Skip to content

January 17, 2011

 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2011 11:27 am

    I had to take a public speaking class when I was at West Point, and we studied the great orators, analyzing what made them so good. Douglas MacArthur, John F Kennedy, and MLK Jr were considered to be the best of the 20th century. Kennedy was good all around, but best at rehearsed and pre-written speeches. MacArthur could give a one hour speech off the top of his head, with perfect grammar and organization. But MLK Jr was the one who could combine substance with poetry, and who could best tap into what people wanted to hear to help them digest what he wanted them to hear.

  2. January 17, 2011 3:29 pm

    I like this quote. I try to live by it. I think it’s an especially difficult one for children. I know Babygirl practices it but my boys avoid conflicts and will stay quiet unless really pushed.

    ~ingrid

  3. January 19, 2011 3:11 am

    I like this quote a lot. Like Ingrid, it’s something I try to live by too and it’s not always that easy, but when it’s important it is.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers