Skip to content

Oreo brownie cups

December 20, 2010

Oreo Brownie Cups

Have you ever seen a perfectly adorable idea on someone’s blog and wanted to make it immediately?  That’s how this began.  I saw a great idea for a brownie-covered oreo cookie at Picky Palate, and Claudia and I decided to make them as soon as we got some holiday oreo cookies.  That’s about where the similarities end though, because these don’t look much like their inspiration.  I’m okay with that, actually, because we still ended up with a tasty little treat.

We followed the recipe steps from the original, but the first dozen ended up stuck in the muffin tin, even though I had sprayed it generously and loosened them with a knife.  Oh well.  We didn’t give up, though, and decided we’d give it a try using cupcake liners.  They turned out just fine, and we’re calling them oreo brownie cups.

I love the covered oreo idea, but we clearly didn’t shake off enough brownie batter before plopping them into the pan.  I think that’s why ours turned out to be more of an oreo brownie.  You’ll hear no complaints from us though – the “duds” didn’t even last long.

{one year ago:  spiced pecans}

Recipe:  Oreo Brownie Cups

(original recipe found at Picky Palate / my directions have been slightly adapted)

1 boxed brownie mix

1 package of oreo cookies

white chocolate and decorating candies, optional

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Place cupcake liners in muffin tin; spray lightly with cooking spray.  Prepare brownie mix according to package directions.  Dip oreo cookies in brownie batter, shaking off excess.  Place cookies in the bottoms of cupcake liners.  Bake for about 12 minutes.  Cool in pan for a few minutes, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.  Decorate with a drizzle of melted white chocolate and decorating candies, if desired.

14 Comments leave one →
  1. December 20, 2010 5:57 pm

    Yum! I want one of these treasures of a goodie!!!!! Guess I need to get my bum over to the grocery store and get me some oreos (holiday kind preferred…just like yours). :-)

  2. December 20, 2010 9:04 pm

    They look great to me – I’m glad that you persevered.

  3. December 20, 2010 10:38 pm

    I think you are being to harsh on yourself – they are your version and equally as beautiful.
    :-) Mandy

  4. December 21, 2010 8:01 am

    Hmmmm, what to say what to say when this is definitely a chocolate lover’s post? :)

    Love that photo of one with a bite taken.
    ~ingrid

  5. December 21, 2010 11:26 am

    What fun! I love the look of these–so festive.

  6. December 21, 2010 12:55 pm

    nomnomnomnomnom

    I love the picture of the bite!

  7. December 23, 2010 5:05 am

    cupcake liners to the rescue! nice little treat–very festive, very fun, very fabulous.

  8. December 27, 2010 4:23 pm

    Michelle, I actually liked this better than the original. I’m a chocolate lover, so more brownie the better.

  9. Evie permalink
    December 30, 2010 8:40 am

    Well Aunt Shell, I have to say, this may be one of your best ideas! They were excellent! :)

  10. Evie permalink
    December 30, 2010 7:30 pm

    Just made them, and they were good, but double-stuffed oreos would be good too……
    just an idea ;) teehee

  11. Regina Yanics permalink
    December 20, 2011 10:16 am

    I made these over the weekend and used MInt Oreo’s and they were amazing. Thank you for the recipe. I will be making a few more to give as gifts at my department lunch on Thursday. The best thing about it is you can make about 30 of them in less than 30 minutes and for less than $4. Love it.

  12. Marlene Allen permalink
    December 3, 2012 4:30 pm

    Can you freeze these?

  13. oneordinaryday permalink
    December 5, 2012 6:35 am

    Marlene – I have never tried to freeze brownies, but that’s a great question! If you try it, please come back and share your results!
    ~ Michelle

  14. Heather permalink
    December 13, 2012 10:23 am

    I did freeze a batch my daughter made and they were still TERIFFIC taken out about two weeks later!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 858 other followers