Skip to content

Italian sausage soup

January 17, 2011

Italian Sausage Soup

As soon as the new year rolls around, we seem to get into soup mode around here.  Soups are usually healthy and flavorful, and easy to freeze in single servings.  Perfect for a quick lunch or dinner.  This Italian sausage soup was a cinch to make because I already had all the ingredients in my kitchen.  I just needed to put them all together, and Jim got a whole week’s worth of lunches.  I am so good.  hehe

{one year ago:  chocolate chip sour cream snack cake}
{two years ago:  granola bars}

Recipe:  Italian Sausage Soup

(inspired by Cooking Light)

1 lb. hot or sweet Italian sausage

1 onion, minced

1 clove of garlic, minced

1 Tbsp. Italian seasoning

4 c. chicken broth

20 oz. can diced tomatoes

1 c. uncooked small whole wheat shell pasta

1 14-oz. can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

2 c. kale, frozen or fresh

1/4 c. grated Parmesan cheese

Heat a large saucepan over medium heat.  Remove sausage from casings, and cook sausage and chopped onion in hot pot.  Stir to crumble sausage and cook until sausage is cooked through and onions are transparent.  Add garlic and cook an additional 2 minutes.  Drain, and return to pan.

Add broth, tomatoes, pasta, chickpeas, and seasoning.  Bring to a low boil.  Cover and reduce heat to simmer.  Cook about 10 minutes, until pasta is done.  Stir in kale until wilted.  Sprinkle each serving with Parmesan cheese or add cheese to soup pot and stir until melted and combined.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. grandy permalink
    January 17, 2011 7:18 pm

    looks good!

  2. January 17, 2011 7:50 pm

    Sounds good to me!

  3. January 17, 2011 8:46 pm

    3 words I love to hear. Italian, Sausage, Soup! Sounds so good right now. Snowing here and would love a hot bowl of soup right now, I am freezing after I did my walk and just can’t warm up! I will be making some soup this week.

  4. January 17, 2011 11:18 pm

    Yummy, yummy, yummy! Even though it is seriously hot and humid here, I think it is time for me to make soup again.
    :-) Mandy

  5. January 18, 2011 7:49 am

    This looks like the perfect thing for the head cold I carry with me ALL winter long. I’m adding it to my arsenal!

  6. January 18, 2011 8:40 am

    I’ve been in soup mode lately, as well. When the temperatures drop (as they are starting to in my area), I just want to subsist on soup and hot cocoa.

  7. January 18, 2011 8:41 am

    My family makes something similar, but with orzo instead of shell noodles and no chickpeas. It’ s been a favorite in our family for years! I can see myself throwing in some chickpeas now that you’ve mentioned it, I’m sure I could sneak it right past them!

  8. January 18, 2011 11:05 am

    I love sausage in soup. It really lends a lot of flavor. It’s so sleety and crummy out right now, this would really hit the spot.

  9. January 18, 2011 11:57 am

    This is one of my favorite comfort soups. I love your recipe and photo is beautiful!

  10. January 18, 2011 1:12 pm

    This sounds similar to the Italian sausage and tortellini soup I posted around the holidays. Yum! Sausage in soup really is delicious.

  11. January 18, 2011 1:12 pm

    PS. I like your new header. Cute!

  12. January 18, 2011 2:54 pm

    OMG this is too funny…I just made a soup JUST like this yesterday (it is a vegan version). I love the addition of the Italian Sausage…that sounds really yummy!

  13. January 18, 2011 3:34 pm

    This looks delicious – I love how vibrant and colorful the soup looks!

  14. January 18, 2011 5:58 pm

    This seems like a great easy, but tasty, soup. I really love the addition of kale to soups…it adds such great flavor and a different texture.

  15. January 18, 2011 5:59 pm

    Yum! Looks SO hearty and delicious! I hope this will taste good with kosher sausage :)

  16. January 18, 2011 11:08 pm

    I’m in a soup mode too. And I think I have some chickpeas waiting to be eaten so this will be perfect.

  17. January 19, 2011 2:30 pm

    I just posted about something VERY similar–but yours looks better b/c it includes kale. Mine needed some greenery.

  18. January 19, 2011 4:37 pm

    Oh Michelle, this soup looks so warming and absolutely delicious! Thank you for sharing it.

  19. January 20, 2011 1:25 am

    soup mode is a good mode. this is a very pleasing batch–can one ever go wrong where sausage is concerned? :)

  20. jesica permalink
    October 3, 2011 9:23 pm

    i tried this out tonight. omg it is AMAZING!!! my neighbor brought a bowl over to try it. :)

  21. one ordinary day permalink*
    October 5, 2011 1:34 pm

    Jesica – I’m happy to hear the soup was a hit. We love it too, but I’ve never had anyone show up with their own bowl before. : ) Very funny!
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers