Skip to content

Buttermilk oven “fried” chicken

February 3, 2011

Buttermilk Oven “Fried” Chicken Wings

My boy is a carnivore.  A major meat-eater.  For his birthday last year, he wanted to celebrate at a restaurant that had “a lot of meat.”  Really.  And since I love him, it’s hard to ignore the constant nagging… I mean requesting… for me to make him fried chicken.  Fried chicken has just never been on my radar.  Growing up, the good Colonel supplied our fried chicken occasionally, but I don’t ever remember eating homemade fried chicken.

All that being said, and even though I totally love the boy, I didn’t want to make actual fried chicken cause it would really mess up the top of my stove.  I know, I’m a great mom, right?  hehe  Instead, I did the next best thing.  I made him a bunch of oven “fried” chicken wings instead.  And guess what?  He didn’t like them!  Ha!  Luckily, Jim and Sam’s best friend did, and they ended up eating all of them.  My kids are so weird.

Recipe:  Buttermilk Oven “Fried” Chicken

(slightly adapted from Dinner: A Love Story)

4-6 drumsticks  (I had wings and used them instead, though I probably wouldn’t choose those again.  It’s a lot of breading for such a small bit of meat, and something more substantial would be better.)

4 garlic cloves, halved

buttermilk to cover chicken (one carton is more than enough)

1 1/2 c. corn flake crumbs  (I used panko bread crumbs.)

1/8 tsp cayenne

1 tsp oregano

salt and pepper to taste

Place chicken pieces in a large ziploc bag, add buttermilk to cover, and garlic.  Refrigerate at least 30 minutes and up to 12 hours.

When ready to cook chicken, preheat oven to 400°F.  Line large shallow baking sheet with foil and spray lightly with cooking oil.  In large bowl, combine corn flake crumbs, herbs, salt, and pepper.

Drain chicken and discard buttermilk.  Dredge chicken in bread crumbs until well coated, then place, skin side up, on baking sheet.  Spray pieces lightly with cooking oil.  Bake until golden and cooked through, 35 to 45 minutes.

24 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2011 8:51 am

    They look delicious–how funny that your little carnivore didn’t like them! My kids only eat chicken in (sigh) nugget form.

  2. February 3, 2011 8:58 am

    Oh thank you for making this treat healthier! I’ll definitely have to try this out for the boy!

  3. February 3, 2011 9:09 am

    I hear you – frying chicken totally messed up the top of my oven! It just splatters everywhere and there is nothing you can do about it. I made a little guard out of tinfoil to put around the top of my pot one time, and that kind of worked, but it was still a pain. These look much better, anyway!

  4. February 3, 2011 9:59 am

    I love making oven fried chicken like this. Satisfying without all the guilt! Sorry that he didn’t like them, but I’m sure it was still amazing!

  5. February 3, 2011 11:11 am

    Ohhh I love that you oven “fried” these — :) They look amazing. So happy to have found your blog–it’s fantastic!

  6. February 3, 2011 11:38 am

    They sure sound good. I love fried chicken, but I too hate actually frying anything – what a mess! And sadly, the family restaurant that used to make the best fried chicken around was a victim of the recession. Thanks for supplying a great alternative!

  7. February 3, 2011 11:45 am

    I’m with you on not wanting to deep-fry because of messing up the stove-top, lol! Oven-frying is my method of choice too. These look great and I know they would be a huge hit with my own carnivore (my hubby)!

  8. February 3, 2011 5:10 pm

    Unless the fried chicken is made by my wife’s mother, I typically preferred baked fried chicken to fried fried chicken.

    But if you have to really fry it … you can fry chicken in a Dutch oven and the high sides keep the splatter under control. At least, it works with chunks of breast meat. Never tried it with whole pieces.

    Cheers!

  9. February 3, 2011 7:04 pm

    This looks good to me–wonder why you son didn’t like it! Looks crispy and delicious.

  10. February 3, 2011 10:58 pm

    Oh yummy! I love the idea of this recipe – think I will try it with thighs.
    :-) Mandy

  11. February 4, 2011 5:06 am

    Kids hey – funny little things :P

    The chicken does look darn good though!

  12. February 4, 2011 9:58 am

    this is like a classier version of shake ‘n bake (and i helped!). your kid’s a person after my own heart!

  13. February 4, 2011 10:32 am

    I don’t think I would ever miss the fried kinda with these. They look super delish.

  14. February 4, 2011 11:39 am

    This chicken of yours looks so tender and crispy, and it’s done in the oven?! I love it! Must try this for dinner sometime. It’s absolutely calling my name for this weekend. Thanks for sharing!

  15. February 6, 2011 3:47 am

    That sounds like my own grown up Sam- loves his meat! And his fried chicken. I only like homemade fried chicken because that’s how my grandma used to make it for us. There’s something about the fast food version that is so greasy and salty that turns me off…and the smell- yuck!

    BTW, that totally cracks me up that he didn’t like these. That’s pretty typical of little men. ha!

  16. February 6, 2011 8:10 am

    I bet my kids would love this oven “fried” chicken. Love that you use buttermilk and cornflakes. Happy Sunday :)

  17. Kris permalink
    February 6, 2011 5:00 pm

    I love oven fried chicken and this recipe looks delish! To make the chicken crispy on all sides I set a cooling rack (like you put your cookies on to cool), sprayed with Pam, on top of a lined cookie sheet. Then I put the chicken on top of the rack which allows the heat to circulate all around the chicken while it is cooking.

  18. February 6, 2011 5:43 pm

    hey … just noticed … what’s the dipping sauce?

  19. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 6, 2011 6:36 pm

    HPD – The dipping sauce was just buttermilk ranch dressing. Nothing fancy, but it was a good match.
    ~ Michelle

  20. February 6, 2011 7:51 pm

    ten-four — thanks!

  21. February 8, 2011 8:33 am

    How can he not like them?! That happens in my house all the time. Kids would rather have the junk food from fast food joints. I think these look better than anything store-bought! So crispy looking!

  22. February 9, 2011 10:37 am

    Whenever we get a craving for fried chicken, we do the same thing. Frying is just so not worth it in my book — unhealthy, messy, etc. Too bad your kids didn’t like it, though!

  23. February 12, 2011 8:18 pm

    Fried chicken is my little girl’s favorite menu … if there is no appetite fried chicken is very small … I will try your recipe …

    Cooking Recipes

  24. February 17, 2011 10:18 pm

    Yum! My mom used to make something like this when we were growing up. It was always my favorite meal!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers