Skip to content

Chocolate waffles with warm cherry sauce & whipped cream

February 26, 2011

Chocolate Waffles with Sweet Cherry Sauce

Wow.  If you’re looking for a crazy decadent way to start your day, this is it.  I can’t begin to describe how much Jim and I enjoyed these waffles, and they make a delicious foundation for so many variations.  Anything you would normally pair with dark chocolate is fair game here.

This amazing breakfast is the creation of my boyfriend, my husband, and me.  Yeah, yeah, I know it’s not exactly proper to admit you have a boyfriend and a husband, but let me explain.  Around here, Alton Brown is jokingly (and adoringly) known as my boyfriend.  Jim gets the husband title fair and square.  After all, he’s the one who put the ring on my finger.  I just crush on AB from afar.  Like through my tv.  Don’t judge me.

Anyway, back to the waffles.  We topped these with a warm cherry sauce and some sweetened whipped cream.  They were stellar.  And I’m talking about the oohing and ahhing kind of stellar.  So much so that Sam declared we were “acting like old people” and to stop talking about waffles.  Ha!

{This recipe is part of a tasty roundup at Sweet as Sugar Cookies.  Check it out!}

{one year ago:  bagels}
{two years ago:  pasta with mascarpone cheese and homemade pesto}

Recipe:  Chocolate Waffles with Sweet Cherry Sauce

(my boyfriend’s waffles are from Food Network)

1 1/2 c. all-purpose flour

3 Tbsp. granulated sugar

1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. baking soda

3 whole eggs, beaten

4 Tbsp. unsalted butter, melted and slightly cooled

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

16 oz. buttermilk, room temperature

3/4 c. chocolate chips

vegetable spray for waffle iron

sweet cherry sauce (recipe follows), powdered sugar, sweetened whipped cream for toppings

Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s directions.

In a medium bowl whisk together the flour, sugar, cocoa powder, baking powder, salt, and baking soda.  In another bowl, beat together the eggs, melted butter and vanilla.  Add the buttermilk.  Add the wet ingredients to the dry and stir in the chocolate chips just until combined.  Allow to rest for 5 minutes.

Ladle the recommended amount of waffle batter onto the center of the iron. Close the iron top and cook until the waffle is crispy on both sides and is easily removed from iron. Serve immediately or keep warm in a 200 degree F oven until ready to serve.

Makes 6 waffles.

Recipe:  Sweet Cherry Sauce

16 oz. bag of frozen sweet cherries

1/4 c. cherry juice (found in the juice aisle of the grocery store)

2 Tbsp. granulated sugar

1 Tbsp. cornstarch

Combine all ingredients in a saucepan and bring to a low boil.  As mixture cooks, mash some of the cherries with the back of a wooden spoon.  Let mixture bubble and thicken while waffles are cooking and being kept warm in the oven.

21 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2011 7:16 am

    I don’t know if I could start the day with that – but I could definitely finish the day with it! It looks so delicious – it is making my tummy rumble!

  2. Dani Lawton permalink
    February 26, 2011 9:02 am

    Wow…they look amazing!

  3. February 26, 2011 9:41 am

    Oh. My. God.

    At the moment, I can’t decide if you’re an angel or the devil. These look amazing, and I’m already adding a few items to my grocery list as a result.

  4. February 26, 2011 11:33 am

    Those waffles sound HEAVENLY! I regret eating breakfast already because now I can’t make these today!
    And that joke about Alton Brown is too funny! :)

  5. February 26, 2011 1:41 pm

    these look amazing! i love black forest cake and this is like that…but for breakfast!

  6. Denise permalink
    February 26, 2011 3:19 pm

    I see your iron is a Belgium waffle iron. Is this successful with standard ‘waffle’ iron? Do ya know?

  7. February 26, 2011 5:37 pm

    Ha ha, Michelle you crack me up! Love these they look delicious. Now I really must go buy a waffle iron. Yum!

  8. February 27, 2011 12:20 am

    Oh wow, it’s like a black forest breakfast. Yummy. I have a sweet treat linky party going on at my blog and I’d like to invite you to stop by and link your waffles up. http://sweet-as-sugar-cookies.blogspot.com/2011/02/sweets-for-saturday-6.html

  9. February 27, 2011 3:15 am

    Oh boy, what a decadent way to start your day – fabulous!
    :-) Mandy

  10. February 27, 2011 1:13 pm

    Chocolate and cherries are such a perfect pair. I really can’t think of a better way than this to start the day!

  11. February 27, 2011 6:28 pm

    What a dangerous breakfast this could be!

  12. February 28, 2011 5:27 am

    stellar combo! not only has it never occurred to me to make chocolate waffles, but the awesome cherry sauce wasn’t in my wheelhouse either! nice work. :)

  13. Evie permalink
    February 28, 2011 8:48 pm

    Lovely!!!! U better make thse if I ever visit!!! :) Love ya! xoxo

  14. March 1, 2011 12:07 pm

    International Waffle Day is March 25, about a week after St Paddy’s. These look so good, you’re more than welcomed to have them on both International Waffle Day and National Waffle Day (August 24th). Cheers!

  15. Nina permalink
    March 1, 2011 3:09 pm

    What better combo than chocolate and cherries…a real black forest breakfast! Looks amazingly delicious.

  16. March 2, 2011 1:13 am

    You have a beautiful site…and these waffles look delicious…so gorgeous with that cherry sauce on top!

    I’m hosting the Culinary Smackdown Battle for March–the theme is Cookies. Would you like to join in for the fun? It doesn’ have to be a new post on your blog. You can pick your favorite cookie from your previous post too. All you have to do is link up your cookie creation. I have some great prizes waiting. Hope to see your entry soon!

    Amy

    http://utry.it/2011/03/culinary-smackdown-battlecookies.html

  17. March 3, 2011 12:23 am

    Mmm I can’t imagine a better way to start the day than these amazing chocolate cherry waffles.

  18. March 3, 2011 2:13 pm

    I’m not sure whether this should be classified breakfast or dessert, but either way, it sounds just amazing! Love the flavor combination, here!

    P.S. I had to read the boyfriend/husband thing like three times before I decided to keep reading…only to see you addressed in a few words later. Ha!

  19. March 3, 2011 3:25 pm

    I do the same thing at my house when I out do myself. Guess I’m old too. Just not as old as you! lol

    Did I tell you Devon got a waffle maker for Christmas? I love it! It’s so much easier than making all those pancakes. The kids have even made them for themselves. Miracle!
    ~ingrid

  20. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 4, 2011 4:13 pm

    Stephanie – Your comment cracked me up. I know it was a weird thing to write, but Jim’s the one that started teasing me about it. Sorry if I confused you! :)
    ~ Michelle

  21. March 18, 2011 12:42 pm

    Hey old people,

    These look delicious and are perfect for a special occasion or a Tuesday. What do you say you invite me over for some because I’m too lazy to make them ;-P

    I do have his regular waffle recipe ready to try someday. I hope it’s as good as his pancakes!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 856 other followers