Skip to content

Chickpea brownies

November 13, 2010

Chickpea Brownies

Yep, you read it correctly.  These brownies are made with chickpeas!  Crazy, isn’t it?  I saw the recipe and was curious enough to give it a try.  I’m glad I did, because none of the kids who were hanging around here yesterday realized they were getting anything but a typical brownie.  I love when I can sneak in the good stuff and no one is the wiser!  In fact, Sam’s exact words were, “Mom, why haven’t you ever made these before?”

While these brownies tasted just fine, I can’t exactly rave about them.  They were definitely chocolaty, but they were missing the chewy texture I crave in a brownie.  The kids liked them so much, though, that I’m pretty sure I’ll be making them again.

Recipe:  Chickpea Brownies

(adapted from recipe seen at More Than a Mountful)

1 stick unsalted butter

4 oz. unsweetened chocolate, cut into small chunks

1 15-oz. can of chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/2 c. honey

1/2 c. sugar

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

2 eggs

1 Tbsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 c. semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.  Line a 9×9″ baking pan with parchment paper and lightly mist with cooking spray.

In a glass bowl, melt butter with unsweetened chocolate pieces, in the microwave, for 1 minute.  Remove and stir.  If not completely melted, return to microwave and continue cooking at 10 second intervals until melted.

In a food processor, puree chickpeas, honey, sugar, cocoa powder, and salt until smooth.  (This may take a few minutes.  Be patient.)  Add the eggs and pulse until they are incorporated into the mixture.  Add the melted butter and chocolate and vanilla.  Pulse to combine.  Carefully stir in the semisweet chocolate chips with a wooden spoon, being careful of the blade.

Pour batter into prepared baking dish and bake for 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.  Let cool on wire rack, then place in the freezer for 15 minutes.  Remove brownies by lifting the parchment paper out of the pan and cut into squares.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2010 4:29 pm

    Wow I’ve heard of black bean brownies but for some reason chickpeas just seem more daring (maybe cause black beans are at least black?). Anyway, if your kids like them they must be pretty great.

  2. November 13, 2010 5:42 pm

    That’s pretty impressive if you can fool the kids with them. Were they more cakey rather than chewy?

  3. November 14, 2010 4:20 pm

    very interesting!

    I like a chewy brownie too and have yet to find a good recipe, do you have one?

  4. November 14, 2010 4:48 pm

    I’m starting to think that brownies can hide almost anything.

  5. November 14, 2010 5:55 pm

    Happened to see your comment and blog post title over at Kitch’s — what fun! I’ve done these before with black beans (got the recipe from this blog). May have to try chickpeas instead …

  6. November 14, 2010 10:18 pm

    Okay, yeah, wow, I am definitely going to have to try these. This will be wonderful to have on hand when I have kids of my own that I need to trick into eating healthy!

  7. November 14, 2010 10:49 pm

    HA! I love sneaky! Think you’ll tell them the next time or will be one of those secrets you don’t give up until they are out of the house? :)
    ~ingrid

  8. November 14, 2010 11:31 pm

    Can’t argue with the kids ;-)
    :-) Mandy

  9. November 15, 2010 11:36 am

    funny … i made whole wheat chocolate chip cookies for the neighbors kids and they didn’t exactly love them. tasted good, but didn’t have the texture they expected.

  10. November 15, 2010 11:44 am

    Wow–how interesting! They certainly look good!

  11. November 16, 2010 11:05 am

    I’m a huge chewy brownie fan, but out of sheer curiosity I’d love to try these and the black bean brownies that are floating around the blogosphere. They look delicious!

  12. November 17, 2010 4:53 am

    i’ve had and enjoyed black bean brownies, so i’d be curious to try these beauties as well. what’s next? kidney bean brownies? :)

  13. elise permalink
    January 1, 2011 3:28 pm

    Thanks for the great recipe. A friend with Chron’s Disease told me about a similar recipe, so I googled “chick pea brownies” and found yours. Excellent. They are not chewy, but almost fudgy. You could probably reduce the sugar and still have good results – I found them quite sweet. I made them in mini muffin tins for a child’s birthday party, and shortened the cooking time. It is astonishing that they don’t taste like chick peas at all!

  14. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 1, 2011 3:51 pm

    Elise – I’m so happy the recipe worked out for your party, and thanks so much for coming back to leave a comment!
    ~ Michelle

  15. Jaime permalink
    January 6, 2011 1:55 am

    These are great! I can’t find my square pan, so I used a glass pie dish. I also didn’t have baking chocolate or vanilla, so I used 5 extra tablespoons of cocoa and mixed it with melted butter, and used about a tsp of almond extract.. I also added a few tablespoons of peanut butter. Tastes like a dry(in a great way) fudgey brownie. Awesome, thank you!

  16. oneordinaryday permalink
    January 6, 2011 6:49 am

    Jaime – I’m impressed that you played with the recipe so much. I wish I did that more often. :) Glad the brownies worked out for you and thanks for leaving stopping back to tell me!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 856 other followers