Skip to content

Santa bread

December 8, 2010

Santa Bread

I couldn’t resist this adorable bread, and surprised my kids by serving it with dinner last night.  They loved it!  But really, I think anyone would enjoy seeing this bread show up on the dinner table, don’t you?  And what a treat to serve for Christmas dinner!

While you could definitely make this with frozen bread dough, I followed the recipe and made my own.  It didn’t take long at all, and it came together pretty easily.  I was a little worried that it would be tough because of the rolling and manipulating of the dough, but it was still a tender bread.  I did think it was a little too sweet for my taste, so if (or when) I make it again, I’ll use a different bread recipe.  Another thing I’d do differently is the egg wash ~ I don’t see any reason to just brush only the egg yolk on.  I’ll use the whole egg the next time to get a smoother looking finish on the bread.  Or how about melted butter?  Yum.

If you’re looking for something out of the ordinary to bake this Christmas, I hope you give this Santa bread a try.  I think I had as much fun making it and surprising the kids as they had finding it on the dinner table.

For some tips on using your kitchen aid mixer instead of hand-kneading bread dough, check this out.

{one year ago:  chocolate peppermint cookies}

Recipe:  Santa Bread

(slightly adapted from Taste of Home)

4-4 1/2 c. all-purpose or bread flour

1/2 c. granulated sugar

2 pkgs. active dry yeast

1 1/2 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 c. milk

1/4 c. water

1/4 c. butter, cubed

2 eggs

2 raisins

2 egg yolks

red food coloring

To make bread dough:

In the bowl of your kitchen aid mixer (or in a large bowl), combine 2 c. flour, sugar, yeast, and salt.  In a small saucepan, heat the milk, water, and butter to 120-130 degrees.  Add liquid to dry ingredients, and beat just until moistened.  Beat in the eggs until mixture is smooth.  Using the lowest speed on your kitchen aid mixer or by hand, stir in enough of the remaining flour to form a stiff dough.  The rest of the flour will be added as the bread is kneaded.

Switch attachments to the bread kneading hook, and knead dough until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes.  Add flour by 1/2 cupfuls until dough does not stick to the bottom of the bowl and is incorporated.  (If kneading by hand, turn dough onto floured surface and knead until smooth, adding flour as necessary, until dough is smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes.)

Place dough on a clean plate, oil the mixing bowl, and return dough to it.  Turn to coat with oil.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour.

To assemble Santa bread:

Punch dough down.  Turn onto a lightly floured surface; divide into two portions, one slightly larger than the other.

Shape the larger portion into an elongated triangle with rounded corners for Santa’s head and hat.

Divide the smaller portion in half.  Shape and flatten one half into a beard.  Using kitchen scissors or a pizza cutter, cut into strips to within 1 inch of the top.  Position beard on Santa’s face; twist and curl strips.

Use the remaining dough for the mustache, nose, hat pom-pom and hat brim.  Shape a portion of dough into a mustache and flatten, then cut the ends into small strips with scissors or pizza cutter.  Place above beard.  (A dab of water helps keep the smaller pieces attached.)  Place a small ball on mustache for nose.  Fold tip of hat over and add another ball for a pom-pom.  Roll out a narrow piece of dough to create a hat brim; position on hat.

With scissors, cut two slits for eyes; insert raisins into slits.

Using two small bowls, beat an egg yolk in each.  Add red food coloring to one yolk.  Brush plain egg yolk over face and beard.  Carefully brush red-colored yolk over hat, nose, and cheeks.

Cover loosely with foil.  Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.  Uncover; bake 10-12 minutes longer or until golden.  Cool on wire rack.

26 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2010 9:32 am

    Your santa bread is adorable! What a great idea!

  2. December 8, 2010 9:55 am

    This is such a cute bread! I make an Easter bunny bread at Eastertime, and this doesn’t seem anymore complicated than that! May have to give this one a try!

  3. December 8, 2010 9:56 am

    Super cute!

  4. Bea permalink
    December 8, 2010 10:11 am

    Super Cute! I can’t wait to try it at Christmas.

  5. December 8, 2010 11:33 am

    Adorable! What a fun gift this bread would be!

  6. December 8, 2010 12:15 pm

    Cutest bread ever!

  7. December 8, 2010 12:45 pm

    That is so cute! The Twins like to act like they are too “big” for such things but they love ‘em! :)
    ~ingrid

  8. December 8, 2010 12:50 pm

    This is way too frickin cute for words! What a fun way to have bread for the holidays.

  9. December 8, 2010 2:53 pm

    I would love if my momma made me Santa bread. He is so cute! BTW, who ate the raisin eyes? ha ha!

  10. December 8, 2010 3:15 pm

    How cute is that?! I just signed my kids up to get an email from Santa tonight so this will be fitting. I even have yeast! Wahoo!

    You need to check out the Santa thing google portable north pole, it is adorable.

  11. December 8, 2010 7:01 pm

    My son is gonna love this. How totally adorable and fun to do with kids.

  12. December 8, 2010 11:14 pm

    My nephews and nieces would absolutely love this.
    :-) Mandy

  13. December 9, 2010 10:49 am

    This is so funny. I know everyone would get a huge kick out of this. Now we can all tug at Santa’s beard.

  14. December 9, 2010 12:59 pm

    My Grands would love this. How fun.

  15. December 9, 2010 3:06 pm

    How adorable! I love it!

  16. December 9, 2010 3:48 pm

    That looks like so much fun!

  17. December 9, 2010 4:59 pm

    That is crazy cute! And a good alternative to chowing down on decorated cookies.

    Kind of.

    I think.

    Less sugar, anyway!

  18. December 9, 2010 11:03 pm

    OMG I love love love the beard. Cutest baked good, yet.

  19. December 10, 2010 10:21 am

    So creative- do your kids know how good they have it?

  20. December 10, 2010 12:29 pm

    CUTE bread! This is so much fun. Would you be interested in posting this as a guest post over at my blog? I’d love to share it with my friends who have children. E-mail me at ezsrecipes at gmail dot com.

  21. December 10, 2010 2:46 pm

    No freakin’ way! This is ingenious! Great job.

  22. December 10, 2010 3:54 pm

    This is sooo very cute. I love how you made the beard with the twists! My kids would go nuts for this. Great idea to jazz up dinner.

  23. December 11, 2010 5:38 am

    this is so fun! the resemblance is uncanny. :)

  24. December 13, 2010 3:08 pm

    This is so cute!!!

  25. December 15, 2010 10:31 am

    Alright, this has got to be the cutest bread I have ever seen. My little ones would go nuts over this!

  26. December 17, 2010 2:40 pm

    You did so good making this, it looks amazing. I saw it on taste of home, but was too scared to attempt it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers