Skip to content

Mint cookies and cream ice cream

April 10, 2011

Mint Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

I haven’t given a thought to my ice cream machine in months.  Yet somehow those darn Double Stuf Cool Mint Oreos managed to jump right into my shopping cart last week and practically begged to be mixed into some ice cream.  It’s been so cold and wet and icky here, but I was hoping some minty ice cream would cheer us up.  Unfortunately, the mint part just wasn’t quite minty enough for me.  But those cookies?  They are a perfect ice cream addition!  Well, frankly, who needs the ice cream anyway… just pass me some cookies!

{one year ago:  pineapple goo cake}
{two years ago:  lemon sorbet}

Recipe:  Mint Cookies and Cream Ice Cream

(adapted from Serving Ice Cream.com)

1 cup milk

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 cups heavy whipping cream

1 1/2 tsp peppermint extract

3/4 cup chopped mint Oreo cookies

Dissolve milk and sugar using a wire whisk or hand mixer (mix approximately 1 -2 minutes).  Stir in heavy cream and peppermint extract.  Pour mixture into your ice cream maker.  Follow manufacturer’s directions, adding cookies during the last 5 minutes of churning.

17 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2011 2:40 pm

    i haven’t made ice cream in months either! i love cookies and cream, as well as mint chip…this sounds like the perfect combination!

  2. Evie permalink
    April 11, 2011 8:24 pm

    Ha! It was 70 degrees here today! >:) This looks great… I love Oreos too. LOVE YA!

  3. April 12, 2011 6:55 am

    i just purchased some breyers mint oreo ice cream, and it’s probably the best storebought ice cream i’ve ever eaten. i can only imagine how amazing a homemade batch would be!

  4. April 12, 2011 1:56 pm

    I’ve held off on buying an ice cream maker for some time now. Your post isn’t helping me stay strong! I love, love, love chocolate and mint together.

    And I really want those cookies now. I’m forgetting all about my upset stomach – perhaps mint oreos (or at least the thought of them) cures nausea???

  5. April 12, 2011 6:57 pm

    Amazing. Wish I had a bowl of that right now!

  6. April 12, 2011 9:28 pm

    Mmm cookies N cream. That’s good stuff right there =D.

  7. April 13, 2011 7:30 am

    Michelle I have not used my ice cream machine in ages, so yes it is time for it to come out, but with this lousey weather, I can’t make myself. Where o where is spring! Do you all have Spring break soon? We start this Saturday!!! Can’t wait.

  8. April 16, 2011 11:23 pm

    This looks like heaven. Thanks for sharing!

  9. Evie permalink
    April 17, 2011 7:42 pm

    Yeah it was snowing/raining this morning…. I can’t wait for Spring and Easter!!! =)

  10. April 18, 2011 7:37 pm

    Mmmmm this looks gorgeous! Perfect for the summer-all-year climate we have here in Singapore.

  11. April 19, 2011 5:55 pm

    It’s aboout time I took out the icecreammachine too. Especially since it was really a warm day today and more sunshine to come! Whoohoo! Hope your weather improves quickly too but at least you have this gorgeous icecream to look forward too!

  12. April 19, 2011 5:56 pm

    You’re and evil temptress… Mint oreos with ice cream are totally my weakness! ;)

  13. April 19, 2011 5:57 pm

    I mean… ‘You’re AN evil temptress’. I had to redeem myyself.

  14. Evie permalink
    April 21, 2011 4:21 pm

    It’s warmin up here!!! Oh Yeah!! =)

  15. April 22, 2011 9:57 am

    Have a super great Easter Weekend!

  16. April 22, 2011 1:36 pm

    Hmmm, I haven’t had homemade ice cream in a long time…I need to break out mine and whip some up of this.
    ~ingrid

  17. April 23, 2011 3:30 pm

    Cookies and cream ice cream has been a craving of mine recently and Blue Bell so far is doing well at pleasing me, however I know that homemade is so much better!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers