Skip to content

Quinoa breakfast porridge

March 6, 2012

Quinoa Breakfast Porridge

When I get called to sub, I’m usually in a huge rush to get myself and the kids ready and out of the house early.  And since I know I’m going to be busy all day, I have to make sure to eat something good and filling for breakfast.  This porridge was born to help me out with that.  It’s kind of a twist on oatmeal, cream of wheat, and grits.  Something warm and filling to get my engine running.

I made a batch of quinoa following the package directions – 2 cups of water to 1 cup of quinoa.  Once that was cooked, I added a cup of almond milk and simmered it until it thickened up a little.  Now comes the creative part.  Spoon one serving into a bowl and start adding in your favorite extras.  Since I used unsweetened almond milk, I drizzled the porridge with honey and tossed in some thawed frozen blueberries.  A little applesauce and cinnamon is a good combination too, but my favorite is to just quickly add some flavored coffee creamer and honey.  Yum.  Use whatever stir-ins you like and start your day on the right foot.

(Store the remaining quinoa in an airtight container in the fridge and you’ve got breakfast for the next couple days too.)

{one year ago:  Texas brittle}
{two years ago:  Jamaican coffee soda}

{three years ago:  zebra cake}

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 6, 2012 2:56 pm

    I get called to sub, too! Always makes for a crazy morning. I’ve been pondering ways to include quinoa into our diet; this looks like something I can handle!

  2. March 7, 2012 12:47 pm

    Looks yummy! I’ve never thought to use quinoa as a breakfast food.

  3. March 8, 2012 1:53 pm

    I’ve been wondering what to do with the quinoa I bought on a whim. I love oatmeal and any hot breakfast cereal. This looks great.

  4. one ordinary day permalink
    March 8, 2012 1:59 pm

    Shelly – I bought my bag of quinoa on a whim too, but I keep finding new ways to enjoy it. Hope you do too! Thanks for stopping by my blog!
    ~ Michelle

  5. one ordinary day permalink
    March 8, 2012 2:01 pm

    Shannon – Any way I can get us up and out of here and still be ready for whatever comes at me during a sub day is a winner in my book. :)
    ~ Michelle

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 860 other followers