Skip to content

Chocolate mint quick fudge

November 21, 2010

Chocolate Mint Quick Fudge

My Sam has been the biggest force my kitchen has seen in quite a while.  Whenever he’s home from school for any length of time, he wants to bake something.  The day he made this fudge, he’d noticed a bag of chocolate mint chips in the pantry and didn’t stop pestering me until I said he could use them.

I have to admit that it’s kind of nice that there are a few recipes Sam can make on his own.  This fudge became a favorite with the first bite.  We love the whole chocolate and mint flavor combination, and one bite makes you think of peppermint patties.  Yum.  I think we were all a little disappointed to see it disappear so quickly, but it’s so easy to make that I guarantee it’ll be making a regular appearance around here.

{one year ago:  pumpkin soup with bacon}

Recipe:  Chocolate Mint Quick Fudge

(adapted from an Eagle Brand recipe)

3 c. of chocolate chips, your choice of combinations and flavors – Sam used half chocolate mint and half semi-sweet chocolate

14 oz. can of sweetened condensed milk

pinch of kosher salt

1 1/2 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Line an 8 or 9 inch baking pan with foil or parchment paper.  Lightly spray with cooking spray.

Combine chocolate chips, sweetened condensed milk, and salt in medium microwave-safe bowl.  Cook on high for 1 1/2 minutes.  Stir.  Return to microwave and cook an additional 1-1 1/2 minutes, until chocolate is melted.  Add vanilla and stir until smooth and creamy.  Spread into prepared pan.  Chill for 2 hours until fudge is completely set.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2010 11:14 am

    You gotta love how easy this recipe is. Sometimes all I’m in the mood for is a five minute mix and DONE!

  2. November 21, 2010 1:31 pm

    That’s terrific that Sam is spending so much time in the kitchen. It will be really nice if he comes home wanting to cook dinner. That will never happen with my boys though they don’t mind giving me a hand while I cook.

    Mint and chocolate don’t appeal to me off the bat but when I have some I’m always surprised at how good they actually are together.
    ~ingrid

  3. November 21, 2010 2:34 pm

    Microwave oven fudge recipes are the best! Well done to Sam!
    :-) Mandy

  4. November 22, 2010 7:56 am

    Anything quick has to be good! Have a super Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. November 22, 2010 5:45 pm

    couldn’t be easier! looks great, folks. :)

  6. November 22, 2010 6:42 pm

    Quick and chocolate are words that I like together XD.

  7. November 23, 2010 3:10 am

    That’s my favorite way to make fudge because it is so simple and consistently good but I never thought to use mint chips. Your son is pure genius!

  8. November 23, 2010 4:56 pm

    Sounds delicious.:) My dad makes some awesome fudge and divinity for the holidays!

  9. November 23, 2010 5:24 pm

    Way to go Sam! This looks super yummy! I LOVE the hint of mint!

  10. November 24, 2010 6:03 pm

    It is adorable that Sam is enjoying baking so much. Maybe we have a famous chef in the making! And his fudge looks amazing, I would love to try it!

  11. November 26, 2010 4:25 pm

    I have never made fudge & it looks like I need to get on it asap. This recipe would be great for holiday gifts.

  12. December 2, 2010 3:27 pm

    I have to say, I think my waistline will be in trouble if ever my kids learn how to make ‘quick fudge’ on their own! Sometimes the only thing that keeps me from eating too many sugar-laden treats is the fact that I don’t want to take the time to make them! But if they’re just hanging around, with no effort from me… Watch out!

    It’s so cute that your little guy is starting to embrace cooking!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers