Skip to content

Roasted pepitas and Pueblo pumpkin bread

October 27, 2010

Roasted Pepitas

Sam had a tasting party at school, as part of a Social Studies unit on Native American tribes.  His group was charged with learning about Southwest tribes, so we googled around the internet for a couple days and finally decided to make some roasted pepitas and Pueblo pumpkin bread.  The kids definitely loved the bread, and those golden little pumpkin seeds have caused quite an addiction with me and Jim.  Holy cow, are they amazing.  And good for you too, which is a bonus.  Lots of proteins and minerals packed into a handful of these beauties.  Plus, they couldn’t be easier to make.

Pueblo Pumpkin Bread

The pumpkin bread is said to be a traditional Native American recipe, though I did alter it by adding chopped walnuts instead of using pinon (pine) nuts.  Truthfully, I had walnuts in the freezer, so I went with it.  The kids at school really enjoyed this, but it got the funniest reception from the secretaries.  See, this was during those few weeks when no one could find canned pumpkin around here, so the fact that I walked in with so much pumpkin bread caused quite a stir.  They were so funny about it and shared stories of hiding pumpkin in the backs of their pantries so no one would use it before they needed it.  They were tickled when I left a plate of bread with them that day, and I’m sure they are just two of many folks who are happy to see those Libby’s cans back on the grocery store shelves.

Our google research told us that this bread was typically made after tribe members would go out in gathering parties for berries or seeds.  It tasted great and could easily be served alongside a stew or as a dessert.  It tasted like any other moist pumpkin bread I’ve made, but it the history behind it made it even better.

{one year ago:  cinnamon cream cheese pound cake}

Recipe:  Roasted Pepitas

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.  Spread a single layer of raw pepitas onto sheet, then spray again with cooking spray.  Sprinkle with kosher salt.  Roast for about 7 minutes, then toss and turn pepitas and return them to the oven for another 7 or 8 minutes.  Pepitas will be golden brown.  Cool and store in an airtight container.

Recipe:  Pueblo Pumpkin Bread

(slightly adapted from North American Recipes)

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour
1 c. pureed pumpkin
3/4 c. brown sugar
1/2 c. melted butter
2 eggs, beaten until foamy
1 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. grated nutmeg
1/2 tsp. salt
3/4 c. pine nuts

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a mixing bowl, combine flour, salt, baking powder, sugar, and spices.  Stir in pumpkin, eggs, and butter.  Stir in walnuts.  Scrape batter into greased 6×9″ loaf pan.  Bake for 1 hour or until a knife inserted in the bread comes out clean.

 

15 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2010 2:50 pm

    I can see why everyone would be happy to have some of this! It looks beautiful!

  2. October 27, 2010 9:55 pm

    It’s so interesting to learn the stories surrounding the foods we eat. My daughter’s school doesn’t allow any outside food brought in so you are lucky that you are able to share that delicious looking bread.

  3. October 27, 2010 11:32 pm

    Your pumkin bread (cake) looks seriously moist and tender.

    I’d like some of those seeds. You jarring some up to send as Christmas gifts? :)
    ~ingrid

    Btw, are you finally feeling better? Hope so!

  4. October 27, 2010 11:42 pm

    Super sounding recipe.
    Pardon my ignorance but I often read about cans of pumpkin not being available. Do you not have fresh pumpkins available to cook? Here in Mauritius and back home in South Africa, we don’t get such “luxuries” as canned pumpkin :-( but do have pumpkins available all year around. Thanks.
    :-) Mandy

  5. October 28, 2010 11:52 am

    It really is fall, isn’t it? The bread looks great. And, I must make the pepitas. I am sure I could eat them by the handful!

  6. October 28, 2010 2:07 pm

    Love the history lesson that came with the post. I love the pumpkin seeds. They are so healthy and tasty!

  7. October 28, 2010 2:27 pm

    Yum! What an awesome project. I love to learn about different cultures and the types of foods they eat. Thanks for sharing! I’m glad they didn’t torture you for your pumpkin knowledge!

  8. October 28, 2010 5:15 pm

    Tasting parties? Wow. I wish I got to go to THAT school when I was a kid.

    Funny that the shelves clear out of pumpkin during the rest of the year. I guess it makes sense. No one ever ordered a single pumpkin dessert where I worked after Thanksgiving day. It’s a little disconcerting to eat pumpkin in May, but it’s too good not to!

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    October 29, 2010 9:01 am

    Mandy – The fact of the matter is that, yes, we do have fresh pumpkins we could cook, but we’re totally spoiled by having all the work done for us already. I’ve actually never cooked fresh pumpkin, but I have a friend who does make her own and freezes it. Canned pumpkin is simply one of those conveniences that we got used to, so when there was a shortage of it, it made the news.
    And on another topic all together, I looked up Mauritius to see where you’re from, and I am enchanted. Can I come visit? :)
    ~ Michelle

  10. October 29, 2010 4:39 pm

    I would happily devour an entire loaf of this beauty. It looks super delicious.

  11. October 30, 2010 1:35 am

    I also want canned pumpkin :-( I can understand why it would have made the news. Tell you what when you come visit will you please bring some cans with you?
    :-) Mandy

  12. October 30, 2010 1:41 am

    Probably the most unique pumpkin bread I’ve seen yet. And I have a bunch of pine nuts in the freezer, too. What luck :).

  13. October 30, 2010 2:53 am

    This reminds me of New Mexico, more specifically Santa Fe and Taos. love it!

  14. October 31, 2010 2:49 pm

    the pepitas are so key here–great addition!

Trackbacks

  1. Roasted pepitas and Pueblo pumpkin bread « One Ordinary Day | Indian Chef | Recipe Blog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 854 other followers