Skip to content

Texas brittle

March 6, 2011

Texas Brittle

I apologize for the whining you’re about to read, but I’ve been sick.  Blah.  It started exactly one week ago and I’ve been down and out and in a haze of decongestants and cough meds all week.  Nothing has tasted good, or even close to good, until yesterday.  Yesterday was the day I dragged myself out to the kitchen and made some Texas brittle.  Yep, those are Fritos you see there.  And pretzels.  And some chopped and toasted pecan pieces.  Then lots and lots of melted milk chocolate.  And guess what?  I could taste all its sweet and salty wonderfulness and life was good.  I’m still sick, unfortunately, so it was no miracle cure, but it definitely made me feel better!

{one year ago:  Jamaican coffee soda}
{two years ago:  zebra cake}

Recipe:  Texas Brittle

(many, many thanks to Karly from Buns in My Oven for the recipe)

Scatter a few handfuls of pretzel sticks on a cookie sheet.  Top with a few handfuls of corn chips, followed by about 4 oz. of melted milk chocolate and chopped pecans.  (I toasted my pecans in a skillet for a few minutes ahead of time, but you don’t have to do that.)  Place the cookie sheet in the freezer until the chocolate sets up.  Break into chunks and pieces and enjoy!

 

24 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2011 10:26 am

    For me, this stuff would be like crack! Yum.

    Glad you are feeling better…I woke up with a sore throat this morning. ARGH.

  2. March 6, 2011 12:02 pm

    Don’t feel bad. I also did a whining post recently after being sick. Bleh.
    Yummy idea for candy mmmmm

  3. March 6, 2011 5:40 pm

    Aw hope you’re feeling better! Our house is finally sick-free, thank God! And I’ve never hear of Texas brittle but it looks really good! :)

  4. michael permalink
    March 6, 2011 7:23 pm

    Simple and amazing. Sweet and salty perfection. Hope you’re feeling better.

  5. grandy permalink
    March 6, 2011 8:44 pm

    It looks good but i’m surprized you didn’t want french fries. love you..

  6. March 6, 2011 9:21 pm

    mmmmmm I bet that tastes good!

    Hope you feel better soon.

  7. March 6, 2011 10:41 pm

    Glad you’re feeling a bit better! Glad the Texas brittle could help a bit! ;)

  8. March 7, 2011 1:19 pm

    This is my kind of snack! In my eyes, not much beats the sweet/salty combo! Hope you get to feeling better very, very soon!

  9. March 7, 2011 2:11 pm

    This is so wrong. But so right. My kids will love me forever if I make this. Hope you’re feeling back to normal soon.

  10. March 7, 2011 5:49 pm

    being sick is never ever fun, but the fact that you were able to make and enjoy this tasty treat is a good sign!

  11. March 7, 2011 7:44 pm

    Oh no! I am so sorry to hear you have been sick. It has been going around here too. I was sick at the beginning of last week – not sure how I roasted that turkey, lol – I kept falling asleep!! This looks amazingly addicting. I always love your desserts so much, they are always so yummy. I am a sucker for anything salty & sweet so a batch of this around would definitely spell trouble. Hope you are back to 100% soon!! :)

  12. March 8, 2011 3:32 am

    I’m addicted to the flavours of salty and sweet together! This looks awesome!

    Hope you’re feeling better now.

  13. March 8, 2011 7:44 am

    Hi Michelle,
    So sorry to hear you are down and out. I had the creaping crud too and it was awful. Feel better soon. I guess the only good thing about you being sick is that you made this amazing looking snacky for us. My family would die for this and I think I have all the ingredients. Have a cuppa tea!
    Robin

  14. March 8, 2011 12:25 pm

    Ten years ago, I’d see this and leave the room at full run. But somewhere along the way the Maginot Line I’d built in my taste buds was overwhelmed by the mechanized onslaught of new combinations, and now just about anything that’s not glowing or won’t set off a Geiger counter seems cool with me. Heck, the Ben and Jerry’s guys have something out now with chocolate coated potato chips in it. So sign me up.

  15. March 8, 2011 3:54 pm

    mmmm. sweet salty goodness. i can see how this would make a very good distraction.

    things just drag on this time of year. no fun. i hope you feel better soon.

  16. Evie permalink
    March 8, 2011 9:09 pm

    Well, they look (and probably taste) amazing!!!! Did S+C like them??
    Oh, need to talk to you, text me tomorrow around 5

  17. March 8, 2011 10:16 pm

    Bummer it wasn’t the panacea you had hoped but at least it proved there was light at the end of the recovery tunnel. :)
    ~ingrid

  18. March 8, 2011 10:17 pm

    BTW, I like you new header and the photo of Ms. C & the little chickie.
    ~ingrid

  19. oneordinaryday permalink*
    March 9, 2011 7:33 am

    Evie – Okay, Miss Bossy Pants. And, no, the kids didn’t like them but Adam loved them and said I should sell it in a store. : )
    xoxoxo
    ~ Aunt Shell

  20. March 11, 2011 12:07 pm

    Hope you are better by now! That TX brittle looks very enticing. I hate to tell you, but I’m trying to give up sugar and refined carbs… But I’ll still be here to read your blog! If for no other reason than I love ya’, and to test my will power!

  21. March 13, 2011 6:53 pm

    oh my goodness – that looks like a delicious mess of salty/sweet!! I gave up chocolate for Lent!! I will have to try this in another 30 days or so!

  22. March 14, 2011 1:44 am

    I’m a bit late commenting, but I hope at least you’re much better now! This is the most unique brittle I’ve ever seen, but I really like the sweet, salty, crunchy combinations that have been popular lately (such as in the momofuku cookies). Bet I would love this bark.

  23. March 18, 2011 12:40 pm

    Chocolate covered Fritos. I think I could get on board with this.

  24. March 23, 2011 9:40 am

    I made chili the other night and my husband picked up some Fritos because he wanted me to try what he says is a “classic” combination – it was the first time I had Fritos in about 15 years, and while I hate to admit it, the combination is definitely a winner. I think he’d flip if I made this brittle for him.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 839 other followers