Skip to content

Cranberry pecan cheese ball

December 23, 2010

Cranberry Cheese Ball

If you’re looking for a quick appetizer for the holidays, or something to nibble on while dinner’s cooking, this might be it.  We’ll be enjoying it with a delicious array of goodies on Christmas Eve at my parents’ house.

I don’t know where this recipe comes from, but I clipped it from a magazine ages ago and it’s been in my recipe binder ever since.  It comes together in a snap, and is light and tasty served with some good buttery crackers.  I think it’s pretty rolled up into a ball, but you could skip that part and serve it from a bowl instead.  Truthfully, I’d enjoy it on a bagel too, and I just may do that if there’s any left by Christmas morning.

Hoping you all have a lovely weekend.  Merry Christmas!

Recipe:  Cranberry Cheese Ball

1 8-oz. package of cream cheese

2 Tbsp. concentrated orange juice (slightly thawed)

1/8 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 Tbsp. granulated sugar

zest of one orange  (or 2 Tbsp. dried orange zest)

1/4 c. finely chopped pecans + more to finely ground for covering cheeseball

1/4 c. finely chopped dried cranberries

crackers for serving

In the bowl of your mixer, combine cream cheese, orange juice concentrate, cinnamon, and sugar until smooth and creamy.  Fold in orange zest, pecans, and cranberries.  Spoon mixture into the center of a piece of plastic wrap and mold into a ball.  Set aside.  In a food processor, finely grind a handful of pecans.  Transfer to a plate or bowl.  Unwrap cheese ball and roll in ground pecans until coated.  Chill until ready to serve.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. December 23, 2010 4:48 pm

    Oh yum!!!! I’m going to make this with walnuts instead of cranberries for New Year’s eve.

  2. December 23, 2010 7:50 pm

    I love these! What a great Christmas day treat to enjoy!!

  3. December 23, 2010 11:22 pm

    To be totally honest, I’ve always been a little weirded out by cheese balls haha. But with the nuts and cranberries this one actually sounds really good. And great for holiday parties, of course. Thanks for sharing it, Michelle!

  4. December 24, 2010 1:47 am

    I’ve never had a sweet cheeseball and it’s about time I changed that. Looks incredible.

    Hope you and your family have a wonderful Christmas Michelle!

  5. December 24, 2010 1:58 am

    Fabulous snacky recipe – thank you.
    May your Christmas be filled with love and laughter.
    :-) Mandy

  6. December 24, 2010 6:48 am

    Thanks for this – looks like a perfect snack for Christmas.

  7. December 27, 2010 1:05 am

    unique and tasty ball o’ cheese! the sweeter, the better, i say. :)

  8. December 27, 2010 8:24 am

    This looks great, we have to have a cheese ball at the holidays too!

  9. December 27, 2010 4:22 pm

    Forget the crackers, give me a spoon. I love big cheeseballs. This looks and sounds great. I love the cranberries in it!

  10. December 27, 2010 4:40 pm

    On a bagel sounds delicious! I love quick and easy foods.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink*
    December 28, 2010 8:54 am

    Xiaolu – This cracked me up. You’re weirded out by cheeseballs? LOL I actually have never made one before, but it was tasty enough that my brother-in-law wanted to sit and eat it with a spoon. :)
    ~ Michelle

  12. December 30, 2010 12:15 pm

    This is TOTALLY up my alley. I could eat cream cheese-based dips every day of the week and twice on Sundays.

    Also, I just wanted to tell you that I take comfort in the fact that, while I have hardly had time to make any Christmas treats, you seem to have made enough for all of us! ;)

  13. Evie permalink
    December 30, 2010 2:44 pm

    I agree with Farmer Gal, you have made quite a large amount of food just for Christmas! =0)
    Keep up the wonderful work. :)

  14. December 31, 2010 12:14 pm

    OMG – wish I had seen this sooner. This looks great. I love cranberries and cheese too!

    Happy New Year!

  15. January 2, 2011 5:20 pm

    This looks really really great. Cranberries and pecans (and of course cheese) make a great combo, and I think this would be delicious on a bagel. Even though the holidays are over, I think I might give this one a shot. Better late than never, right?!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers