Skip to content

Sliders in under a minute

March 18, 2011

Frozen Homemade Sliders

Most of us love a good burger, but how about a slider that goes from freezer to plate in 45 seconds and it’s homemade?  My friend Robin Sue, from Big Red Kitchen, is the brains behind this yummy idea, and my son thinks she’s all that and a bag of chips.  I should have recorded the reaction I got from him when he came home from school and saw a big bag of sliders headed to the freezer.  He snagged a couple before they made it that far and dubbed them a huge hit.

(sliders straight from the freezer)

I’ll definitely be making these again, both because they’re really convenient to have in the freezer and because Sam has begged me to.  I’m going to try lightening up the beef though, with at least an 85/15 blend.  I know a burger purist would say 80/20 is the way to go, but seeing all that fat was just a little much.  I’ll let ya know how they turn out.

{one year ago:  dessert tacos}
{two years ago:  lentil taco meat}

Recipe:  Frozen Sliders

(first drooled over at Big Red Kitchen)

3 lbs. ground beef  (80/20 is recommended, but I’m going to try a leaner blend next time)

dried minced onions

hamburger seasoning blend  (such as Emeril’s Essence ~ homemade version follows recipe)

cheddar cheese slices

slider rolls

Sprinkle minced onions onto a large rimmed cookie sheet.  Press ground beef onto the cookie sheet.  Sprinkle with Emeril’s Essence or other seasoning blend.  Bake at 375 degrees for 18 minutes.  The hamburger will shrink up as it cooks and the onions will soften.  Remove from oven and cut hamburger into equal squares that will fit onto your rolls.  Place each burger (onion side up) onto a clean cookie sheet, top with a piece of cheese, and place in freezer for 1 hour.  Transfer each burger to a bun and wrap in waxed paper.  Secure with a small piece of masking tape and store in the same bag the rolls came in.

When ready to eat a slider, reheat in the waxed paper for 45 seconds in the microwave and top with your favorite toppings.

Homemade Emeril’s Essence:

(from Food Network)

2 1/2 tablespoons paprika

2 tablespoons salt

2 tablespoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon black pepper

1 tablespoon onion powder

1 tablespoon cayenne pepper

1 tablespoon dried oregano

1 tablespoon dried thyme

Store in airtight container.

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2011 12:38 pm

    This would be a good thing for me to make for my Sam too. THe man is always hungry!

  2. March 18, 2011 1:44 pm

    my husband, sean, would love these! he loves those frozen white castle burgers. what a clever idea :)

  3. Evie permalink
    March 19, 2011 9:38 am

    Only Sam…. What was Claud’s opinion??? Love ya! xoxo

  4. March 19, 2011 11:07 am

    Yay! So glad Sam is loving the sliders. I am hooked on this frozen sandwich idea, so easy to grab and run. Thanks for the link love! Have a great weekend.

  5. March 19, 2011 7:40 pm

    These look delicious- such a classic! Thanks for posting.

  6. March 20, 2011 2:35 pm

    What an awesome idea! I have a lot of night classes this semester, so it’d be great for my boyfriend to have these ready to go for a quick dinner.

  7. March 23, 2011 12:32 am

    I have been in such a rut for my hubbies lunch, these would be perfect! And the rice crispy treats…I don’t know if I can forgive you for that one :). They were already a weakness, you’re killing me.

  8. March 23, 2011 9:39 am

    GENIUS! Seriously, genius. My husband would love being able to heat some of these up while I’m still at work or at the gym. Thanks for the great idea! I love the paper wrappings, too – so cute!

  9. March 30, 2011 4:45 pm

    Oh, goodness. How brilliant is that! Must make – the family would think they’d gone to heaven!

  10. April 18, 2011 3:57 pm

    HOLY COW these look good! I am definitely going to try these out this week!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers