Skip to content

Frozen hot chocolate

August 28, 2010

Frozen Hot Chocolate

Oh my gosh, all I can say is it was a good thing that this frozen hot chocolate tasted so delicious.  You’d never believe the mess I made while making it!  We just got a new blender, and I think it’s safe to say its buttons are pretty darn sensitive.  I took the lid off the blender, leaned forward, and evidently bumped a button.  Chocolate was flying everywhere!  All over everything!  Not to mention, all over me.  I guess I should have gotten a picture of that, eh?  It was a sight.

Luckily, this is one tasty drink that I will make again, despite the mishap.  Unluckily, what was intended to make 4 frozen drinks ended up only serving 3.  I was wearing the fourth serving.  Poor Jim.  I kid!  He got some too!

Recipe:  Frozen Hot Chocolate

(adapted from Serendipity 3)

1 c. of good quality chocolate chips, your choice  (I used a mixture of semisweet and milk chocolate)

4 teaspoons good quality store-bought hot chocolate mix

3 tablespoons sugar

3 cups milk, any fat content

5-6 cups ice

whipped cream

chocolate shavings

Place chocolate in the top of a double boiler over simmering water. Stir occasionally until melted. Add the hot chocolate mix and sugar. Stir until completely dissolved. Remove from heat and slowly stir or whisk in 1 cup of milk until smooth. Cool to room temperature or refrigerate until ready to use.

In a blender, place the remaining cup of milk, the chocolate mixture and the ice. Blend on high speed until smooth and the consistency of a frozen daiquiri. Pour into a giant goblet and top with whipped cream and chocolate shavings.

Serves 4

17 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 9:47 am

    Yum! This sounds delicious. I have actually been craving hot chocolate for the last week but kept telling myself it was too hot outside. Now I don’t have an excuse! (haha, I am the master of kitchen messes, but that sounds like it was picture worthy!)

  2. August 28, 2010 12:20 pm

    All’s well that ends well, right? Glad you didn’t get hurt or anything, though I’m sure it was quite a hassle to clean up. Bu if it tasted half as good as it looks, it was more than worth the trouble though.

  3. August 28, 2010 12:27 pm

    Looks pretty amazing! I remember having this at Serendipity once, many years ago.

  4. August 28, 2010 2:04 pm

    There used to be a cafe about a blok from my house that sold frozen hot chocolates and they were SO good. Sometimes I added a shot of espresso to it for a frappuccino type drink.

    I tried making a version from Paula Deen but it didn’t quite turn out right. So i bought the mix from Williams-Sonoma and now i can have the real thing whenever I want!

  5. August 29, 2010 6:59 am

    blender explosions are awesome…cleaning them up is not. :)

  6. August 29, 2010 11:21 am

    I would have to throw some espresso or coffee in mine but this sounds delish!

  7. August 30, 2010 5:29 am

    Hmm, super yummy! It certainly looks like it was worth the mess and at least you will be sure never to make the same mistake again. Would have been lovely to see a photo of the mess – hee hee.
    :-) Mandy

  8. August 30, 2010 9:41 am

    Mmmmm one of my faves. Hope you enjoyed it as much as I do!

  9. August 30, 2010 10:19 am

    I love hot chocolate in the cooler (or downright subzero) months, and miss it in the summertime. I’ve been living on McDonald’s iced coffee drinks instead. Now I have an at-home alternative!

  10. August 30, 2010 10:40 am

    I had that happen to me with the kitchen aid mixer. I was wiping it down while it was mixing (RED velvet cake batter!) and accidentally moved the lever to high. Oh, the mess.

    I gotta tell ya despite this being chocolate I’d like to give it a try.
    ~ingrid

  11. August 30, 2010 6:04 pm

    Uh-oh. One of my little minxes just spied this picture as she looked over my shoulder…guess what she wants now? Looks delicious!

  12. August 31, 2010 9:05 pm

    OMG this looks and sounds amazing. I love anything chocolate, and one of my favorite things about winter is hot chocolate. This is such a perfect way to be able to have it in the summer, too! :)

  13. July 30, 2011 3:15 am

    Yum. Must try!! (got here from Pinterest)

  14. Amy Hanson permalink
    October 24, 2011 10:08 pm

    This totally cracked me up! I can just imagine myself covering myself with Frozen Hot Chocolate too. :) Thanks for the recipe! Yummy. can’t wait to try it!

Trackbacks

  1. Frozen hot chocolate (via One Ordinary Day) « Coming Home to Sun's Blog
  2. Dairy Free Frozen Mocha Hot Chocolate | My Real Food Life
  3. 18 delicious Frozen Desserts for summer time

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 853 other followers