowl of cherry tomatoes sitting on the counter and suddenly had the idea to turn them into pancakes.  And why stop there?  How about BLT pancakes?  Well, sort of BLTs, but without the actual L.  But there would be mayo, and that more than makes up for the lack of lettuce, in my opinion.  You with me?  Every time I shared this brainstorm with someone, I got the exact same reaction.  Lots of dumbfounded expressions, wrinkled foreheads, and one word responses that amounted to, “Huh?”  Nobody was on board, so I figured somewhere in the blogsphere someone must have made a BLT pancake before.

As it turns out someone had.  Apparently, she and I are the only ones.  Go figure.  To make a long story short, we all know I am not the pancake maker in our family, so Jim very kindly made these while I put together the basil cream sauce, cause we’re a good team like that.  They tasted fine – nothing spectacular and not really very BLT-y, and we probably won’t make them again.  I’ve gotten it out of my system.  The sauce, however, is a different story.  That was pretty darn good and I will definitely whip that together whenever we have an abundance of nice tomatoes to slice up.  Very creamy and flavorful and a delicious way to enjoy the end of summer’s bounty of tomatoes.

Recipe:  BLT Pancakes with Basil Cream

(adapted from Washington Post and Lottie + Doof)

12 slices uncooked bacon

1 c. cherry or grape tomatoes, diced

2 cups flour

2 teaspoons baking powder

2 teaspoons sugar

1 teaspoon salt

3 large eggs

2 cups regular or low-fat milk

1/2 cup regular mayonnaise

basil cream (recipe follows)

Cook the bacon in a large skillet over medium heat, until crisp, then transfer it to drain on a paper-towel-lined plate. The yield should be about 1 cup.

Dice the tomatoes and gently squeeze the seeds out.  Set aside.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, sugar and salt in a mixing bowl.

Whisk together the eggs, milk and mayonnaise in another bowl. Blend it into the flour mixture, but do not over mix.  There should still be some lumps in the batter.

Spray a griddle with nonstick cooking oil spray. Heat over medium to medium-high heat.

Pour 1/4 c. of pancake batter for each pancake, then top each one with some of the diced tomato and crumbled cooked bacon. Cook for a few minutes, until the tops are bubbly, then flip the pancakes over. Cook on the second side until lightly browned.

Serve immediately with basil cream.

Recipe:  Basil Cream

1/3 c. heavy cream

1 Tbsp. olive oil

1 Tbsp. white vinegar

1 Tbsp. water

salt and ground black pepper, to taste

pinch of sugar

8-10 basil leaves, finely chopped

Add all ingredients to a bowl and whisk to combine.  Serve over pancakes.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. August 26, 2010 12:17 am

    These are interesting. Not sure if I could get my family on board, but I love tomatoes and pancakes, so why not!

  2. August 26, 2010 6:08 am

    I love that you think outside of the box! Certainly an original idea – not sure I would try them with the mayonnaise though and I am a huge mayo lover! I am quite tempted to have your basil cream over some fresh home made pasta. What other ideas did you have for your basil cream?
    :-) Mandy

  3. August 26, 2010 8:39 am

    Without lettuce, what can the L stand for? Left-overs? Could you add some lemon? Liche? Hmmmm …

  4. August 26, 2010 10:08 am

    You had me at Bacon–but what an ingenious recipe! I can’t wait to make these.

  5. August 26, 2010 10:45 am

    Sorry the pancakes didn’t turn out as fabulously as you wanted. But at least you found a great sauce right?!?!? Congrats on that…and for getting the BLT pancake out of your system.

  6. August 26, 2010 12:20 pm

    That sauce looks amazing. My husband wouldn’t have helped with that because he’s too picky. We eat pancakes for dinner almost every Friday night.

  7. August 26, 2010 12:44 pm

    I want mine with just the bacon, please!
    ~ingrid

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    August 26, 2010 4:33 pm

    Mandy – I’m going to follow Lottie + Doof’s lead and pour this sauce over some freshly sliced beefsteak tomatoes. Yum!
    ~ Michelle

  9. Roxy permalink
    August 26, 2010 6:00 pm

    You know, that actually sounds pretty good. I love the creativity! ^-^

    You could always chiffonade some lettuce to top it, that would satisfy the L of the BLT and make a nice little garnish. I like to use baby spinach in place of lettuce, personally, but either would probably be a nice touch. I also like to add avocado to my BLT, so I’d probably either place a few slices of avocado on top or add avocado to the Basil Cream sauce.

    I wonder how these would taste if you tried waffles instead of pancakes. Mmm…waffles. <3

  10. August 26, 2010 6:07 pm

    heck, as much as i love chicken & waffles, your savory twist on my typical maple syrup vehicle is welcome! great thinking!!!

  11. August 26, 2010 6:36 pm

    That’s totally logical… To see a bowl of cherry tomatoes and think ‘pancake’. ;)

    I’m with ya on the basil cream sauce, though. I’d eat just about anything with heavy cream in it!

  12. August 26, 2010 6:52 pm

    I love it! My husband is the official pancake maker in our house. I am sure he would approve. :)

  13. August 27, 2010 10:29 am

    I love this creative recipe!! Such a genius idea for pancakes. The basil cream sauce puts them over the top!! xo

  14. August 27, 2010 1:44 pm

    I love your creativity even if the result was less than a revelation. It’s only through trial and error and an adventurous spirit that we come up with those rare gems. I love the idea of a savory pancake and the basil cream does look delicious!

  15. August 27, 2010 5:58 pm

    These are fun. I bet my husband would love these.

  16. August 27, 2010 10:25 pm

    Great idea! YUM! The cream looks fantastic, too.

  17. August 28, 2010 2:09 pm

    Yhey may not have been that tasty but they look amazing. that cream sauce sounds great too.

  18. Jess permalink
    September 1, 2010 7:09 pm

    These look great, and I bet they would work a treat in English pancakes (large, flat, more like french crepes) with the sauce, wrapped up like calleloni and then baked with some cheese on top. I am doing these next pancake day! (We have a whole day dedicated to pancake in the UK – is it the same on the other side of the water?)

  19. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 2, 2010 7:48 am

    Jess – I’d love to see how your English pancakes turn out. Can you send me some? heehee Your idea sounds delicious! Pancake Day? No such luck, except for when the foodies of the blogworld seem to invent that sort of thing. A real pancake day sounds like great fun!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers