Skip to content

Butterscotch nut cookie tart

April 29, 2011

Butterscotch Nut Cookie Tart

I intended to share all three butterscotch Throwdown recipes with you, but my mom didn’t even keep hers around!  She made a butterscotch caramel sauce that the kids really loved dipping fruit into, but I’m afraid that’s all I’ve got.  Honestly, she didn’t ditch the recipe cause she’s a sore loser or anything.  hehe  She’s just not one to let a stray piece of paper loiter on a countertop, so it’s not a surprise to me at all that it’s been tossed.

So I’ll just be sharing the winner of our annual Throwdown… my sister Dani’s butterscotch nut cookie tart!  This is the recipe that got my vote.  It was served warm and reminded me quite a bit of pecan tassies.  It was delicious and very deserving of our trophy.  {Breaks my heart just a little to write that, I’m not gonna lie.}

This cookie tart is a good example of why we should be trying the recipes on the backs of boxes and bags.  Dani found this one on the back of the butterscotch morsels bag!

Recipe:  Butterscotch Nut Cookie Tart

(from Hershey’s)

1 (1/2 of 15-oz. pkg.) refrigerated pie crust
1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine, softened
2 eggs, beaten
2 teaspoons rum extract
1 cup sugar
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup chopped walnuts
3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons (1/2 11-oz. pkg.) HERSHEY’S Butterscotch Chips
Vanilla ice cream (optional)

Heat oven to 350°F.  Unroll pastry; place in bottom and up sides of 9-inch springform pan.  Beat butter in medium bowl; add eggs and rum extract, blending well.  Stir together sugar, flour and salt; beat into butter mixture. Stir in walnuts and butterscotch chips; spread in bottom of crust.  Fold edges of crust loosely over filling, if desired.

Bake 45 to 50 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool 10 minutes on wire rack; remove side of springform pan. Best if served slightly warm.  Cut into wedges and serve with vanilla ice cream, if desired.  12 to 16 servings.

16 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2011 2:07 am

    Hmm, yummy – congratulations to your sister for winning this years throwdown.
    :-) Mandy

  2. April 29, 2011 1:51 pm

    OOh I love pecan tassies so these would be something I would like. Sounds like your family has such a good time together!

  3. April 29, 2011 3:09 pm

    An butterscotch, we meet again. That looks so good!

  4. April 29, 2011 3:36 pm

    Both recipes look delish! Both winners!

  5. Evie permalink
    April 30, 2011 9:26 am

    I stsill thinks Grandy’s was the best… Just joking :) Aunt Dani deserved to win.

  6. April 30, 2011 6:15 pm

    Oh the texture of this looks amazing. I want a bite! 8)

  7. May 1, 2011 3:22 am

    It looks delicious for sure so sounds like a good winner to me. I should really be paying more attention to the recipes on boxes too I guess… I never even look at them… Mmm.

  8. May 2, 2011 5:09 am

    Definitely looks like a winner to me! And I love that it comes from the back of the bag. I never actually thought to look behind :P

  9. May 2, 2011 8:54 am

    This looks really fantastic! The combo of the nuts with butterscotch is wonderful!

  10. May 2, 2011 9:53 am

    This looks soo delicious! I need to buy those Hershey’s butterscotch chips! :)

  11. May 3, 2011 2:05 am

    it’s no surprise to me that this was the winner–what decadence! ooey, gooey, buttery, and sweet. amen.

  12. May 4, 2011 8:44 pm

    This looks so gooey. Not being a fan of butterscotch, do you think cinnamon chips would be good in this or not?

  13. May 6, 2011 1:56 pm

    Yum… looks great! Thanks for sharing.

  14. oneordinaryday permalink*
    May 7, 2011 7:51 am

    Monica, you know I’m not a big butterscotch lover either, but it was really good. Now you’ve got me wanting to make it with cinnamon chips! I bet it would be awesome!
    ~ Michelle

  15. May 9, 2011 10:10 am

    This was really good! I did make a few changes. First, I used puff pastry. (no pie dough) Second I used my cast iron pan & lowered the temp 25 degrees. My last change was to use dark run instead of extract. (I didn’t have any.) I’m thinking of making it again but in ramekins without the pie crust. If I do I’ll let ya know.
    ~ingrid

  16. October 18, 2011 7:55 am

    this is same as nestle cookie pie recipe. this recipe just has 1/4 cup less butter. http://www.verybestbaking.com/recipes/28218/NESTL%C3%89-TOLL-HOUSE-Chocolate-Chip-Pie/detail.aspx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers