Skip to content

Humor me while I rant a little, okay?

September 13, 2010

Okay, folks, I really feel the need to rant.  I know I haven’t talked much about trying to be greener in a while, but it’s still an on-going project for me.   I’m conscious of the carbon footprint my family’s making on the world, and I try to keep it at a minimum.

So that being said, I was very pleased to find a dog leash made of recycled bike tires for Ruby.  Jim occasionally walks her after it gets dark, and I wanted them to have something reflective to keep them safe.  Well, Jim didn’t want to don a reflective vest, so I was happy that this particular leash had a big reflective strip sewn right on.

Not only did it suit our needs, but it was a very cool upcycled item too.  I was feeling really good about the whole thing until the leash arrived in the mail.  The amount of packaging that went into shipping this thing to us was ridiculous.  It totally cancelled out any good we did by buying the recycled leash in the first place.  It could easily and efficiently been sent to us in an envelope, since it fits in the palm of my hand.  Do you see this packaging?  A box, twice the size of the leash, packed inside a bigger box, then filled with air-filled plastic tubes.  Are you kidding?  I guess I should be happy that their “products protect my product.”  Look closer – each plastic tube tells me so.  Pa-lease.  I’m pretty sure this rubber leash didn’t require protecting.  Amazon.com, you’re disappointing me.  Grr.

23 Comments leave one →
  1. September 13, 2010 9:36 pm

    Unfortunately, this is what many online sellers do with merchandise purchased from other companies: pack the original box in their own box. An office I worked in once received an electronics part packed in three separate boxes. So stupid.

  2. September 14, 2010 12:01 am

    Here’s the upside to this…

    It’s air filled baggies that you can reuse, not styrofoam. You can let the air out, and recycle the plastic of you want.

    And you can reuse the box for many other things.

    Yeah, they could have cut back on the packaging, but they’re protecting themselves. Had they sent the smaller box in the mail as is and the package was (Heaven forbid!!!) mangled or crushed, people would complain.

    I do agree though, that a padded envelope would work quite well. I think you should send them an email and let them know how you feel. They can’t fix things if they don’t know what to change.

    PS. Was the package I sent you adequately packed? ha ha!

  3. September 14, 2010 3:14 am

    I am so pleased that you did this post – good for you!
    I hope that you also get hold of Amazon.com so they can (hopefully) correct the error of their ways moving forward with all their packaging!
    :-) Mandy

  4. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 14, 2010 7:37 am

    Monica – You are right about reusing the products, but that’s secondary to not using them in the first place, ya know? And yes, your package was very perfectly packed. : )
    ~ Michelle

  5. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 14, 2010 7:54 am

    I did fill out the online survey at amazon.com about how the item was packaged. I’m pleased that they offer that option to customers, and even have a feature to attach a photo of your package. I hope they seriously consider and use that information to continue to make changes in their shipping.
    ~ Michelle

  6. September 14, 2010 8:29 am

    This happens all the time to me! And then I can’t bare to throw out the box, so I have a whole closet full. Guess I need to hit the recycling bin.

    And pumpkin cream cheese? You’re killing me!

  7. September 14, 2010 9:26 am

    Ughhhh! I hate when companies do this. Amazon is definitely guilty, but in my experience, buy.com is even worse. Thanks for doing your part to try to make a difference! :)

  8. Bea permalink
    September 14, 2010 11:05 am

    Maybe Amazon could have a box to check if you want minimal packaging. That would solve their problem of wanting to look effecient while still satisfying the consumer with less packaging.

  9. September 14, 2010 11:50 am

    That is crazy! I love your post about the madness of this.

  10. September 14, 2010 2:32 pm

    WOW – that’s crazy. I reminds me of the people who get diet coke at McDonalds.

  11. September 14, 2010 3:23 pm

    Ugh I hate this too! I mean I could probably avoid it by not buying things online but one time I got a huge box that looked like it contained a computer but turned out to be a tiny box inside 2 others with packing foam inside each.

  12. September 14, 2010 6:06 pm

    Oh that stinks! That’s pretty ridiculous!

  13. September 14, 2010 10:43 pm

    Feeling your pain.
    Rant all you want! It’s your blog!

  14. September 14, 2010 11:19 pm

    That dog of yours is so dang cute! I totally agree why would a recycled dog leash need any kind of packaging that is used for things that are breakable, crazy1

  15. September 15, 2010 1:53 am

    Oh wow. That really sucks! I hate when companies send things with excessive packaging. How ridiculous.

  16. September 15, 2010 11:54 am

    You know I am very much like you in my desire to reduce my carbon footprint. Just wait until I become a mom, I am going to try cloth diapers, and anything else “green” that I can. ;) But that is definitely frustrating; have you said anything to Amazon? I still give you mad props for trying!

  17. September 15, 2010 10:36 pm

    Well, they used my packaging for your leash. I ordered a camera lens and it was not properly packaged all. It only had one of the air bubble things and it didn’t have any air in it….must have had a leak cause it was deflated and the actually box the lens came in was damaged slightly in the corner!

    With regards to your packaging that was overkill. I agree 100% with Monica but then again you know how she’s bossy and will get on me otherwise. :)

    Ruby’s growing!
    ~ingrid

  18. September 15, 2010 10:53 pm

    Your rant was very well received over here. I agree with your points. Whenever I think of that giant waste heap in the Pacific ocean I cringe…big time. Hope the leash works out after all :)

  19. September 16, 2010 7:49 pm

    I agree. I used to do a part-time job in a shoe department, and the amount of packaging for the shoes drove me nuts! All that plastic and paper and cardboard… And, of course, the store doesn’t recyle any of it! Grrrrr.

  20. Jodie permalink
    September 18, 2010 10:35 pm

    Ok…I just have to say I couldn’t concentrate on what you wrote because I was too busy looking at Ruby! What a sweetheart!!!! What breed is she? I just love, love, LOVE that look in her eyes!

    Anyway,after pulling myself together (LOL) and reading your post, I agree. I’ve had several packages arrive that way, and you wonder what the person packing the box was thinking.

    Have a good day!

    P.S. I have a great dog biscuit recipe that I make for everyone’s dogs. (Sadly, mine past away 5 years ago…) They all seem to love them if you’d like to bake some for Ruby, let me know and I’ll give you the recipe….(they’re soft ones).
    Jodie

  21. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 19, 2010 7:01 am

    Jodie – LOL Love your comment! Ruby is definitely part lab and the vet thinks there’s some German Shepard mixed in there too, because of her facial markings. She’s from a rescue and we were only told she was a lab mix. She’s pretty sweet and I’d love it if you shared your dog biscuit recipe. My son made her some puppy popsicles earlier in the summer and I actually posted the recipe. : ) Hope to hear from you!
    ~Michelle

  22. Jodie permalink
    September 20, 2010 9:20 pm

    Hi Michelle,
    Here is that recipe for the bisquits for Ruby! :) (I hope she likes them!)

    “Peanut Butter Buddies”

    1 cup of peanut butter (I use Jif)
    1 cup of milk
    2 cups of whole wheat flour
    1 Tablespoon baking powder
    1/2 cup of applesauce
    (I use the motts little applesauce cups, they equal a 1/2 cup. This was my addition to the recipe, I think it’s what makes them soft. I asked the vet about using it and he said it’s fine, and that it’s good for them.)

    Preheat oven to 375. Mix peanut butter, milk, and applesauce together. In another bowl, mix flour and baking powder together, and then add this to the peanut butter/milk/applesauce mixture, and combine. Knead the mixture on a lightly floured surface until a soft dough forms. Roll out dough to a 1/4 inch to a 1/2 inch thick. cut with cute cookie cutters- like a dog biscuit shape, a cat shape, or a dog shape. Grease cookie sheet. (I never do this, I use parchment paper, also the bottoms don’t burn when using parchment paper.) Bake for 20 minutes. (I found mine burned when I baked them for 20 minutes. Maybe try 12-15 minutes. Smaller shapes only take about 10 minutes.) You might have to play with the time until you find what works…keep watching for doneness without burning. Cool on a wire rack and store in a tightly covered container. They should be eatten within 5-7 days.

    I type up a tag in a dog font(CK good dog) that says:

    Doggie Peanut
    Butter Buddies

    INGREDIENTS: Peanut Butter, Whole Wheat Flour,
    Baking Powder, Milk, Applesauce, & LOTS of Love!

    I then put them in cellophane bags and tie the tag around it with a ribbon and give them as gifts.

    I tried to find your son’s popsicle recipe, but couldn’t. Is it still on your site?

    You’ll have to let me know if Ruby likes them! (you’ll have to post a picture or two every now and then of her…I’m sure I’m not the only person who’s day it would brighten! :)
    Take care, Jodie

  23. September 23, 2010 8:37 am

    this is almost ridiculous! of course you could find a purpose for the big box, but do you need it? no. i hate it when i get junk send to my house. same goes with “free”magazines, juts a bunch of ads, that goe straight into the waste bin.
    also, recently some online shop for shoes had this *great* marketing idea to send out EMPTY boxes, with a note inside “missing a pair of shoes?” or sth. like that. i mean -HELLO? sending out empty boxes is in now way good advertisment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers