Skip to content

Sour cream & chicken enchiladas

October 13, 2011

Sour Cream & Chicken Enchiladas

I’ve had Pioneer Woman’s sour cream enchilada recipe bookmarked for so long I almost forgot about it altogether.  I’ve never even eaten an enchilada before I made these!  I know, we are such a plain jane bunch around here.  Turns out that I liked them, though it’s a bummer that this is the exact opposite of a lowfat meal.  I did try to lighten it a bit by using whole wheat tortillas and lowfat sour cream, but I can’t bring myself to skimp on the cheese.

I’ve been trying to think of dinners that I can have stored in the freezer for busy days.  Wonder if these can be made ahead and frozen…  What do ya think?

{two years ago:  chocolate pumpkin cupcakes}

Recipe:  Sour Cream & Chicken Enchiladas

(adapted from Pioneer Woman)

12 whole wheat tortillas
canola non-stick cooking spray
1 20-oz. can of enchilada sauce
2 c. sour cream
2 c. sharp cheddar cheese, grated   (I confess to using more than 2 c. of cheese.  It’s a weakness!)
2 c. cooked, shredded chicken
1 c. green onions, sliced
1/2 tsp. ground cumin
1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Mix together sour cream, 1 1/2 cups grated cheddar, shredded chicken, green onions, cumin, and cayenne pepper.

Spray skillet with non-stick cooking spray, over medium heat. Pour enchilada sauce in a pie tin or deep dish for easy dipping.

Using tongs, warm tortillas in skillet one at a time, for only about five to ten seconds per side (don’t allow to crisp.)  Immediately dunk tortilla in enchilada sauce.  Lay tortilla on a plate, then spoon a good two or three tablespoons of the sour cream/chicken mixture in the middle. Roll tortilla, then place face down in a 9 x 13 inch baking pan. Repeat with remaining tortillas and sour cream/chicken mixture.  Cover the dish with the remaining cheese, then bake for 15 to 20 minutes until bubbly.

Serve immediately. Place a dollop of sour cream on each serving, then sprinkle with chives or green onion slices.

 

 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2011 8:43 pm

    These look amazing! I love chicken enchiladas and make then pretty frequently for my family. I also with they were healthier! Oh well :) Thanks for sharing

  2. October 13, 2011 10:35 pm

    Did you seriously just say that you’d never eaten an enchilada before this? That’s just about the most absurd thing I’ve ever heard.

    I make chicken enchiladas with cream cheese. So much lighter than the sour cream…uh, not. Delicious, though!

    And, I insist that you head to the nearest Mexican joint and order a plate of cheese enchiladas. Trust me.

  3. October 14, 2011 10:26 am

    They may freeze fine except the sour cream sauce may look different but taste just the same. This looks like a nice and comforting meal. But yeah would have to do extra laps!

  4. October 14, 2011 4:55 pm

    I cannot believe you’ve never had enchiladas before this day. I’ve never made this particular recipe, but we frequently make large batches of my mom’s enchilada recipe and freeze whatever we don’t eat. There’s just as good reheated as they are fresh!

  5. October 14, 2011 8:43 pm

    These look incredibly delicious. I have a great freezable Neopolitan casserole that my grandma makes that you might be interested in. It’s easy and the kind of thing that even fussy people like my family likes. I’ll let you know when I get it posted if you’d like to check it out.

  6. October 16, 2011 4:16 am

    mexican food is a)completely unphotogenic, and b)wholly delicious and satisfying. nice plate!

  7. October 17, 2011 10:46 am

    Mmm, I love enchiladas. I always add more cheese, too, telling myself I’m just trying to support local farmers. :D

  8. October 25, 2011 1:48 pm

    I stumbled on your blog while looking for a harissa substitute and am definitely coming back for more. If your cooking is as half as good as your photography, then you’re my kind of fun!

  9. October 26, 2011 12:15 am

    “I’ve never even eaten an enchilada before I made these!” what?! how can that be?

  10. Alyssa permalink
    November 3, 2011 8:26 pm

    I’ve made this Pioneer Woman recipe before too and it’s delicious! I made them by the book the first time, but ever since then I skip dipping the tortillas in oil and only dip them in the enchilada sauce. I can’t taste a difference and it makes them just a “bit” more healthy.

Trackbacks

  1. A Mom's Year » Happy Weekend

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 841 other followers