Skip to content

Banana espresso chocolate chip bread

October 20, 2010

Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Bread

So far, I’ve liked every recipe I’ve tasted from the Baked cookbook, and this is no exception.  Though originally muffins, I was looking for something that traveled better, and decided to turn it into a loaf of bread sprinkled with coarse sugar.  This loaf made the trip to my parents’ house last week.  The flavor combinations here make for a nice breakfast treat, and any excuse to eat chocolate for breakfast is okay by me.

{one year ago:  cinnamon pecan coffee cake}

Recipe:  Banana Espresso Chocolate Chip Muffins*

(from Baked: New Frontiers in Baking)

1 1/2 cups mashed ripe bananas (about 4 medium)
1/2 cups sugar
1/4 cups packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cups whole milk
1 large egg
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon instant espresso
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (6 ounces) semi sweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Spray a 12 cup pan muffin with non-stick cooking spray. In a medium bowl stir together the bananas, sugars, butter, milk, and egg. Set aside.

In another medium bowl whisk together the flour, espresso, baking soda, and salt together. Make a well in the center of the flour bowl. Pour the wet ingredients into the well and stir until just combined. Fold in the chocolate.
Divide the batter among the muffin pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool the muffins in the pan for 15 minutes before removing. Then finishing cooling on a wire rack. Muffins can be kept in an airtight container for 2 days.

*(You’ll need to adjust the baking time if you choose to go my route and turn this into a quick bread.)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2010 9:10 am

    Oh, this looks delightful. I love that I can consume a breakfast item with both caffeine AND chocolate! Bonus!

  2. October 20, 2010 9:10 am

    Oh my goodness! This looks SO GOOD!!!!! I only wish my hubby like bananas! I think i just might have to make it anyways though! Then share it with a neighbor or something so i dont eat the whole pan! How can i not resist? Its expresso, chocolate and bananas? Can you think of any better combination than that? I think not!
    Thank you for posting! I will let your know how it turns out! :)

  3. October 20, 2010 1:01 pm

    I love chocolate chip banana bread. I have been making it for many years and also pumpkin with chocolate chips. They are both great with whipped cream. Your loaf looks so yummy!

  4. October 20, 2010 2:40 pm

    Oh my. I would like a slice of this right now! Too bad I am banana-less.

  5. October 21, 2010 8:09 am

    It’s official. I can no longer visit your blog. Sorry. *SHEESH*

    Seriously, you make it all look soooo good.

    Also loving all these videos, the tolerance one gave me a tear.

    You inspire in many ways my dear, not just the food.

  6. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 21, 2010 8:31 am

    Destri – Oh, thank you! What a great comment to read this morning. It was a rough one around here, so I can’t even express how much it meant to me. : ) But I have to tell you that you’re all that and a bag of chips in the inspiration dept. Your posts at Mother Huddle are always awesome!
    ~ Michelle

  7. October 21, 2010 11:41 am

    Michelle this looks amazing! I just ate and I wish I had a slice of this right now instead!

  8. October 21, 2010 1:02 pm

    That looks yummy! I’m always looking for new cookbooks to buy. I guess I’ll have to check that one out!

  9. vickeroo permalink
    October 21, 2010 10:01 pm

    Since the PB cookies and fudge brownies were such a hit, I can’t help but attempt this one too! You make all your recipes look scrumptious. Any rough estimate of how long to bake it in the oven for if I’m going the bread route?

  10. October 21, 2010 10:48 pm

    awesome awesome sounds so yum
    Just because I haven’t been commenting doesn’t mean I haven’t been reading
    The time is just whooshing by me these days

  11. grace permalink
    October 22, 2010 1:19 am

    there’s something really fantastic about banana, coffee, and chocolate in combination. this sounds like a great loaf!

  12. October 22, 2010 2:38 am

    I’m always looking for an excuse to add espresso to things and chocolate for breakfast doesn’t get much better.

  13. October 22, 2010 12:25 pm

    Looks good Michelle and you know how I love me some bananas! I would though have to go a different route with the chips. :)

    Happy Friday!
    ~ingrid

  14. October 22, 2010 1:09 pm

    I like The Kitch Witch’s comment and I agree… caffeine and breakfast in one stop! Perfection! This looks fantastic!

  15. October 22, 2010 1:13 pm

    Mm I’ve heard spectacular things about this book and with this recipe I can see why. Give me coffee, banana, and chocolate separately and I love them. Together, the goodness is exponentially greater!

  16. October 22, 2010 5:14 pm

    I second that- chocolate for breakfast, I’ll take it. This looks delicious, Michelle!

  17. October 22, 2010 11:34 pm

    This bread/cake looks great. The Baked book looks amazing, thanks for sharing this recipe with us. Wish I had some as a bedtime snack right about now :)

  18. October 29, 2010 4:41 pm

    Banana, espresso and chocolate….this is a homerun!!!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 855 other followers