Skip to content

Buttermilk muffins

February 22, 2011

Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Muffins

If you read this blog much, you may have noticed that if I mention breakfast, it usually has something to do with Jim and his pancakes.  Or maybe the fact that our kids barely manage to get through a day if there aren’t any of those said pancakes in the freezer.  These muffins were born on one of those days.  Desperate to get my kids out the door without listening to them fuss over a breakfast they couldn’t have, I whipped these together and had them baked in short order.  Sounds very June Cleaver of me, doesn’t it?

All kidding aside, I made some of these buttermilk muffins with mini chocolate chips for the kids and some without, for me.  I really loved the plain ones, though they’d also be delicious with some berries tucked inside.  The hint of orange zest was great, and I’ve become a real fan of the texture you get when you bake with buttermilk.  Definitely a pretty versatile recipe and a good base for whatever add-ins you’d like.  A good remedy for whiny kids too.

{one year ago:  chocolate sour cream cake}
{two years ago:  pulled pork barbecue}

Recipe:  Buttermilk Chocolate Chip Muffins

(adapted from Joy of Baking)

2 1/2 c. King Arthur white whole wheat flour (or all-purpose flour)

3/4 c. granulated sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/4 tsp. salt

zest of one orange

1 large egg, lightly beaten

3/4 c. buttermilk

2/3 c. canola oil

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

1/2 c. mini semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.  Spray muffin tin with nonstick cooking spray and set aside.

In a bowl, whisk together egg, buttermilk, oil, and vanilla extract.

In another bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and orange zest.  Fold in chocolate chips.  With a rubber spatula, fold the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients.  Stir until just combined, being careful to not overmix.

Fill each muffin cup almost full of batter.  Bake about 18-20 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  Transfer to a wire rack and cool in pan for 5 minutes.  Dust with powdered sugar, if desired.

Makes 12 muffins.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. February 22, 2011 3:43 pm

    I’ve never used buttermilk in a muffin recipe, but I can only imagine that it’s a great concept! I’m with your kids…I could never leave the house without SOME type of food in my stomach. These would be a good start to my day!

  2. michael permalink
    February 22, 2011 3:57 pm

    Can I please order a dozen? :)

  3. February 22, 2011 10:57 pm

    Why have I never thought of making buttermilk muffins before – genius idea – well done.
    :-) Mandy

  4. February 22, 2011 11:59 pm

    Any remedy for whiny kids is good in my book :P

    These muffins look lovely.

  5. February 23, 2011 12:50 am

    Buttermilk is the best secret ingredient ever! My kids would love if I whipped these up for them. My middle guy loves pancakes and could eat them everyday if I let him. He will even make them for dinner!

  6. February 23, 2011 12:45 pm

    Love the sound of this for breakfast!

  7. February 23, 2011 4:52 pm

    Can I come over for breakfast too? This sounds awesome, your kids are so lucky! Yum!!

  8. February 23, 2011 10:16 pm

    I love making buttermilk muffins. The chocolate chips added in them look so good. I bet they would be delicious with some berries…Yummy! :)

  9. Krista permalink
    February 24, 2011 3:41 pm

    Hello!
    I just wanted to let you know how much I LOVE your blog. Its so wonderful. I actually shared it to a few friends who also love it. Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful stories with us!

  10. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 24, 2011 4:17 pm

    Krista – Thank you so much for leaving such a nice comment. You made my day!
    ~ Michelle

  11. February 24, 2011 5:41 pm

    Awesome. Thank you! We need to revive Muffin Mondays at our house (one of the things that fell by the wayside after Tim’s accident last fall). Also Scone Sundays.

    Have you ever made pain au chocolat? I’ve been following Design Mom’s adventures in France and she said her six kids eat them nearly every morning now. I’d love to try to make some if I can find a recipe I can handle.

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    February 24, 2011 6:37 pm

    Shannon – I haven’t made a pain au chocolat, but I believe it’s a puff pastry with chocolate tucked inside, right? I did make puff pastry once and was so thrilled that it wasn’t nearly as difficult as I thought it’d be. Here’s a link back to that recipe, if you’re interested. http://tinyurl.com/4htnp2x
    And I’m sorry to say that I’ve only been following your blog for a short time and didn’t know Tim was in an accident. Hope you’ll get to start your Muffin Mondays and Scone Sundays again. They sound fun and delicious!
    ~ Michelle

  13. February 25, 2011 5:25 am

    buttermilk: the moist-maker. tasty brekkie! :)

  14. February 25, 2011 11:51 am

    I can just imagine how gorgeous these are! Yum!

  15. February 25, 2011 5:53 pm

    These must be so moist and delicious. What a fantastic indulgent breakfast treat!

  16. March 2, 2011 8:39 pm

    Mmm I can just imagine the tenderness and tang the buttermilk must provide. Wish I had you as a mom to make these for me 8).

  17. March 3, 2011 4:32 pm

    HA! You have whining kiddos, too?! Thought it was just mine. :) During the week they will eat Eggo waffles and sausage but on the weekends my breakfast cooking apron better be on or. These look like a yummy way to keep ‘em happy!
    ~ingrid

  18. lynda permalink
    August 14, 2011 5:24 am

    i just made these with white chocolate chips and without the orange zest as my husband doesn’t like orange. he loved them and ate 3 right at the counter. thank you.

Trackbacks

  1. A Mom's Year » Muffin Mondays

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 857 other followers