Skip to content

Watermelon smoothie popsicles

July 19, 2011

Watermelon Smoothie Popsicles

We can’t seem to get enough watermelon these days.  In fact, I just went out and bought two more this morning.  Parfaits, lemonade, ginger coolers, or just out of hand ~ each and every watermelon treat is refreshing.

I found a recipe for watermelon smoothie popsicles not long ago, and the world got even better.  The funny thing about it is that Jim and I have fallen in love with watermelon smoothies for breakfast, and the heck with the freezer!  So whether you have the patience to wait for these yummy popsicles or if you’d rather just go straight from blender to belly, I think you’re going to love this.

Recipe:  Watermelon Smoothie Popsicles

(adapted from Family Fresh Cooking)

1 1/2 – 2 c. seedless watermelon (or watermelon with seeds removed)
3/4 c. vanilla Greek yogurt
your favorite sweetener, to taste  (I use 1 packet of Stevia sweetener.)

Puree watermelon in a blender or food processor.  Add yogurt and sweetener of choice.  Blend well.  Pour into popsicle molds and freeze.

Recipe:  Watermelon Blueberry Smoothies

(I don’t really measure out the ingredients, but just toss them all into the blender and mix it up.  This has become our favorite go-to breakfast!)

seedless watermelon
vanilla Greek yogurt
a handful of frozen blueberries
sweetener, to taste  (1 Stevia packet works for us.)

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 2:05 pm

    Yum! I love everything watermelon and these are just so refreshing!

  2. Evie permalink
    July 19, 2011 3:27 pm

    Everything Watermelon can be another name for this blog. =)

  3. July 20, 2011 9:02 am

    I’m all about everything watermelon in the summer.

  4. July 21, 2011 3:30 am

    I’ve been craving watermelon like no other lately. And tonight alone i’ve seen about 4 different watermelon recipes. yum!

  5. July 21, 2011 10:40 am

    These look so summery and refreshing, who could resist?

  6. July 21, 2011 4:25 pm

    My girls love watermelon! And these look incredibly easy to make. Great for the super hot weather we’ve been having. Thanks for the recipe!

    Erika K

    Cuisinart 7 cup food processor

  7. grandy permalink
    July 21, 2011 7:26 pm

    I hate this weather. So, I’m gonna have Grandy make this tomorrow! Of course, I’ll help by “supervising.” =) Perfect strategy, huh?!

  8. Evie permalink
    July 21, 2011 7:28 pm

    Oh great, I accidently dubbed myself as GRANDY!!!!

  9. July 21, 2011 11:24 pm

    We love watermelon, too. Lily would happily eat it every day. Your watermelon recipes look terrific.

  10. July 24, 2011 11:02 pm

    These sound amazing!! I was just checking out another blog and read a comment from you that says you pre-measure and freeze your shredded zucchini. I tried it last year and I wrote on my bag how much was in there, but when I thawed it, I had way less and a tonz of water? So, I was wondering, when you thaw your zucchini do you use the new amount that’s in there or do you use what it would have been and add all that water too? I would love to try and freeze some again, but I am not sure how to go about it? Thanks for your help.

  11. oneordinaryday permalink
    July 25, 2011 8:42 am

    Jenn – That’s a good question! I’ve never dumped in the water with the zucchini, but just used the zucchini that was there. I’ve had good results for the things I’ve baked with it, so I hope you do too!
    ~ Michelle

  12. July 28, 2011 4:24 pm

    I am so into all the fun popsicles recipes that have been “popping” up all over the web this summer. This one looks like a definite must try!

Trackbacks

  1. Free Watermelon Smoothie Popsicle Recipe |

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers