Skip to content

Pumpkin crunch cake

October 10, 2010

Pumpkin Crunch Cake

We had a big family get-together over the weekend, and I’m happy to say that this humble cake got more rave reviews than any of the food there.  In fact, there were some threats made when several different people mentioned hiding some for later or going back for thirds.  It was really amusing, but maybe you just have to know my family to appreciate the heated arguments and the promises of bodily harm.  Ha!  I loved it.

I didn’t have the recipe with me, but I promised to post it so the ones I hold dear could make it on their own and not have to share with anybody.  {Matt?  Bea?  Aunt Linda?  This is for you, just cause I love ya.  But, Matt, don’t go taking that the wrong way or anything.  Again.}

{one year ago:  Ina’s pan-fried onion dip – this came a close 2nd to the pumpkin cake!}

Recipe:  Pumpkin Crunch Cake

2 c. pumpkin puree

12 oz. evaporated milk

4 eggs

1 1/2 c. granulated sugar

2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. salt

1 box yellow cake mix

1 c. chopped pecans or walnuts

1 c. butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and coat a 13×9″ baking pan with cooking spray.  Combine first 6 ingredients in a large bowl.  Whisk or mix well and pour into prepared pan.  Sprinkle dry cake mix evenly over the top of batter.  Sprinkle the chopped nuts on top.  Drizzle with melted butter.  Bake for 1 hour.  Cool completely on a wire rack.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2010 9:41 am

    Looks like one yummy cake! I love when treats are a hit at family gatherings!

  2. October 11, 2010 9:43 am

    What a winner of a recipe! Would normal cake mix do? I don’t get yellow cake mix here.
    :-) Mandy

  3. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 11, 2010 10:54 am

    Mandy – I think it would still work just great for you. You’re smothering the dry mix in nuts and butter, so you’re getting all that flavor no matter what mix you use. You just won’t have the artificial color that comes with a yellow cake mix, and I don’t necessarily think that’s a bad thing. Here’s a site to check out to find out what’s in a boxed cake mix, if you’re curious – http://tinyurl.com/23s6u8s
    ~ Michelle

  4. October 11, 2010 12:30 pm

    From the looks of it and the recipe, I would have to say if I were there place me in the camp of hiding some for later.

    I love pumpkin anything and this sounds awesome!

  5. Danielle permalink
    October 11, 2010 1:07 pm

    I have to agree that it was completely amazing. When you refuse to take it outside for the entire family to enjoy, you know you have a great recipe!!!

    LOVE IT!!

  6. October 11, 2010 10:46 pm

    Thanks so much Michelle – normal cake mix here I come! Thanks also for the link.
    :-) Mandy

  7. October 12, 2010 8:15 am

    This sounds so good to me, no wonder it was a hit at the party. Nothing humble about it at all, it is a star!

  8. October 12, 2010 9:02 am

    I love pumpkin bread/cake in all forms. The crunch part of this one sounds fabulous.

  9. Bea permalink
    October 12, 2010 10:37 am

    I was ready to wrestle Matt for the last piece of this. I don’t know who was lucky enough to get the last one in the dish but I’ll bet you there were two or three more pieces hiding in the cupboards. It was wonderful. Thanks, Shell.

  10. October 12, 2010 11:36 am

    These look very good, I love that they have nuts in them too.

  11. October 12, 2010 12:35 pm

    mmmmm sounds delish!

  12. October 12, 2010 2:31 pm

    Been there. Ate that. Good.

  13. October 12, 2010 4:51 pm

    Oh I love pumpkin! This looks so good! Thanks for sharing with the rest of us too!

  14. October 13, 2010 10:18 am

    this time of the year, if every meal i ate had either pumpkin, apples, or chili in it, i’d be just fine.

    cheers!

  15. October 13, 2010 1:02 pm

    I like pumpkin anything, and cake anything, so this is a double winner. :)

  16. October 13, 2010 6:51 pm

    I’ve had pumpkin muffins and pumpkin bread, but never pumpkin cake! I will have to try this, it looks delicious! :)

  17. October 14, 2010 1:36 am

    This is one of my favorite ways to eat pumpkin!

  18. October 14, 2010 4:27 pm

    Sounds like my family… Haha… But it definitely looks worth the trouble!

  19. October 15, 2010 11:20 am

    As I am sure you have noticed, I am all about the pumpkin stuff right now, so I will have to add this to my list of stuff to make this fall. Maybe I could impress my family at Thanksgiving? ;) Great recipe!

  20. October 16, 2010 11:46 am

    Yum! I made something similar last year but used a spice cake mix. I remember it being good but not THAT good! :) This year I’m gonna try your recipe. That many people fighting over it says a lot! Thanks!
    ~ingrid

  21. October 19, 2010 9:39 am

    My mouth is watering. It looks and sounds delicious!

  22. October 29, 2010 4:42 pm

    Anything pumpkin is a winner in my book. And this beauty is no exception :)

  23. Grandy permalink
    November 7, 2010 10:29 am

    I didn’t get a chance to hide any but i’d bet poppy did :)

Trackbacks

  1. Pumpkin Bread

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers