Skip to content

Roasted no-knead garlic bread

February 7, 2011
tags: ,

Roasted No-Knead Garlic Bread

When you think about garlic bread, I’m sure the first thing that comes to mind is a nice loaf of bread slathered with buttery garlic topping, right?  Well, how about putting bits and pieces of roasted garlic right inside the bread?  How’s that for some garlic bread, eh?  Let me tell you, this is tasty.  So good, in fact, that Jim and I were both hoping our picky eaters wouldn’t even like it.  We would have liked to just cut this bad boy in half and call it a day.

If you’ve never roasted garlic, it’s so easy and so delicious, that I hope you try it asap.  When I made this the first time, I actually bought several heads of garlic, roasted them all up, then froze half when I was finished.  I think the garlic flavor was diminished slightly in the second loaf (when I used the frozen garlic), but I’m going to try it again before I make a final call on that.  I think being able to freeze roasted garlic would be great for adding to breads, soups, mashed potatoes… I definitely want to try it again to see for sure if the garlic loses too much of its goodness during its deep freeze.

{one year ago:  cinnamon roll pancakes with brown sugared apples and glaze}
{two years ago:  whoopie pies with attitude}

Recipe:  Roasted No-Knead Garlic Bread

(recipe adapted from Macheesmo and from Lick the Bowl Good)

4 Cups bread flour (or 2 Cups bread flour and 2 Cups whole wheat flour)
1/2 Teaspoon instant yeast (or active dry yeast)
1 1/2 Teaspoons salt
2 1/4 Cups room-temperature water
2 whole heads of garlic
1 Tablespoon olive oil (for roasting garlic)
Cornmeal or semolina flour for dusting loaf

Roast the garlic by slicing the tops off of each head of garlic.  Place in the center of a piece of foil and drizzle with olive oil.  Fold foil up into a pocket and bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.  Cool slightly, then squeeze out garlic bulbs and mash with a fork.

For bread dough, combine flour, yeast, and salt in a large bowl.  Add the roasted garlic and mix it in with your finger tips to make sure it’s evenly distributed.  Add water and stir until blended; dough will be sticky. Cover bowl with plastic wrap. Let dough rest at least 14 -18 hours, at warm room temperature.

When its surface is dotted with bubbles, the dough is ready. Lightly flour a work surface and “pour” the dough onto it; sprinkle it with a little more flour and fold it over on itself once or twice. Coat a cotton kitchen towel with semolina flour or cornmeal; put dough seam side down on towel and dust with more flour or cornmeal. Cover with another cotton towel and let rise for about 2 hours. When it is ready, dough will be more than double in size.

At least a half-hour before dough is ready, heat oven to 450 degrees. Put a 5- to 8-quart heavy covered pot (cast iron, enamel, Pyrex or ceramic) in oven as it heats. When dough is ready, carefully remove pot from oven. Slide your hand under towel and turn dough over into pot, seam side up.   Shake pan once or twice if dough is unevenly distributed; it will straighten out as it bakes. Cover with lid and bake 30 minutes, then remove lid and bake another 15 to 30 minutes, until loaf is browned. Cool on a rack.

29 Comments leave one →
  1. michael permalink
    February 7, 2011 12:44 pm

    Oh my goodness. I want to go to there.

  2. February 7, 2011 12:46 pm

    wow, that looks tasty! I tried a no-knead whole-wheat/wholegrain type bread, and it turned into a frisbee… a very flat one. But this looks like it has more chance of working out, I’ll have to try it.

  3. February 7, 2011 2:19 pm

    I adore roasted garlic. I can’t even imagine how heavenly this bread has to smell in the oven! I have been on a yeast-bread kick lately, and I know the hubby would love this!

  4. February 7, 2011 2:20 pm

    I’m a huge fan of no-knead bread! I did a garlic and rosemary version on my blog (thanks to Monica’s post!). This method is sooo easy. My husband and I once made a loaf and enjoyed it on the deck with soft cheese and wine on a warm fall evening. Heaven.

  5. oneordinaryday permalink*
    February 7, 2011 3:07 pm

    Lexy – I can completely relate! I seem to have very little luck with yeast recipes because of the temperature in my kitchen. This one was great the second time, but quite a bit flatter the first time. I made sure to keep it in a really warm spot in the house the second time around while it was rising. Bread success!
    ~ Michelle

  6. February 7, 2011 3:43 pm

    Oh yes, I love this idea. I am actually a fan of a knead-included recipe (good for releasing tension I guess), but somedays my arms feel so weak it puts me off baking altogether! I will definitely be trying this recipe.

    Blue Skies,
    Charlotte xo

  7. February 8, 2011 12:29 am

    I might have a problem with letting this cool – I would want a slice hot straight from the oven.
    :-) Mandy

  8. Megan permalink
    February 8, 2011 7:01 am

    I love this! I have been wanting to bake my own bread for a while now and this looks perfect! I love your photography, the pictures turned out great!

  9. Carrie permalink
    February 8, 2011 10:52 am

    I have never tried freezing roasted garlic, but it stores very well in the refrigerator. Just let the roasted garlic cool, pop it out of its skins and store in a glass jar covered with a bit of olive oil. It will keep for weeks this way.

  10. February 8, 2011 11:27 am

    This sounds really, really good. Love that it’s no knead too! Moving to the top of my must-try list!

  11. February 8, 2011 5:18 pm

    But everyone wants to feel kneaded!!

  12. February 8, 2011 7:59 pm

    I like the idea of putting bits and pieces of garlic right in the bread. Yummy! Looks wonderful, and I like the idea of no kneading!

  13. February 8, 2011 10:08 pm

    Oh wow, does this sound amazing! To me, it actually sounds even better than traditional garlic bread…roasting the garlic brings out such a sweet, nutty flavor…bet it was incredible in this delicious bread!

  14. February 9, 2011 2:10 am

    i love the look of a good batch of n0-knead bread–all craggy and dense and rustic. nice work, incorporating roasted garlic like that!
    everyone wants to feel kneaded, indeed. :)

  15. February 9, 2011 10:40 am

    One of my favorite restaurants puts roasted garlic cloves inside their bread just like this — but to make it at home WITHOUT kneading?! Amazing.

  16. February 9, 2011 5:49 pm

    Mmmm I love roasted garlic. It makes no-knead bread that much more irresistible. Thanks for sharing this, Michelle!

  17. February 9, 2011 6:05 pm

    Mmm, I’ll bet this is good. I’ve never thought to put the garlic right in the bread dough like that. Simple yet brilliant :)

  18. February 9, 2011 9:31 pm

    mmm that looks truly scrumptious – I love garlic and bread so how could it go wrong :P

  19. February 9, 2011 9:47 pm

    No need AND garlic? Sign me up for this bread. It totally rocks.

  20. February 10, 2011 2:06 pm

    This looks so good! I will definitely be making this soon!

  21. February 11, 2011 9:31 pm

    This looks fantastic. I have definitely got to try it. 2 Kids and Tired Cooks

  22. February 15, 2011 3:04 pm

    I just sent this recipe to my husband – he loves making bread (a new found hobby) and garlic bread is by far his favorite. He made some garlic knots a few weeks ago, but this bread looks absolutely fabulous.

  23. February 17, 2011 6:50 pm

    Bread is my weakness. Garlic is my weakness. Must try this!

  24. February 18, 2011 12:05 am

    It turned out awesome! Did youhave it with runny eggs like you wanted? I’ll have to try this version sometime- love garlic anything!

  25. jim permalink
    June 11, 2011 12:51 pm

    Hi,

    Garlic bread sounds awesome!

    For a great guide on growing your own garlic see below.

    http://www.wascene.com/home-garden/grow-your-own-garlic/

    Regards,
    Jim

  26. Diane permalink
    March 28, 2013 1:18 pm

    Has anyone actually tried this recipe? Yes, it looks great, but did it work? I’ve heard that you’re not supposed to put garlic in the dough because it stops the bread from rising. Anyone know anything about this? Diane

  27. oneordinaryday permalink*
    April 1, 2013 4:38 pm

    Diane – I’ve never heard of garlic preventing a rise in bread baking. I didn’t have any problem with that, nor did the blogger I got the recipe from.
    ~ Michelle

  28. March 17, 2014 6:23 pm

    Look amazing :)
    i would like to try it :D

Trackbacks

  1. My first edible roasted no-knead garlic bread | Living Authentically

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 840 other followers