Skip to content

Chocolate peppermint thumbprint cookies

December 11, 2010

Chocolate Peppermint Thumbprint Cookies

In my humble opinion, the best flavor combination on the planet is chocolate and peppermint.  To me, there’s just nothing else that quite compares.  Even the smell of peppermint makes me feel good.  I love it that much.  My kids do too, and if you want to see a fight break out, put them in a room with only one peppermint patty.  I dare ya.  (No, really, I know they’d share it, but I’m trying to stress our adoration here.)

This chocolate thumbprint cookie is delicious.  A rich, chocolaty flavor with a nice soft texture.  It really is perfect and could be topped off with anything from ganache to jam to frosting.  It would also make a perfect crinkle cookie rolled in powdered sugar.  We decided to top ours with a peppermint marshmallow frosting and finished them off with some crushed candy canes.  Festive, no?  My only complaint was totally my own fault, because I really should have either used less powdered sugar in the frosting, or added a little more milk.  I didn’t realize until it was in a pastry bag that it was too thick to pipe.  Instead, I ended up using my off-set spatula and putting a dab of frosting into each cookie.  Maybe not as pretty as piped frosting would have been, but darn tasty all the same.

{Here’s a great tip for making thumbprint cookies.  I know you’re supposed to use your thumb or fingertip, but I like my method better.  I used a melon baller to make perfect indentations into the cookies.  Worked like a charm and every cookie had a perfect little cup to hold the frosting.}

{one year ago:  giving hope}

Recipe:  Chocolate Peppermint Thumbprint Cookies

(adapted from Fine Cooking)

1 1/3 c. all-purpose flour

1 tsp. kosher salt

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/2 c. unsalted butter, softened

1 1/3 c. granulated sugar

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

3 large eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 c. bittersweet chocolate chips, melted and cooled slightly
(or 3 oz. bittersweet chocolate, melted and cooled slightly)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line cookie sheet with parchment paper.

In medium bowl, whisk flour, salt, baking powder, and baking soda.  Set aside.  In another mixing bowl, beat butter, sugar, and cocoa powder on medium speed until well blended, about 2 minutes.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing until blended after each addition, about 30 seconds.  Add vanilla and mix another minute at medium speed.  Next, blend in the cool, melted chocolate and beat about 30 more seconds.  Add the flour mixture and blend at low speed, about 1 more minute.

Spoon about a teaspoon of dough into the palm of your hand and quickly roll into a ball; place on cookie sheet.  Bake until cookies are puffed and cracked, about 10 minutes.  When cookies come out of the oven, use a melon baller, the back of a measuring spoon, or your finger, to create a small well in the center of each cookie.  Transfer cookies to wire rack to cool.  Fill with peppermint frosting or your choice of filling.

(Yields about 4 dozen cookies.)

Recipe:  Peppermint Marshmallow Frosting

In a large bowl, combine 2 Tbsp. of butter, softened; one 1 c. marshmallow creme; and 1/4 teaspoon peppermint extract.  Beat with an electric mixer on medium speed until smooth. Gradually beat in 3/4 cups powdered sugar.  Beat in 1 tablespoon milk.  Beat in another 1/2-1 cup of powdered sugar.  If necessary, stir in enough additional milk, 1 teaspoon at a time, to make a filling of piping consistency.  Pipe into the well of each chocolate thumbprint cookie.  Sprinkle with crushed candy canes.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2010 9:40 pm

    These cookies look so festive and delicious! I want to make them but would have to find someone to give them to because I’m the only one in the house who likes mint!

  2. December 12, 2010 3:17 pm

    i have to agree that chocolate and peppermint are the numero uno combination. i like your melon baller tip too–very handy!

  3. December 13, 2010 10:27 am

    LOL, no, really mine would fight! Like knock down, drag down, all out fight. Though that would happen after they’re negotiating didn’t work. :)
    ~ingrid

  4. December 13, 2010 11:01 am

    Oh my goodness, I know, mint and chocolate was made to be together. Funny thing though, I’m the only one in my family who adores it–so the tub of mint chocolate ice cream is designated for me ;] Buuut, they can never say no to cookies, so these treats would probably be devoured by them.

  5. December 14, 2010 12:22 pm

    Great looking and I’m sure greating tasting Christmas cookies!

  6. December 15, 2010 9:39 pm

    I love chocolate and mint together. These look great! I’m actually about to make a treat with that combination myself :).

  7. December 16, 2010 2:41 am

    I don’t typically like thumprints, because I don’t favor jam and cookies, but these I could do! Thanks for the melon baller trick too. I just might make these.

  8. December 19, 2010 2:01 pm

    The peppermint marshmallow frosting sounds delicious. I bet it was a great compliment to the chocolate cookies.

  9. Ariane permalink
    January 7, 2011 3:39 pm

    I made these today for my dad’s belated holiday party and they are amaaaazing. The bittersweet chocolate and the super sweet mint marshmallow icing are the perfect combination. The recipe was way easier than I expected too! This is a great cookie that should definitely be in everybody’s holiday arsenal :)

  10. oneordinaryday permalink*
    January 8, 2011 4:56 pm

    Ariane – So happy they turned out well for you and that you enjoyed them. Did you use the melon baller trick to make the thumbprint? : )
    ~ Michelle

  11. Pat Casanova permalink
    November 4, 2012 7:28 pm

    I don’t know what I did wrong but the batter was too creamy to roll into balls. Any ideas? I went back and check the ingredients and I did it all right. HHHHMMMM….

  12. Rachel permalink
    December 14, 2012 3:05 pm

    YUM! Looking for a cookie swap cookie and came across this recipe. They look delicious. My dough was also too “wet” or as another reviewer said “creamy”. I used a small cookie dough scoop and scooped them out and they baked up great! For the filling, I melted white chocolate and candy canes together and filled the cookie and then sprinkled a few crushed candy canes on top and then dusted with confec. sugar…..They looked fabulous and tasted amazing!!!!

    Thanks for the recipe!

Trackbacks

  1. chocolate peppermint cookies « made by mike

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 839 other followers