Skip to content

Breakfast pizza

September 23, 2010

Breakfast Pizza

Making this has been on my to-do list for ages.  I got really into making pizzas on pita bread for a while there, but somehow never managed to get a breakfast pizza on my plate.  And really, doesn’t it make perfect sense to have pizza for breakfast?  Especially when you top it with an egg.  It’s good for you and frankly, it just looks cool, doesn’t it?

This isn’t so much a recipe as a guide.  You can substitute your veggies, your cheese, and even your breakfast meat to suit what you have in the fridge.  For that matter, if you prefer your breakfast pizza to be made with real pizza dough instead of a pita pocket, go for it.  Wouldn’t it be fun to have a breakfast pizza bar and just provide all the toppings and let your family members make their own?  That’s actually why I love pita pizzas so much in the first place.  All four of us can make our pizza the way we like it best.  You just can’t go wrong with that idea.

{one year ago:  mocha chocolate chip cookies}

Recipe:  Breakfast Pizza

(inspired by The Perfect Pantry)

(makes one single serving pizza ~ add to the ingredients as needed)

1 link of mild or spicy Italian sausage or 2 slices of bacon

1 whole wheat pita pocket

grated Parmesan cheese

shredded cheese  (I used mozzarella and a Mexican blend ~ a little bit of each.)

1/4 c. broccoli or other vegetable, chopped into small pieces

pinch of fresh or dried herb, such as thyme, parsley, basil, or oregano

pepper, to taste

1 large egg

Preheat oven to 425°F.

In a skillet over medium-high heat, cook sausage (without its casing) until lightly browned.  Break meat up with a wooden spoon.  Remove cooked meat and drain on a paper towel.  (Do the same if using bacon instead.)

Place the pita bread on a baking sheet. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese, sausage, chopped vegetable, and herb.  Cook 5 minutes.  Remove pizza from oven and add shredded cheeses.  Carefully crack the egg into the center of the pizza.  Sprinkle with fresh ground pepper.  Return to oven for 10 more minutes, or until the egg white is set, but the yolk is still runny.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. September 23, 2010 8:09 am

    I forgot about this! I haven’t made before but was inspired to make it sometime. I love that you used the pitas, individual pizzas are totally the way to go!

  2. September 23, 2010 8:33 am

    I love this idea! That picture is impressive–it’s hard to make an egg look appetizing!

  3. September 23, 2010 9:00 am

    I love non-recipe guides. Much easier for my ADHD brain to handle!

  4. September 23, 2010 9:03 am

    What a yummy fun breakfast idea.
    :-) Mandy

  5. September 23, 2010 11:18 am

    I love this idea. It totally makes sense. And while I don’t generally like eggs, I do like them on pizza. Makes no sense, but it’s true. Yours looks perfect!

  6. September 23, 2010 12:51 pm

    pizza for breakfast? I’m sold. I have never had eggs on pizza, but I want to try now! :)

  7. September 23, 2010 9:04 pm

    What a great idea! I love the egg on top. Looks good!

  8. September 24, 2010 11:29 am

    This is my favorite kind of pizza! I made it for some friends a couple of years ago and they all thought I was crazy for putting an egg on top of a pizza! I’m glad I’m not the only “crazy” one! ;)

  9. September 24, 2010 11:57 am

    This looks gorgeous, not to mention super yummy!! Will you come over and cook me breakfast? Please?

  10. September 24, 2010 1:24 pm

    I love the pita pizza idea, never even thought to shortcut the crust that way! Filing that one to be used.

    As for you breakfast pizza love it. Breakfast next to dessert is my favorite. This is the perfect way to have pizza for breakfast.

  11. September 24, 2010 5:35 pm

    What a great – and great looking! – idea! Beautiful pictures!

  12. September 24, 2010 5:56 pm

    I really could enjoy a softly cooked oozy egg on just about anything. Cracked on top of a gooey cheese pizza sounds amazing!

  13. September 25, 2010 11:42 pm

    Mmm love this idea. The egg on the pizza is so cute, too.

  14. September 26, 2010 11:15 am

    While I don’t like fried eggs my kiddos do and I’m betting they’d get a kick out of this.

    One of the things I love about pizza is not only it’s ability to take on various toppings but the fact that you can essentially make any “bottom” into a pizza. My guys love tortilla pizzas. The tortillas get nice and crispy and as you said, everyone gets to make their own.
    ~ingrid

  15. September 27, 2010 9:45 am

    So my guy would love that. like, love.

  16. September 27, 2010 11:57 pm

    A breakfast pizza bar? Count me in! let me know whwn to come over Saturday morning :-)

  17. September 28, 2010 2:52 pm

    Gorgeous pics! I just want to break through the screen and rip a bit of the crust off and dip it into the egg yolk.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers