Skip to content

Nutella fudge brownies

September 20, 2010

Nutella Fudge Brownies

I was so excited to win a copy of Desserts 4 Today a few weeks ago.  I first saw Abby Dodge’s cookbook at Savory Sweet Life and thought it was brilliant.  The concept of the book is to make delicious desserts with only 4 ingredients.  And these desserts are seriously good.  I love Alice’s blog, and if she was giving this book a thumbs-up, then I wanted in on it.  Lucky me, she hosted a giveaway and I won my own copy!  Woop!

What can I tell you about these Nutella Fudge Brownies?  Well, for starters, make a double batch.  I could very easily have eaten the first 12 all by myself.  It’s like having a tiny chocolate lava cake – rich and gooey and just for you.  If you’ve never baked anything with Nutella, these brownies are the perfect place to start.  They were literally ready to eat in under 15 minutes, and they taste amazing.

I decided not to add the chopped hazelnuts, because a.) I didn’t have any, and b.) my kids wouldn’t have eaten the brownies.  Instead, I added a little cinnamon (as suggested in the “Switch-In” section of the recipe), and got a great boost in flavor from it.  Saying these brownies are good, just doesn’t do them justice.  You’ve got to try them.

{one year ago:  pineapple upside down cake}

Recipe:  Nutella Fudge Brownies

(from Desserts 4 Today by Abigail Dodge)

1/2 c. Nutella spread

1 large egg

5 Tbsp. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp. cinnamon  (substituted for 1/4 c. chopped hazelnuts)

Heat the oven to 350 degrees and line a mini muffin tin with 12 paper liners.

Whisk the Nutella and egg in a bowl until smooth and well blended.  Add the flour and cinnamon and whisk until blended.  Spoon batter equally into 12 mini muffin liners, filling about 3/4 full.  (If using chopped hazelnuts, sprinkle them on top now.)

Bake 11-12 minutes.  Cool on wire rack.  Serve immediately or store at room temperature for up to 3 days.

32 Comments leave one →
  1. September 20, 2010 11:45 am

    You had me at Nutella. This is being fast tracked to the top of my to-make list.

  2. September 20, 2010 1:48 pm

    Well these just sound like the easiest dessert ever! :)

  3. September 20, 2010 3:56 pm

    Whoa, this is a very cool recipe- ONLY 4 ingredients, yum and I do have some nutella in my pantry now. I will have to make these when I am home alone and need a small treat. I may share. I will have to look at your book suggestions, I am always up for a new read. I really enjoyed Cutting for Stone, what a wonderful writer. It almost sounded like a true story, it seemed so real.

  4. September 20, 2010 5:18 pm

    I’m adding Nutella to my shopping list for next week so I can make these. They look awesome!

  5. September 20, 2010 6:40 pm

    I’m a chocolate addict and could eat Nutella by the jar lol. They’d be the perfect after-school snacks for the kids!

  6. September 20, 2010 7:30 pm

    Congrats on the win! And I can’t think of a better brownie flavor. I like that you baked them in liners…cuuute.

  7. September 20, 2010 10:22 pm

    can’t wait to try these – it’s definitely baking season!

  8. September 21, 2010 2:47 am

    I just finished my jar of Nutella- dang! I can’t believe there’s only 4 ingredients. I’m going to have to make these. I like that you added cinnamon too- yum!

  9. September 21, 2010 3:31 pm

    Came this close (thumb and index finger held an inch apart) to buying a 55 gallon drum of Nutella at the commissary case lot sale last weekend. Shoulda!

  10. September 21, 2010 9:41 pm

    oh I’m so on a Nutella kick lately I have got to make these they look too easy!

  11. September 22, 2010 8:58 am

    I recently heard about this book & I think it is genius. I love the idea of simple & very tasty baked goods. These Nutella fudge brownies sound & look awesome-dig that you made them in the muffin cups :)

  12. September 22, 2010 11:17 am

    Yum–these sound amazing. And I love the idea of making them in tiny muffin cups.

  13. September 22, 2010 7:31 pm

    Yummy!! I spent a good part of my childhood in Germany, so I grew up on Nutella. It is such a comfort food for me. I will definitely be trying these.

    And hello? I totally need that book now.

    Thanks!! :)

  14. September 23, 2010 6:22 pm

    Woah! That’s crazy!!! You can make those delicious looking brownies with just 4 ingredients??? Awesome! I’m SO doing this!

  15. September 23, 2010 7:00 pm

    What?! Oh. My. Sweet. Yumminess!!

  16. September 26, 2010 11:22 am

    DOes the cookbook have any non chocolaty desserts? I think the only recipes I’ve seen from it have been this one and another chocolate one. I’m intrigued by the use of four ingredients but at the same time I need more than chocolate. :)

    On another note, I have to bake something chocolaty for someone. If I make this tonight will they still be just as good tomorrow when I deliver them? Lemme know!
    ~ingrid

  17. September 26, 2010 11:24 am

    Okay, I read where the recipe said it was good for up to three days but in your opinion is that true?
    ~ingrid

  18. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 26, 2010 11:27 am

    I did manage to keep a couple for the kids’ lunches the next day and they were still awesome and had the melt-in-your-mouth texture. Definitely best warm though.

  19. oneordinaryday permalink
    September 26, 2010 11:27 am

    Oh, and yes, there are more than chocolate recipes, but you know those are the ones that jump out at me. : )

  20. September 26, 2010 10:56 pm

    Got it! Thanks!
    ~ingrid

  21. September 27, 2010 5:00 pm

    Nutella = <3
    Lava cake = <3 <3
    Nutella lava cake = <3 <3 <3

    That is all.

  22. October 4, 2010 10:16 am

    this is the third time i’ve seen these easy-peasy little gems. i now have no choice but to test them myself.

  23. January 5, 2011 3:23 pm

    Nutella….need you say more? Thanks for the recipe! I’m definitely going to have to try these!

  24. January 5, 2011 9:29 pm

    p.s. I’m so excited about this recipe, I’m posting it on facebook.

  25. January 6, 2011 4:35 pm

    Okay, so I hadn’t seen these until Aubrey just posted them on our facebook, and I just happen to know how much the girl loves nutella! She taught me how to dip my banana nut muffins into them!

    These look awesome!

  26. Dani permalink
    January 16, 2011 2:54 pm

    Shane has been bugging me all weekend to bake something. When I got up this morning there was a list of items that he saw on the Food Network that he felt we should “whip” up today. I figured we would choose something that would be quick and easy so we looked up “One Ordinary Day” and found the perfect item.
    He was so happy to finally be in the kitchen.
    Thanks!!

  27. May 18, 2011 8:46 am

    I love Nutella!!! I usually make a sandwich with Peter Pan Honey Roasted Peanut Butter and Nutella. I prefer wheat bread but I’ll bet any bread will taste good with it. I sometimes just dip my spoon in each one and eat it off the spoon!!!! For a long time I could not find Nutella here in the small town where I live. I had lived in a large city for a long time and moved back to my home town. I really missed my Nutella snacks. Now it is available regularly here. Thanks for the great recipes. I saw you on television is how I found you and I’m delighted. God Bless!!

Trackbacks

  1. Nutella One-Bite Brownies « Try It You Might Like It
  2. Happy World Nutella Day 2011! | Sharky Oven Gloves
  3. Desserts 4 Today: Flavorful Desserts with Just Four Ingredients | Cooks&Books&Recipes
  4. nutella fudge brownies | Sweet Dreaming
  5. N is for Nutella | Sharky Oven Gloves

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers