Skip to content

Baked buttermilk donuts

January 9, 2012
tags: ,

Buttermilk Donuts

I know a real donut should be fried in oil, but I really love this mini donut pan and the cute little cakes that come from it.  In my eyes, these are donuts all the same.  Just healthier.  And my kids love them as an after-school snack.

You could top these any way you like.  They’d be great dipped in melted chocolate or with a glaze, but I like the crunch of the granulated sugar in every bite.  And they got a thumbs-up from my target audience too.

{one year ago:  chicken salad pasta cups}
{three years ago:  red velvet cake roll}

Recipe:  Baked Buttermilk Donuts

(from Health.com)

1 cup whole-wheat flour
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1/2 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup low-fat buttermilk
2 large eggs
1/4 cup honey
2 tablespoons melted butter
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
extra sugar for coating donuts

Preheat oven to 425°.  Lightly coat a donut pan with cooking spray.

Combine flours, sugar, baking powder, nutmeg, and salt in a large bowl, whisking well.

Combine buttermilk, eggs, honey, butter, and vanilla in a separate bowl, stirring well with a whisk. Add buttermilk mixture to flour mixture; whisk just until combined.

Spoon batter into a pastry bag or a plastic storage bag with the corner cut off.  Fill donut pan 2/3 full.  Bake in middle of oven until donuts spring back when touched and are golden on bottom, about 8 minutes.  Remove donuts from pan and immediately dip into sugar while still warm.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. January 9, 2012 1:26 pm

    I’ve been toying with buying a mini-donut pan and I think you’ve just pushed me over the edge. These look awesome!

  2. January 9, 2012 4:45 pm

    These are beautiful! I have been making lots of donuts lately…I need to try these!

  3. January 9, 2012 10:51 pm

    These look great! Personally, I don’t like fried donuts, so these are right up my alley.

  4. January 10, 2012 7:21 pm

    Mmm…these look fantastic! I’ve always wanted to try making my own donuts. Perhaps this will be the inspiration I need :)

  5. January 12, 2012 1:12 pm

    Yum! I love sugar covered donuts!

  6. January 12, 2012 1:30 pm

    i don’t discriminate against donuts that aren’t deep fried. :)

  7. January 13, 2012 7:30 am

    I have been wanting a donut pan forever! These are super awesome. Looks soooo yummy, I can see why your kids love them!

  8. February 3, 2012 8:18 pm

    I keep seeing these baked donuts and I want a pan! You should have a giveaway. ::wink::wink::

Trackbacks

  1. a few favorites | Brownies for Dinner
  2. Whole Wheat Buttermilk Cake Doughnuts « Cook Eat Run Play

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 859 other followers