Skip to content

Apple brown betty ~ with only 4 ingredients!

November 7, 2010
tags: , ,

Apple Brown Betty

Here’s another 4 ingredient dessert!  I’m totally taken with the idea of being able to make so many delicious treats with only 4 ingredients.  The whole concept is perfect for me lately.  I’ve been busy, stressed, and generally not feeling the pull to bake anything, so knowing I can open this cookbook and stir something up with minimal fuss is pretty awesome.

I’m not usually a fan of baking with apples because I don’t like peeling and coring them, but I had some apples to use up and the other ingredients on hand, so we gave it a try.  I say “we,” because Jim got the peeling, coring, and slicing jobs.  I guess he figured it was his best chance of getting something warm and appley.  He was really wishing for some vanilla ice cream to top this dessert, but I didn’t hear any complaints about having to eat it sans a la mode.

{one year ago:  fluffernutter cupcakes}

Recipe:  Apple Brown Betty

(from Desserts 4 Today by Abigail Dodge)

4 large apples

3 English muffins, split   (I used whole wheat English muffins.)

3/4 c. cinnamon sugar*

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted

Heat the oven to 375 degrees and lightly grease an 8×8″ baking pan.  Peel, core, and cut apples into 1/2″ slices.

Tear the muffin halves into pieces and put in a food processor until they become fine crumbs.  Place the crumbs and the cinnamon sugar in a medium bowl and stir to blend.  Drizzle with melted butter and toss until well blended.

Put 1/3 of the breadcrumbs in the prepared pan and spread evenly.  Layer the apple slices on top.  Drizzle apple slices with 3 Tbsp. of water.  Scatter the remaining breadcrumbs over the apples.

Bake until crumbs are well-browned and the apples are tender, about 45 minutes.  If the crumbs begin to burn, cover loosely with foil.  Serve warm.

* To make your own cinnamon sugar, mix 3/4 c. granulated sugar with 2 Tbsp. ground cinnamon.

(Switch-ins include pears and peaches.  Pecans would make a nice add-in.)

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 7, 2010 6:05 pm

    I’ve had the song “Black Betty” stuck in my head for a few days now … Now I’m going to have a hankering for brown betty! Cheers!

  2. November 7, 2010 7:09 pm

    I thought I was the only one who uses bread for cookies & baked goods. The english muffin crumbs are a awesome idea to top this apple brown betty dessert.

  3. November 7, 2010 7:39 pm

    Sounds scrumptious! I have bags of peeled and frozen apples in the fridge and now I know what to make with them. Thanks for the inspiration!

  4. November 7, 2010 11:57 pm

    I’m in love with that book! It totally demystifies desserts like this one. It looks super delish.

  5. November 8, 2010 6:14 am

    Sounds great! And as always, a quick and easy recipe always entices me to try it.
    :-) Mandy

  6. November 8, 2010 7:31 am

    Love the idea of using whole wheat English muffins! Makes you feel a little less guilty,right?

  7. November 8, 2010 3:32 pm

    I LOVE stuff like this, that requires such few ingredients! Delicious! And your concept of the sugar cookie pizzas is pretty brilliant! I wouldn’t have thought of that! :)

  8. November 8, 2010 8:08 pm

    This looks sooo yummy! And I love how there’s only four ingredients!!

  9. November 8, 2010 8:42 pm

    That is awesome! And only 4 ingredients!!! You can’t beat it!

  10. November 9, 2010 8:56 am

    only 4? that is awesome! This looks so good. So many comforting dishes out this time of year. Oh boy!

  11. crustabakes permalink
    November 9, 2010 9:21 am

    oh. i love the clever torn muffin idea!

  12. November 9, 2010 1:16 pm

    I’m an apple lover baked or not. This looks fab! Im loving these four ingredient recipes!

  13. November 9, 2010 6:41 pm

    I’ve never tried apple brown betty but it has such a cute name. And this looks delicious!

  14. November 10, 2010 12:28 am

    Yum…I would love some NOW!!

  15. November 10, 2010 9:17 am

    I love the minimal ingredients. It always delights me every fall to remember how great cooked apple desserts taste. This one looks like a definite winner.

  16. November 10, 2010 10:28 am

    I just got Abby’s cookbook and can’t wait to try so many of the recipes! This looks delicious!

  17. November 11, 2010 9:38 am

    This sounds like absolute perfection. Your photos are gorgeous, too! My husband would be quite happy with a piece of this!

  18. November 14, 2010 4:28 pm

    I just saw that your post from a year ago was fluffernutter cupcakes. Aren’t those the ones that had you cursing across your kitchen in sheer delight? :-)

    4 ingredient recipes- they’ve all looked really good. Everytime you post one I say I’m going to check out that book and then I forget. I need to do it!

  19. November 14, 2010 10:59 pm

    Did ya like it? I mean really like it or do think the ingredient heavy recipe better? I’m really gonna have to make a point of checking out that book.
    ~ingrid

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers