Skip to content

Peanut butter blondies

January 31, 2011

Peanut Butter Blondies

{Again, I want to say thank you to all of you who expressed concern and sent out good thoughts and prayers to Bea and her family.  They are taking things one step at a time and are moving forward.  I’m going to do the same and start posting some good eats again.  I’ll update you about the family from time to time, and please continue to keep them in prayer.  The blessings showering down on them has been nothing short of awe-inspiring.  Thank you.}

I have a story.  Picture this:  Claudia and I are curled up in the corner of the couch and she’s reading to me for her homework.  Sam’s in the middle of the living room playing with his yo-yo, which, by the way, he is awesome at.  The scene is so tranquil, it could be a Norman Rockwell painting.

Claudia looks up at me with her big brown eyes and says, “Mama, you know if I cover these two letters, it spells ‘butt’?”  Sam just busts out laughing… Claudia is in a fit of giggles… and there goes the Rockwell moment.  I’m confused.  Should I be proud that my sweet babe has figured that out all by herself?

I thought I responded pretty well.  I didn’t even crack a smile, but said in my best mom voice, “Gee, Claude, did you share that with Mrs. E. during reading group?”  (See, we’re what one might call a little sarcastic.)  All the while, Sam is still hooting with laughter and repeating what Claudia said, which is starting to grate on my nerves, so I kindly said, “Sam, we’ve got to finish this homework.  Would you please butt out?”  OH BROTHER!  Well, they lost it.  Both kids were practically rolling on the floor with laughter.  It was ridiculous.

And if you’re curious, they did get me laughing, because how can you not when you’re up against that?  So let me share a really delicious recipe with you in honor of my wonderful little dears… peanut butt-er blondies.

Recipe:  Peanut Butter Blondies

(adapted slightly from Redbook)

1 c. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

1/2 c. peanut butter, smooth or crunchy

6 Tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

3/4 c. light brown sugar

1/3 c. granulated sugar

2 large eggs

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 c. mini peanut butter chips

1/2 c. mini semisweet chocolate chips

Line a 9″ square baking pan with foil and spray with nonstick cooking spray.  Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt in a small bowl.  In a large bowl, beat peanut butter and butter with an electric mixer on medium speed, until smooth.  Add sugars and beat until well blended.  Beat in eggs, one at a time.  Add vanilla and mix.  Add flour mixture and beat on low speed until just blended.  Stir in chips.  Spread dough evenly in prepared pan.

Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Cool completely on wire rack.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 31, 2011 9:03 am

    Sigh. Sounds like a scene from our house. Kids just don’t always appreciate those Rockwellian moments. And it’s funny how they love it if they can get us to laugh over things like “butt” jokes or burping. ;-)

  2. January 31, 2011 1:03 pm

    I’m so glad to hear that Bea and her family are being optimistic and moving forward with their lives. Still wishing them the best of luck and keeping them in my thoughts. These peanut butter blondies look magnificent! I hope you’re able to share them with Bea in some way. Thanks for sharing these with your readers!

  3. January 31, 2011 2:23 pm

    Hahaha how adorable! The peanut butter blondies look SO incredible! And I’m really glad to hear your family is doing better :)

  4. January 31, 2011 3:01 pm

    Cute story! Glad to hear your sister and her family are doing better. These look amazing!

  5. January 31, 2011 6:59 pm

    yum! you had me at peanut butter..

    kids are hilarious, and quite observant too!

  6. February 1, 2011 1:03 pm

    This makes me laugh. I’m impressed that you were able to keep a straight face! That’s something I’ve never been able to do… And your blondies look so delicious. Love the addition of peanut butter there :)

  7. Evie permalink
    February 2, 2011 1:21 pm

    Claude is such a dork ;) Love the idea!!!!! Can’t wait ta see you guys!

  8. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 2, 2011 6:53 pm

    Evie – teehee You know you would have been giggling your head off right along with Sam and Claudia! xo
    ~ Aunt Shell

  9. February 3, 2011 7:07 pm

    These just might make an appearance this weekend for the superbowl party I am going to.

    Also, I am getting caught up on my reading as well and I am sorry to read about your sister and her family. How devastating to lose their home. But what a miracle that they all survived. Thinking of you and your family.

  10. February 6, 2011 3:51 am

    You have me giggling over here at your kids, and now at you. I think that scene is far superior to a Norman Rockwell painting :-)

  11. February 12, 2011 8:25 pm

    very interesting story …. but for me the important thing is to try the recipe ….

    Cooking Recipes

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers