Skip to content

Pizza puffs

September 10, 2010

Pizza Puffs

I bookmarked this recipe when my friend, Monica, made these pizza puffs a while back, but somehow I kept forgetting to make them.  What a shame, too, cause they only take minutes to make and are totally yummy.  I made a batch as an after-school snack for my kids yesterday, and served them alongside this simple pizza sauce.  I can tell you, I ate several before they even got off the bus.  They’re hard to resist!  Kind of like chips, you know?  It’s hard to eat just one.

I used my tried and true King Arthur white whole wheat flour, so this is a pretty healthy snack.  Or lunch.  Or dinner even.  Just serve them alongside a crunchy salad and you’re all set.  And frankly, who doesn’t like food you can eat with your fingers?

{one year ago:  snickerdoodle cookie dough truffles}

Recipe:  Pizza Puffs

(slightly adapted from Lick the Bowl Good)

3/4 cup KA white whole wheat flour

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1 tablespoon Italian seasoning

pinch of kosher salt

pinch of red pepper flakes (optional)

3/4 cup nonfat milk, or whatever you have in the fridge

1 egg, lightly beaten

1 cup shredded mozzarella cheese

1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 cup cubed pepperoni (optional ~ I made half with pepperoni and half without.  Both were yummy.)

1/2 cup pizza sauce, try this easy homemade recipe or pick up a jar at the store

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees. Grease a 24-cup mini-muffin pan. In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, baking powder, Italian seasoning, salt and red pepper flakes.  Whisk in the milk and egg. Stir in the mozzarella, Parmesan and pepperoni; let stand for 10 minutes.

Stir the batter and divide among the mini-muffin cups. Bake until puffed and golden, 20 to 25 minutes.

Meanwhile, microwave the pizza sauce until warmed through. Serve the puffs with the pizza sauce for dipping.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. September 10, 2010 6:09 am

    I love this recipe and like you say, brilliant for an any time snack or meal. Yummy!
    :-) Mandy

  2. September 10, 2010 9:26 am

    My kids are going to flip over this one! Bookmarking it now!

  3. September 10, 2010 9:56 am

    Wow, those look absolutely delicious. Well done! I’m starving now!

  4. September 10, 2010 10:44 am

    I bookmarked this recipe too! Thanks for reminding me. Ill have to make these up pretty soon! They look great and I bet the kids enjoyed these!

  5. September 10, 2010 12:01 pm

    Its 9:00am and I’m now starving after reading your post. That’s two from you back-to-back that I have bookmarked. I can’t wait to try this one too.

  6. September 10, 2010 12:49 pm

    These look and sound strangely interesting. What a crazy concept to turn pizza into a muffin (sort of).

  7. September 10, 2010 1:20 pm

    Yum! I’ve seen these on Monica’s site too and they look amazing there and here. I’m going to HAVE to make them now!

  8. September 10, 2010 4:47 pm

    What a great recipe! Very interesting and delicious, who doesn’t love pizza?

  9. September 10, 2010 5:56 pm

    I am pretty sure this is going to be made in my kitchen in the very near future! Great to snack on while watching the football games! I know everyone in our house will be asking for more!

  10. September 10, 2010 6:54 pm

    those pizza puffs look irresistible! I would love to devour a plateful of those!

  11. September 11, 2010 12:11 am

    Great idea. Love these yummy savory bites, Michelle :).

  12. September 11, 2010 11:44 am

    Ooooh, these look really good. Definitely something kids would love. I will save this for when I have kids one day soon! ;)

  13. September 12, 2010 12:43 am

    Wow! I love these! The kids will love them too. My son will probably prefer dipping them in Ranch! lol Thanks!

  14. September 12, 2010 3:06 am

    I’m a little late getting to the pizza party, but I’m finally here!

    You make these look so good Michelle. Aren’t they addicting? I’m loving that close up- I feel like that bite is for me. I’m wishing anyway :-)

    Thanks for linking back to my blog- I appreciate it.

  15. September 13, 2010 2:09 am

    these look almost unbelievably appetizing. those specks of seasoning, the craters perfect for sauce-pooling, the pepperoni, the CHEESE. bravo.

  16. September 13, 2010 8:39 am

    These would be great to pack in the kid’s lunches for school. I can’t wait to try them out.

  17. September 13, 2010 11:52 am

    How do you think the white whole wheat flour affected the flavor and texture of the puffs? I’ll make these tonight for my family. Great looking snack. Thank you

  18. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 13, 2010 12:03 pm

    Astrid – I use the white whole wheat flour a lot and have never noticed that it alters anything in my baked goods. If you’re skeptical, you could certainly us all-purpose flour instead, or half white whole wheat and half all-purpose. Either way, these are a great snack. Hope you like them.
    ~ Michelle

  19. September 14, 2010 2:42 pm

    WOW – I would be dangerous around a batch of these. They look super delish!!!

  20. September 15, 2010 10:28 pm

    HA! Michelle I did the same thing. Had them bookmarked and haven’t gotten around to make them. I know my crew would love ‘em….I need to just make ‘em already.
    ~ingrid

  21. Grandy permalink
    September 16, 2010 10:23 am

    These look great! Remember Flaming Foliage is just around the corner :)

  22. September 21, 2010 7:13 pm

    The close-up of the interior with with pepperoni peeking out is making my mouth water! These look soooo good :)

  23. kiri permalink
    December 19, 2011 12:34 pm

    I am going to make these for a work potluck, they look perfect for a grab and go. They look so yummy, I am going to save some for my 2 year old and see if she will try them(they look perfect for her). Thank you so much for the recipe.

  24. Raquel permalink
    April 2, 2012 12:33 pm

    Do you feel these would freeze and reheat well?

  25. one ordinary day permalink
    April 4, 2012 9:40 am

    Raquel – I think the pizza puffs would freeze and reheat just fine. They are really like pizza muffins, and I’ve frozen and reheated muffins many times with success. I haven’t done the same with these pizza puffs, so I can’t give you a firm answer. If you try it with success, I’d love for you to let me know!
    ~ Michelle

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Favorites – 9/17/10 | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 856 other followers