Skip to content

Peanut butter and chocolate cookie bars

May 26, 2011

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookie Bars

I’ve been a real slacker in the kitchen since I went back to work.  I just haven’t found that “working mom” groove, and am still figuring out how to juggle a work life and a real life.  Does that make sense?  Don’t get me wrong, I really like my job, but I’m finding I don’t spend as much time in my kitchen now that my free time is limited.  I miss it.  And my kids miss it even more.  So when the urge to bake gets really strong, I have to hurry and get in there before it passes.  Believe me, it’s fleeting.

We’re big lovers of that yummy combination of peanut butter and chocolate, so this type of cookie bar should be a sure crowd-pleaser.  I have to tell you though, that this cookie got mixed reviews from my expert panel of tasters.  No one was thrilled with the chocolate cookie layer part until day 2.  The first day, it was so dry and crumbly that it just wasn’t enjoyable.  But by the second day, it was really good.  Go figure.  The bars didn’t get gobbled up as quickly as they usually would have, but they disappeared the day after I made them all the same.

{one year ago:  lavender ricotta ice cream}
{two years ago:  chocolate chip cookie dough dip}

Recipe:  Peanut Butter and Chocolate Cookie Bars

1 3/4 c. flour

3/4 c. powdered sugar

1/4 c. unsweetened cocoa powder

1 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips

2 c. peanut butter chips, divided

1 c. unsalted butter, chilled and cut into chunks

1 14-oz. can sweetened condensed milk

1 tsp. pure vanilla extract

Heat oven to 350 degrees and line a 9×13″ baking pan with parchment paper or foil.

In the bowl of your food processor (or in a regular mixing bowl), add flour, sugar, cocoa powder. Cut in butter by pulsing until crumbly.  (If working by hand, use your fingers or a pastry cutter until mixture is dry and crumbly.)  Press firmly into bottom of baking pan.  Bake for 12-15 minutes.

In the meantime, gently heat sweetened condensed milk and 1 c. of peanut butter chips.  Stir frequently, until morsels have melted and mixture is smooth and creamy.  Remove from heat and stir in vanilla. Remove pan from oven after 12-15 minutes and pour melted peanut butter mixture over the cookie crust.  Spread evenly.  Sprinkle with remaining chocolate chips and peanut butter chips.   Press down gently on toppings.  Return pan to oven and bake an additional 18-20 minutes or until set.  Transfer to wire rack to cool completely before cutting into squares or bars.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2011 6:47 am

    Hope you find your groove soon again.
    :-) Mandy

  2. May 26, 2011 8:02 am

    lots of reasons to prefer bars over cookies … ease of prep, for one … but my mom conditioned me that if it’s peanut butter-based, then it HAS to have those fork tine criss-crosses on the top. so there’s another therapy session for me …

    cheers and have a great weekend!

  3. May 26, 2011 10:25 am

    Sometimes I wish my urge to bake was fleeting. Instead, when I get the urge, it’s all I can think about. I’ll try to pass my baking urges on to you. :)

  4. May 26, 2011 4:20 pm

    I like the texture on the top of these- they almost look like a cobblestone road.

  5. May 27, 2011 10:47 am

    Congratulations on going back to work! and good luck getting into your new groove–you will find it!

  6. May 28, 2011 3:50 am

    Boy, those look tasty!

    That makes perfect sense, transitions can be tough. I hope you find a happy balance with your new lifestyle!

  7. May 29, 2011 5:44 am

    those peanut butter chips are SO good. tasty bars, and good luck finding your groove!

  8. Evie permalink
    May 29, 2011 6:53 pm

    They may not taste good, but they sure do look great!

  9. May 31, 2011 1:20 am

    Yum, my mouth is already watering! These look simply fantastic!

  10. June 7, 2011 11:15 am

    Mmm so yummy! Love PB with chocolate.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers