Skip to content

Buttermilk banana bread

December 28, 2010

Buttermilk Banana Bread

Make no mistake, this could be the best banana bread you ever make.  Just look at it.  None of those dark flecks of banana that usually abound in banana breads.  Just beautiful bread studded with bananas that actually look like bananas.  Crazy, I know, but I’m kinda smitten with it.  Don’t ya think it’s pretty?

Recipe:  Buttermilk Banana Bread

(slightly adapted from My Kitchen Cafe)

1/2 cup butter, softened
1 1/2 cups sugar
2 eggs
1 cup mashed bananas  (I use about 3 bananas)
4 tablespoons buttermilk
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 3/4 cups flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon baking soda

Spray 1 large loaf pan with baking spray with flour, such as Bakers Joy.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Add eggs, bananas, buttermilk, and vanilla until the batter is well mixed. Add in the flour, baking powder, salt, and soda. Mix until well combined. Divide batter into greased and floured bread pans and bake at 350 degrees for 55-65 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.

 

21 Comments leave one →
  1. Evie permalink
    December 28, 2010 9:47 am

    Lovely! :)

  2. December 28, 2010 9:47 am

    Oooo….I always hated the little dark flecks. I heard once if you add lemon, you won’t get them, but the added tart-tang would be a little weird for me in banana bread. What do you think prevents the flecks?

  3. oneordinaryday permalink*
    December 28, 2010 10:05 am

    Niki – I think it’s the bit of buttermilk that keeps the color fresh. Try it – you’ll love it!
    ~ Michelle

  4. oneordinaryday permalink*
    December 28, 2010 10:05 am

    Thanks, Ev. :)
    xo

  5. December 28, 2010 10:12 am

    This is just what I need after a weekend of chocolate!

  6. December 28, 2010 11:24 am

    Seems delicious!

  7. December 28, 2010 4:54 pm

    Yum, this looks delicious. I haven’t made bread in a while. Maybe it’s time to start again. My bread machine is just collecting dust.

  8. December 28, 2010 10:19 pm

    What a heavenly looking banana bread Michelle. I thought my Mom’s recipe was the best growing up but I am looking forward to making a loaf with buttermilk.
    :-) Mandy

  9. December 29, 2010 7:52 am

    Definitely pretty – and I love banana bread! Yummo!

  10. Evie permalink
    December 29, 2010 6:52 pm

    Miss u already! Hope u enjoy the rest of the long forgotten Banana Bread.
    xoxo :)

  11. December 29, 2010 8:46 pm

    It’s been far too long since I made (or ate) banana bread. This looks fantastic. Isn’t buttermilk a miracle ingredient?

  12. December 29, 2010 9:37 pm

    Hey, tricky! Just that tidbit alone about the buttermilk preserving the color of the bananas is making my day. Looks great. I can’t be trusted. I’d probably eat the whole loaf in one sitting.

  13. December 29, 2010 10:51 pm

    I bet buttermilk makes this memorable. I’m thinking yogurt might work too. Can’t wait to try it.

  14. December 30, 2010 1:47 am

    i wouldn’t have thought that banana bread could be any more moist, but you’ve done it. bravo!

  15. December 30, 2010 12:10 pm

    Oh, but I like the dark flecks! This does look good, though…

  16. December 30, 2010 1:10 pm

    I agree with Irina. Fascinating to find out that a little buttermilk could do this. Very curious to try it. Thanks for the recipe and Happy New Year, Michelle!

  17. December 30, 2010 4:26 pm

    It looks so moist!!! Cant wait to try this, thanks!!

  18. December 30, 2010 10:43 pm

    Your picture is gorgeous! I’m so glad you liked this recipe.

  19. December 31, 2010 11:30 am

    I’ll take nice golden banana flecks over black ones anyday! This looks great and we are banana bread crazy here, so I’m definitely going this a go. Happy New Year, Michelle!!

  20. January 1, 2011 10:44 am

    We just bought a bunch of bananas and my husband has been begging me to make some banana bread when they get ripened. Looks like I have no more excuses, this recipe looks delicious@

  21. January 2, 2011 3:36 pm

    Checked the list, I have all the ingredients, I think I’m going to whip this up now!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 838 other followers