Skip to content

Cornmeal waffles and chili

January 15, 2012

Cornmeal Waffles with Chili

You know that psychological test when one person says a word and you say the first thing that pops into your head?
Peanut Butter … Jelly.
Milk … Cookies.
Chocolate … Vanilla.

Wouldn’t you add chili and cornbread to a list like that?  They go so perfectly together and are such a tasty pair that I don’t really think about chili without thinking about cornbread to go with it.  Until today, that is.  Now I’ll think of waffles instead!

These waffles have the flavor of cornbread, but the texture of waffles.  The best of both, and delicious smothered in hot chili.  I thank Paula Deen for the waffle inspiration, but the chili is the recipe I’ve made forever.  It’s not all that different from your average chili, except for my secret ingredient.  (Don’t you love being able to say you have a secret ingredient?)  I keep small cans of spinach in my pantry and whenever I make chili or spaghetti sauce, I always puree a can of spinach and add it to the pot.  The spinach gives the sauces a deeper flavor and it’s an easy way to add something really healthy to our meal.  Give it a try.  You won’t be disappointed.

Food like this can get ya through the cold winter.

{one year ago:  chocolate cookie bars}
{two years ago:   whole wheat pumpkin muffins with cream cheese glaze}
{three years ago:  chocolate butter cake}

Recipe:  Cornmeal Waffles

(adapted from Paula Deen)

1 3/4 c. white whole wheat flour  (You can also use all-purpose flour)
1 1/4 c. yellow cornmeal
1 Tbsp. baking powder
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. salt
2 c. milk, any fat content
3 Tbsp. vegetable oil
2 large eggs, separated
Chili, my recipe follows or use your favorite
Chopped green onions, sour cream, and shredded cheese, to garnish

Preheat waffle iron according to manufacturer’s instructions.

In a large bowl, whisk together flour, cornmeal, baking powder, sugar, and salt; set aside.  Beat egg whites in a separate bowl until soft peaks form, about one minute; set aside.  Add milk, oil, and egg yolks to the flour mixture; stirring until smooth.  Gently fold in beaten egg whites.  Do not overmix.  Pour batter onto hot waffle iron and bake in batches.  Keep cooked waffles warm by placing them on a cookie sheet in a 250 degree oven.

Recipe:  Chili

(not sure where the recipe originated, but I’ve tweaked it a bit over the years and it’s my tried and true chili)

1 lb. ground beef
1 large onion, diced
1 28-oz. can petite diced tomatoes
1 28-oz. can tomato sauce
1 7.75 oz. can cut or whole leaf spinach
4 15.5-oz. cans of chili beans  (I use Hanover brand chili beans in sauce)
2 Tbsp. chili powder
2 tsp. salt
1 tsp. sugar
1 tsp. Worcestershire sauce

Brown ground beef with onion in a stock pot.  While meat is browning, empty contents of the can of spinach (with the liquid) into a small food processor.  Process spinach until it is the consistency of baby food; set aside.  Once the ground beef is no longer pink, add diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, pureed spinach, and chili beans.  Add spices and Worcestershire sauce.  Stir to combine.  Cook over medium heat for one hour.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 15, 2012 5:00 pm

    Michelle I’ve been so out of touch. I’m not sure quite how/when it happened but I’ve been spending much less time on line lately.
    I hope all is well with you and your family.
    Bestest,
    Diana

  2. January 16, 2012 12:31 pm

    cornbread is totally my word association with chili! this is a unique and delicious take on the combo!

  3. Ingrid permalink
    January 16, 2012 6:46 pm

    Secret & sneaky ingredient! Makes me wish I had to be sneaky to get my kids to eat their veggies! :-)
    ~Ingrid

  4. January 19, 2012 4:36 pm

    I’m totally intrigued with these, and also the spinach in the chili. I am going to have to try that! Such a good idea!

  5. January 31, 2012 11:27 am

    I’ve been seeing more and more savory waffles in a few blogs lately and have been hesitate to try making them for myself. But this one here looks too good to miss out on.

  6. February 3, 2012 7:37 pm

    I never would have guessed there was spinach in your chili. I love sneaking veggies into dishes. We had cornbread and chili a couple weeks ago, but not I want waffles!

  7. December 29, 2012 4:27 pm

    I’m a glut free girl while I’m on my meds… I did some subs.. took out the flour and used Jules. I also used coconut milk and oil.. I had to add extra milk with the changing of the flours. NOW I have to tell you how amazing they are… Because they are savory the hint of coconut really compliments the chili! Thanks for posting this ! It made my winter day perfect ! Jules ( not the same Jules as the flour )

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 817 other followers