Skip to content

Chocolate chip skillet cookie

August 25, 2011

Skillet Cookie

Well, darn.  Summer vacation is over.  How did that happen?

My kids started back to school today.  None of us was quite ready to say goodbye to long days full of whatever our hearts desired.  And we definitely weren’t up for saying hello to homework and early mornings.  To try to make the transition a little sweeter, I made this big ole skillet cookie.  I think it helped.

The skillet cookie was greeted with thunderous applause and in case you’re wondering, yes, I am the “best mom ever.”  (My apologies to those of you who thought it was you.  Today I got the honors, which was kinda nice after being so unpopular last night at bedtime.)

This cookie was everything I dreamed it would be.  Slightly warm from the oven, it was gooey and chewy and absolutely delicious.  We enjoyed big wedges with ice cold milk as soon as the kids got home from school, and I’m pretty sure I’ll sneak a bit for breakfast when no one’s looking.  It’ll be tasty alongside my coffee.

{one year ago:  blt pancakes with basil cream}

Recipe:  Skillet Cookie

(from Ezra Pound Cake, adapted from Martha Stewart Living)

2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1/2 cup sugar
1 large egg
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1 1/2 cups semisweet chocolate chips

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  In a medium bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, cream butter and sugars until the mixture is light and fluffy, about 2 minutes.  Add egg and vanilla, mixing until they are fully incorporated.  Add flour mixture, and beat until just combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Transfer dough to a 10-inch ovenproof skillet, and press to flatten, covering the bottom of the pan. Bake until the edges are brown and top is golden, 35-40 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool, 15 to 20 minutes. Cut into wedges.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. michael permalink
    August 25, 2011 8:35 pm

    I love a good skillet cookie, and yours looks amazing!

  2. August 25, 2011 8:58 pm

    oh my GOODNESS, this looks too yummy for words! thanks for sharing such a good recipe!

  3. August 25, 2011 10:02 pm

    I love making chocolate chip cookies in a bar form and this is really similar! So much easier than forming individual cookies and much thicker! Mmmm!

  4. August 26, 2011 4:01 am

    what a novel idea – never made a skillet cookie before. It looks great.
    Have a happy weekend.
    :-) Mandy

  5. August 26, 2011 7:43 am

    This is ideal for people like me who hate making individual cookies! My girls will love this.

  6. August 26, 2011 9:01 am

    Amazing. Perfectly browned and ready for a glass of milk. I featured this post over at my blog today. Thank you so much for the recipe :)

  7. August 26, 2011 2:00 pm

    Mmm delicious!

  8. August 28, 2011 10:25 am

    Reading this post made me smile. I used to have homemade cookies waiting for my kinds on the first day of school. I love the idea of eating a slice of cookie. (I think you get more that way!)

  9. August 29, 2011 12:03 am

    I have never heard of a skillet cookie before – that looks fantastic! What a great idea :)
    It also looks like a good time saver since you don’t have to bother dividing into individual cookie portions. YUM.

  10. August 29, 2011 5:37 am

    terrific. the only drawback here is that i doubt i’d stop at one sliver. after all, a cookie is meant to be eaten all at once. :)

  11. August 30, 2011 10:10 am

    The best thing about being an adult is that you can steal all the pieces of skillet cookies you want for breakfast and no one can stop you! :) This looks delish, and I’m sure it made the first day of school a little less horrible. You deserve the “best mom ever” title.

  12. August 31, 2011 6:47 pm

    Oh, you ARE the best mom ever!

    (By the way, my award is titled ‘Mother of the Year’, so we’re not in the same competition. ;)

  13. September 1, 2011 2:27 pm

    I think you def. had something with the combining of monster cookie + skillet cookie. I could dive head first into this without shame.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 818 other followers