Skip to content

Pumpkin cream cheese

September 12, 2010

Pumpkin Cream Cheese

I really don’t have much to say about this flavored cream cheese except that it’s delicious.  If you’re a fan of pumpkin pie, I think you’ll love it.  And let me say, I love pumpkin pie, so enjoying it for breakfast this weekend has been a total treat.  Feels like Thanksgiving, but without the sink full of dirty dishes and the turkey-induced nap!

{one year ago:  homemade chunky monkey ice cream with roasted bananas}

Recipe:  Pumpkin Cream Cheese

(from Better Homes & Garden)

8 oz. cream cheese, softened

1/2 c. canned pumpkin

1/4 c. granulated sugar

3/4 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Beat all ingredients in a medium mixing bowl with an electric mixer until smooth. Cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour or up to 24 hours. Makes 1-1/2 cups.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2010 12:02 pm

    goodness freaking gracious … i’m an idiot. huge fan of pumpkin everything, but never thought of making cream cheese. duh!

  2. September 12, 2010 12:31 pm

    Yum!!! I don’t tend to like cream cheese but I think I can get behind this one for sure!

  3. September 12, 2010 5:26 pm

    I’m trying to hold off until the 23rd before I have anything pumpkin. But after that day, it’s on!

  4. September 12, 2010 10:41 pm

    Oh… my… GOD. This looks so good. This time of year, I love anything pumpkin so this sounds perfect to me!!!

  5. Heather R. permalink
    September 12, 2010 11:52 pm

    This looks so good but sadly canned pumpkin is nowhere to be found in my city. It seems there’s a shortage due to a poor harvest last year :-(

  6. September 13, 2010 8:24 am

    I was just thinking yesterday that it is just about time to start thinking about baking a pumpkin pie, but of course I was wrestling with whether or not to wait until October. But pumpkin cream cheese? Now this is something that sounds delicious all year round! Great recipe!

  7. September 13, 2010 11:27 am

    This is seriously making my mouth water. I could eat pumpkin anything all day long. I just might have to make this, and then maybe sprinkle some pecans on top. Yumm!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 13, 2010 12:06 pm

    Heather – Oh no! So sorry to hear you don’t have canned pumpkin readily available. You could certainly make your own if you had the time and inclination, though I’ve never seemed to have either. : ) Here’s a link from PW Cooks where she makes homemade pumpkin puree – http://tinyurl.com/6oc5jb. Hope it helps.
    ~ Michelle

  9. littletulip permalink
    September 13, 2010 12:11 pm

    I am SO glad you posted this! Normally I would just go to a bagel place to get my pumpkin cream cheese fix but I would love to try making my own and be able to eat it for days!!

  10. September 13, 2010 12:45 pm

    The thing I LOVE about your site (other than YOU) is that you always post things I would love to make for the kids. Almost every recipe, I think, “Yep. I would make that.” And sometimes I do!

  11. September 13, 2010 1:17 pm

    Sweet cream cheese spreads MAKE the bagel in my opinion. This looks yummy and perfect for fall.

  12. September 14, 2010 2:10 am

    this reminds me of a dip i had at a party last fall–pumpkin and cream cheese and spices, with ginger snaps as dippers. awesome. :)

  13. September 14, 2010 9:21 am

    Heavenly, simply heavenly.

  14. September 14, 2010 11:53 am

    Seriously?! You are killing me, Michelle, I love this and I have one can of pumpkin and 10 recipes I want to make, now add this one and I’m at 11. The pumpkin shortage has left my local grocer empty of anymore.

  15. September 14, 2010 12:01 pm

    Umm…YUM! I’m wishing more and more every day that fall would COME ALREADY!

  16. September 14, 2010 2:38 pm

    I would have never thought to combine these flavors but this is an excellent idea. Those bagels look super delish!

  17. September 14, 2010 5:45 pm

    Sounds delicious.:)

  18. September 14, 2010 8:09 pm

    This looks wonderful and luckily I lthink I bought the last can of pumpkin in the world. A 6 lb can found on the shelf of a small independant grocery store in Michigan! Nothing to be found in Ohio or Indiana.

  19. September 15, 2010 10:30 pm

    This is very good stuff. I’ve made it before but it’s been a while.
    ~ingrid

  20. September 16, 2010 7:11 am

    It is time for Fall foods! Yum, pumpkin pie on a bagel. I will have to make up a batch for my kiddies, they will love it! Those pizza bites look delish too. You cook up some of the best recipes, your family is so blessed!

Trackbacks

  1. Friday Favorites – 9/17/10 | KateOhKatie blogs

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers