Skip to content

Wish I’d thought of that…

September 6, 2010

Do your kids have favorite clothes?  A t-shirt they want to wear 24/7?  Eventually, they’re gonna grow out of it, so here’s a great fix for when that happens.  And pretty budget-friendly too.  It definitely gives an old t-shirt a new life.

Or, the more likely scenario at my house is that a well-loved shirt is gonna get stained or ripped or something long before Claudia outgrows it, but she’s still gonna wanna wear it all the time.  Again, this is a brilliant solution.

Wish I’d thought of that…

For a photo tutorial of how this smart mom turned her little guy’s outgrown favorite shirt into a brand-new tee, head over to The Mother Huddle.  You’ll be looking through your kids’ closets in a totally new way.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. September 6, 2010 3:41 pm

    Aw great idea! Hope I can still remember this exists when I have kids of my own.

  2. September 6, 2010 10:05 pm

    Cool idea;now if only I knew how to sew.
    ~ingrid

  3. September 6, 2010 10:06 pm

    Hey, I just noticed the photo of your kiddos….cute. Was that from today?
    ~ingrid

  4. September 6, 2010 11:21 pm

    Great idea. There are companies that will take all of your race Ts and make a big quilt out of them, but never seen this before. Thanks!

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 7, 2010 6:44 am

    Ingrid – Yep. That photo is from the lake today. I love it cause they didn’t know I was taking it and they were just checking things out and being nice to each other. LOL
    ~ Michelle

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 7, 2010 6:46 am

    HPD – I’ve never heard of a business that takes old Ts and turns them into quilts, but it sounds great. Do you know the name of the company?
    ~ Michelle

  7. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 7, 2010 6:48 am

    Ingrid – I could probably manage this kind of sewing IF I had a machine, which I don’t. I don’t see why you couldn’t just use that iron-on stuff (technical term). That’s what I was thinking of trying anyway.
    ~ Michelle

  8. September 7, 2010 9:43 am

    Oh that’s so cool!!! What a fantastic idea!

  9. September 7, 2010 3:39 pm

    You totally made my day! This has been by far one of my most favorite projects. It was sad that this was the first project I had done for my son in six months. It made me commit to doing more for him, and not just my daughter!
    To address the sewing issue, just use heat and bond like suggested in the tutorial and then using thread and a needle stitch around the perimeter with a running stitch, it would be super cute with floss for embroidery too.

    thanks so much!

    Oh, and to address the no kids comment, a friend just used this to transfer some fun things to an old shirt of hers to a new shirt, super cute!

  10. September 7, 2010 11:52 pm

    I love this idea! I have also heard of using the cloth from shirts to put on pillows. We used to do that in college with all the free campus shirts we got. I need to sew more…still trying to master sewing up holes in jeans and buttons. :)

  11. September 8, 2010 9:42 am

    That is such a creative idea! I’m totally going to try this. Wow! Thanks.

  12. September 8, 2010 8:07 pm

    That’s such a cool idea! But I don’t sew or own a sewing machine :-( I wonder if fabric glue would work well?

  13. September 16, 2010 7:09 am

    Ooh great idea! My MIL will take old team tees, camp, favorites, etc and make quits out fo them. My nephews loved them.

Trackbacks

  1. Wish I’d thought of that… (via One Ordinary Day) « Laura Barbosa's Heart of Art Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers