Skip to content

Crockpot chicken curry

March 2, 2011

Crockpot Chicken Curry

We’ve had this chicken so many times that I don’t know why I haven’t posted it before now.  Crockpot meals are so easy and this one requires just a couple of ingredients.  You can use whatever cuts of skinless chicken you like and I’ve probably tried them all, but I prefer boneless skinless chicken breasts.  I’ve served this chicken curry with mashed potatoes, rice, and egg noodles; and we even like the leftovers in wraps.  It’s great to know I can grab a couple things from the pantry or freezer and know that we’re going to have a good dinner at the end of the day.

{one year ago:  marshmallows}
{two years ago:  s’mores cookie bars}

Recipe:  Crockpot Chicken Curry

(from Kraft Foods)

2-3 lbs. of skinless chicken, whatever cuts you prefer

2 c. chunky salsa

1 onion, diced

2 Tbsp. curry powder

1 c. sour cream

Place chicken in the slow cooker.  Combine salsa, onion, and curry powder in a bowl and pour over chicken.  Replace lid and cook on low 8-10 hours (or on high for 5 hours).

Remove chicken to serving platter and cover with foil.  Add sour cream to crockpot and stir until well blended.  Serve sauce over chicken.

 

20 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2011 9:57 am

    I came over from the Battle cookie smackdown. Love your pinwheel cookies and love your blog. Thanks for sharing with all of us.

  2. March 2, 2011 10:27 am

    I love making crockpot curry! I haven’t tried this particular recipe but will soon – it’s even easier than those I’ve come up with (usually using coconut milk).

  3. March 2, 2011 5:27 pm

    Sounds delicious and easy! I never would have thought of adding curry to salsa!

  4. March 2, 2011 7:56 pm

    I’m all for easy meals – and chicken – so this sounds good to me.

  5. March 3, 2011 3:10 pm

    Sounds good Michelle! Especially the easy part! I’m all about easy these days. :)
    ~ingrid

  6. March 4, 2011 4:46 am

    ah, blessed crockpot. where would i be without you? more frazzled and hungrier, to be sure. :)

  7. March 4, 2011 7:35 am

    That’s it?! Oh my this sounds so good and easy. I will make this one soon. I have been dying for curry! Thanks Michelle!

  8. March 4, 2011 7:27 pm

    Michelle,
    I had to come back and tell you that we just had this for dinner tonight and loved it. It was too late in the day to get it in the crockpot so it went in the oven covered at 375 for 80 minutes, I used leg quarters, it was what I had. SO GOOD! Thanks for sharing, this will be in our rotation.
    Robin Sue

  9. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 4, 2011 7:43 pm

    Robin Sue – How funny that you commented tonight. I was going to leave you a comment about your frozen sliders. Made a batch today and I could barely get them all wrapped and put away, because Sam and Jim kept snitching them. They are a huge hit and I will definitely make them again. Thanks!
    ~ Michelle

  10. March 6, 2011 3:09 am

    This recipe looks simply wonderful. Can’t wait to try it out!

  11. Evie permalink
    March 6, 2011 8:04 am

    Oh, since you’ve made sooo many times, why don’t I ever get anything likethat??? :
    :) Love ya!!! xoxo

  12. oneordinaryday permalink
    March 6, 2011 8:11 am

    Evie, my dear, you never eat anything I make for dinner when you’re here! And I love you too. xo
    ~ Aunt Shell

  13. Danielle Lawton permalink
    March 6, 2011 5:56 pm

    Made this chicken tonight for Sunday dinner. First of all, it was super easy to throw together and second, it was amazingly delicious. The sauce that the chicken cooks in is the perfect topping for rice. We LOVED it and cannot wait to make a sandwich tomorrow.

  14. March 9, 2011 6:08 pm

    I am eating up your blog, beautiful pics and recipes!

  15. March 12, 2011 12:56 pm

    Ah… well there is nothing wrong with simple and easy… In fact I love that especially for weekdays and your crockpot chicken curry looks delicious!

  16. March 24, 2011 9:26 am

    This sounds delicious! Now if only I had a crockpot. LOL

Trackbacks

  1. Do I need to soak dry beans before cooking in a crockpot? | girls cooking
  2. Chicken Curry? | Cool Cooking Recipes
  3. Crock Pot Chicken Curry | Flying on Jess Fuel
  4. Our Empty Nest | Sour Cream and Bacon Crock-Pot Chicken

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers